Post Reply

Windows Explorer has stopped working. Movie transfer to tablet

OP haverdaden

28th August 2012, 02:39 PM   |  #1  
haverdaden's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Purmo
Thanks Meter: 6
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
pff why do my windows explorer crash when i try to send movie files to the tablet i attached a pic so you can see the error details.

Enough memory: Yes
Can you transfer other files: Yes but not movies lol
Have i tested to use an other computer: yes and that worked with a 1080p movie.

Last edited by haverdaden; 28th August 2012 at 03:03 PM.
28th August 2012, 03:27 PM   |  #2  
Bikegeek's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Something in Windoze Explorer doesn't like the movie file extensions (mkv, avi, etc.) Try renaming the file with a jpg extension. Once copied, rename with the proper extension.
The Following User Says Thank You to Bikegeek For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th August 2012, 04:42 PM   |  #3  
haverdaden's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Purmo
Thanks Meter: 6
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Thanks ! Dumb of me to not think of that ^^
28th August 2012, 06:24 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by haverdaden

Thanks ! Dumb of me to not think of that ^^

Your explorer crashed because of a plugin installed by the DivX Player. Uninstall that and your issue should be solved (you are using VLC anyway).
28th August 2012, 07:47 PM   |  #5  
xcal321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by haverdaden

pff why do my windows explorer crash when i try to send movie files to the tablet i attached a pic so you can see the error details.

Like FineWolf mentioned, it's the DivX explorer plug-in (DivXMFSource.dll) that is causing the crash. It's a known problem for over 3 years, just google for the file name.

You can uninstall DivX all together or just disable the explorer plug-in using Shell Extensions Manager from NirSoft (google for ShellExView, can't post links yet).
The Following User Says Thank You to xcal321 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th August 2012, 09:19 PM   |  #6  
Bikegeek's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Ok, I'm learning. I have NirSoft but don't see that plug-in anywhere,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, Nor do I see it the System32 folder (if that's where it should be)?
28th August 2012, 10:49 PM   |  #7  
Keion's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Danville, California
Thanks Meter: 350
 
1,312 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by haverdaden

pff why do my windows explorer crash when i try to send movie files to the tablet i attached a pic so you can see the error details.

Enough memory: Yes
Can you transfer other files: Yes but not movies lol
Have i tested to use an other computer: yes and that worked with a 1080p movie.


It is unfortunate that he still has nonfree software in his computer.

He needs to defenestrate it (which means, either throw Windows out of the computer or throw the computer out of the window).

-Richard Stallman

le rustle face
28th August 2012, 11:01 PM   |  #8  
BxMxK's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Belvoir
Thanks Meter: 49
 
145 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Try using a file copy manager. I use supercopier on all of my windows machines (xp and 7). Always get better transfer speeds and haven't had any problems yet. I've transfered several multi-gigabyte avi's to and from my tablet without issue.
28th August 2012, 11:32 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
I basically used AirDroid to transfer anything to my tablet. Wireless and it's not slow. No problem at all. =]
29th August 2012, 01:01 AM   |  #10  
xcal321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bikegeek

Ok, I'm learning. I have NirSoft but don't see that plug-in anywhere,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, Nor do I see it the System32 folder (if that's where it should be)?

I'm not sure I follow you. Are you having the same issues? Do you have DivX installed?

I don't have DivX installed (I use Xvid), so I don't know if it should be in system32. If you are on W7 x64 and DivX installs a 32-bit plug-in in the system folder, it will probably in C:\Windows\SysWOW64, not in C:\Windows\System32. This might also explain why you might not see the plug-in. Try running ShellExView with the /wow64 command line parameter (as mentioned on the original download page).

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Transformer TF700 General by ThreadRank