Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Guide+Video] How to run Fallout 1 & 2 on Android with QEMU

OP RolandDeschain79

3rd September 2012, 05:58 PM   |  #1  
RolandDeschain79's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 967
 
539 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me


Additional resources:
How to Play Fallout 1 with Dosbox Turbo
[Guide+Video] How to run Fallout 1 & 2 on Android with QEMU

[Guide+Video] How to Play PC Games on Android with DosBox Turbo
[Guide+Video]How to the Play Baldur's Gate Series and Planescape: Torment on Android with GemRB


Fallout 1&2 QEMU Android installation guide:

Fallout 1&2 are now Fully playable on Android with all the sound and music from the original game.
With the use of an Android X86 emulator QEMU, you will learn how to install and play your own copy of Fallout1or2 on Android.

QEMU Version:


DosBox Turbo Version(Paid App):


[Guide+video] How to Play PC Games on Android with DosBox Turbo (Thread)
-Note the Dosbox Turbo version has full touchscreen and OTG controller support. Plus 3Dfx Voodo1 support that adds an additional 8MB video memory.

Here is the first ever look at Fallout Tactics running on Android with DosBox Turbo.




Games are Not included! (Some Assembly Required)

Recommended System Requirements:
CPU Quad- Core, Dual-core 1.2Ghz+, equivalent or better.
GPU Adreno 220+, Nvidia Tegra2/3/4, equivalent or better.
2GB, 1GB, 512MB. My Config asks for a min or 256MB & shouldn't be run on a device with less than 512MB.
8GB disk space


Minimum System Requirements:
1Ghz Single-Core CPU with 512MB of Ram
GPU Adreno 220
4GB Disk Space

Note:If you only meet the minimum requirements, then see Step 7 and use the optional Fallout2 Config without Video & Ambient sounds.

Tested Devices: Note2, HP TouchPad, Galaxy s3, Galaxy s1 i9000


How to install Fallout on your Android device:

1)You will need Fallout 1or2 the game fully installed on a PC (Not provided here)

Download QEMU Emulator for Android:
2)a]Version 1.0 for Playing Fallout 2 Regular QEMU Download:

Or

2)b)Version 2.0 for Playing the Fallout 2 Restoration Project QEMU Download:
Note: Version 1.0 is more stable but will not work properly with the Restoration Project.

3)Getting Fallout 1 & 2 setup to Play on Android:

Fallout 2
-If you wish to play Fallout 2 I recommend installing Killap’s unofficial fallout 2 patch.
1) Download and Extract the Unofficial patch, open the folder.
2) Open the "data" folder and copy and paste these files into your Fallout 2 install directory. (yes to overwrite the files)
3) Open the "Windows 95-98-ME" folder and copy and paste these files into your Fallout 2 install directory. (yes to overwrite the files)
4) Open the “Batch_work’ folder and copy and paste these files into your Fallout 2 install directory. Run the "master_dat_fix_up.exe" file (A window will popup, wait for it..)
5) Next this is EXTREMELY important, in your Fallout 2 install directory delete a file called "patch000.dat"
6) Download and install one of my custom Fallout cfg files by copying and pasting it into your Fallout directory. These config files correct the game path for the sound data files.
a)Config With Video & Ambient sounds: This is the standard required config file the fixes the sound directory path.
b)Config without Video & Ambient sounds: This increases performance by removing ambient and video sounds. If you experience crashing when the videos play then, you will need this file. Note*NPC conversations will still have spoken dialogue.
7) (Optional) You can also install Mash’s resolution patch: to increase your screen size.
Note This may impact game performance but allows you to see much more of the map at once.
Download Fallout2 Hi-Res Patch v3.06


Fallout 2 Restoration Project
Note(Important) The Fallout 2 Restoration Project requires a faster device to run than a regular install of Fallout2. A fast Dual or Quad core device with 2GB+ is Recommended
-If you wish to play Killaps Fallout 2 Restoration Project on Android then you must do the following.
1) Download and Extract the manual Restoration patch, open the folder.
2) Open the "main" folder and copy and paste these files into your Fallout 2 install directory. (yes to overwrite the files)
3) Open the "Windows 95-98-ME" folder and copy and paste these files into your Fallout 2 install directory. (yes to overwrite the files)
4) Open the “Batch_work’ folder and copy and paste these files into your Fallout 2 install directory. Run the "f2.bat" file (A window will popup, wait for it..)
5) Next this is EXTREMELY important, in your Fallout 2 install directory delete a file called "patch000.dat"
Fallout 2 Restoration Project Manual Version Download:
6) Download and install one of my custom Fallout cfg files by copying and pasting it into your Fallout directory. These config files correct the game path for the sound data files.
a)Config With Video & Ambient sounds: This is the standard required config file the fixes the sound directory path.
b)Config without Video & Ambient sounds: This increases performance by removing ambient and video sounds. If you experience crashing when the videos play then, you will need this file. Note*NPC conversations will still have spoken dialogue.
7) Download the citylimit49_mapper here and place it into your Fallout 2 follder. Run the exe to extract the files. (yes to overwrite the files)
-Look in the Fallout 2 folder for the F49+.exe file that was extracted and run it(Do it!). It will fail to patch the mapper but will patch the Fallout.exe and allow us to play the restoration project.

Fallout 1
-If you wish to play Fallout 1 I recommend installing the Dos Patch and launching the game from the Dos exe file.
1)Download and install Fallout 1 the game on your PC. I got it from a free promotion @ GOG
2)Download and extract the Fallout 1 Dos files below. You will need to add these Dos files into the fallout 1 folder installed on your PC. Copy and paste them directly into that folder.
fallout1.1+Dos Patch download:
3) Download and install one of my custom Fallout 1 cfg files by copying and pasting it into your Fallout 1 directory. These config files correct the game path for the sound data files.
-There are two different config files. The one without video & ambient noise is for slower devices that just meet the Min system requirements or have performance issues.
4)Optional) I also installed this NPC patch from the no mutants allowed website. This allows you to edit your follows weapons and inventory, like Fallout 2. Download and extract these files into the Data folder in your fallout 1 directory.
NPC mod Download:

4) Download and Extract either the 2GB or 1GB empty HDD.img files to an easy to find location on your PC. Bigger is Better, for improved stability! Default is 2GB.

5) Install the free 30 day trial of WinImage and run the application. Be sure to use it before 30 days passes.
WinImage 9.00 Download:

6) Open the empty HDD.img by dragging it into the open Winimage program. Or navigating to it from file/open

7) Locate your fully installed Fallout 1 or 2 game folder. Transfer the Fallout game folder into the HDD.img and save it. This should include Killaps Patches and Mash’s resolution patch. I would recommend playing at 640x480 if you have a dual core device. You can attempt 800x600 or 1024x768 if you have a quad core device. Single core devices should use my No Video or Ambient noise Fallout cfg.

(Optional) You can install one of my custom Fallout cfg files by copying and pasting it into the Fallout directory.
a)Config With Video & Ambient sounds: This is recommend to improve screen scroll performance and sound compatibility.
b)Config without Video & Ambient sounds: This has the same sound tweaks but further increases performance by removing ambient and video noises. Note*NPC conversations will still have spoken dialogue.

8) Save your new HDD.img and close the program.

9)Copy and paste your new Fallout2 HDD.img into the SDL folder in your downloads.

10)Transfer the sdl folder to your devices internal memory. This will be the location that opens when you plug in the USB cable.

11)Transfer the libSDL.apk to your device and install it. Note* you may need to Enable 'Unknown Sources' from Settings/Security/Enable.

12)Run the libSDL.apk and start windows. Skip scan disk if it comes up.

13)Play Fallout2 on Android and wander the wasteland.
(Optional) Interface Apps:
(Optional) GameKeyboard app that lets you make onscreen buttons and choose the keys:
(Optional)Get the free Hackers Keyboard from the Play Store. It has a better layout for playing games and includes directional keys.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20130725_090527.jpg
Views:	251
Size:	119.5 KB
ID:	2798311

Notes(Important)

SDL cfg File:
-Located in the sdl folder you will find the sdl.cfg file. This allows you to edit the instructions given to the emulator.
-You can edit and save changes to this file using notepad.

-Here is the default line for the sdl.cfg file.
/sdl -L . -m 256 -boot c -hda c.img -hdb HDD_2Gb.img -usb -usbdevice tablet -soundhw sb16


-You can increase or decrease the Memory –m 128 or 256 or 512+(recommended)
-The Default is 256MB for compatibility.
-Set the emulated Memory size to half of your total system Memory size. So if your device has 1GB of DDR use the 512 setting.

-You can change the name of the HDD –hdb HDD_2Gb.img Note*It Must match the exact name in your sdl.cfg file.
-Add additional HDD’s by adding sequentially lettered –hd(x) Like so
- /sdl -L . -m 256 -boot c –hda c.img –hdb hdd_2Gb.img –hdc hdd_2Gb.img –hde hdd_2Gb.img… ect
-The default is HDD_2Gb.img but you can edit the file with notepad. Just change the 2 to a 1, to use the HDD_1Gb.img, save and exit.

Extra HDD for Virtual Memory:
-I would highly recommended attaching a 1/2GB HDD used only for virtual memory. You can use the Virtual Memory sdl cfg line below.
-Once you are running the emulator right click on the vault 13 desktop icon and choose properties, select the performance tab.
-Next select “virtual memory” at the bottom, click “Let me specify my own virtual memory settings” and select the HDD you attached.
-It will prompt you to reboot once you exit. Don’t reboot, choose no, and then shutdown and re-launch the emulator.
-This will help to keep System Resources between 98-99% free. This helps to optimize the performance and improve stability.
-You can check the performance by right clicking on the desktop vault computer and selecting properties. Navigate to the performance tab at the top and look for “System Resources:98%free”.

Virtual Memory sdl cfg:
/sdl -L . -m 512 -boot c -hda c.img -hdb HDD_2Gb.img -hdc HDD_1Gb.img -usb -usbdevice tablet -soundhw sb16

Overclocking:
-You will need to be rooted in order to Overclock your device. Increasing your CPU speed can have a large impact on performance and could make games playable on older devices.
-Get a free overclocking app from the Play Store such as AnTuTu's CPU Master (free). Open the app and increase the speed in small increments of 100-200Mhz and then run AnTuTu's Benchmark to check stability and performance. Once you've found a stable overclock start up QEMU and have fun.

Troubleshooting:
-You must click the volume bottom before you can move the mouse.
-To help maintain stability try and minimize back ground app activity while running Fallout.
Note*Fallout1&2 runs reasonably stable. Reasonably stable = testers report gaming session of 1-3hrs.

Tweaking the CPU Settings:
Increasing the minimum CPU frequency may help to improve stability. You can use the free CPU Master App. Also set the CPU governor to Performance or on demand. Don’t forget to set it back to normal after your finished exploring the wasteland.

CPU Master Play Store (free app):


Fallout 1 & 2 Troubleshooting:
-Fallout1: If you have problems launching Fallout 1, then include the Patch and Dos files to your fallout 1 folder and launch the game from Dos.
Fallout1.1+Dos Patch download:

-Fallout2: If you have problems launching Fallout 2, manually install Killap's Unofficial Fallout 2 Patch (US/UK - manual install)
Killap's Unofficial Fallout 2 Patch (US/UK - manual install) Download:

Links:
How to Play Baldur’s gate on Android [XDA] Thread]
How to Play Baldur’s gate on Android [Video]


[Guide+video] How to Play PC Games on Android with DosBox Turbo - xda-developers

Fallout 1 Patches @ No Mutants Allowed:

Fallout 2 Patches @ No Mutants Allowed:

Fallout 2 Restoration Project Thread by Killap


Another Project by: RolandDeschain79.
Checkout my YouTube Channel Here::
Last edited by RolandDeschain79; 14th June 2014 at 10:10 PM.
The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to RolandDeschain79 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th January 2013, 10:21 AM   |  #2  
Thaevil0ne's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
140 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
First of all: Iam sorry to bump such an old thread.
However Id like to thank you for all info you shared so far.

Now here for the question why I bumped this thread: Is it possible to remap the hardware buttons for the bochs emulator?
I would be very thankfull if anyone could tell me how to do this.

Kind regards, Stefan.
17th February 2013, 02:10 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
While this will likely be a necropost I just had to say thank you. This is a great discovery, and not something I could have found out myself. Thank you so much for sharing and I hope many others are able to find a use of this.
I am hoping I might be able to use this method for Lords of Magic
17th February 2013, 08:38 PM   |  #4  
stayfidz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
145 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
you are sweet
21st February 2013, 03:51 AM   |  #5  
RolandDeschain79's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 967
 
539 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
Plug Emulator Gaming
Quote:
Originally Posted by orcus2190

While this will likely be a necropost I just had to say thank you. This is a great discovery, and not something I could have found out myself. Thank you so much for sharing and I hope many others are able to find a use of this.
I am hoping I might be able to use this method for Lords of Magic

I haven't tested this game myself but its rather hit or miss on what will run. Fallout 1/2, Diablo1 will run for sure but I haven't tested many games. My goal was to make Fallout playable for all Android users.

If this method doesn't work you could also try using the DosBox Turbo Method. You can open the hl.img and just put other games in place of hl. It might require you to tweak the DosBox config file.

Watch the How to play Half Life 1 video on Android Here! You can find links to info and downloads in the description.

I've actually got HL1 running at double the fps on my Note 2 but I haven't made a video yet.
Last edited by RolandDeschain79; 21st February 2013 at 03:53 AM.
21st February 2013, 07:11 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
eek:n Xperia Neo V any fallout can be playable???
Anybody test F1 or F2???
If F2 will be playable restoration project 2.1.2b will be playable too?????
22nd February 2013, 06:13 PM   |  #7  
RolandDeschain79's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 967
 
539 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
Phone Read the OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyKidMK2

eek:n Xperia Neo V any fallout can be playable???
Anybody test F1 or F2???
If F2 will be playable restoration project 2.1.2b will be playable too?????

I would recommend reading the OP

Recommended System Requirements:
CPU Quad- Core, Dual-core 1.5+GHz, equivalent or better.
GPU Adreno 220, Nvidia Tegra2/3, equivalent or better.
1GB, 512. My Config asks for a min or 256MB & shouldn't be run on a device with less than this.
8GB disk space

Minimum System Requirements:
1Ghz CPU with 256MB of Ram
4GB Disk Space
Note*2)Fallout2 Config without Video & Ambient sounds should be used, see step # 4
Last edited by RolandDeschain79; 29th December 2013 at 09:41 PM.
17th May 2013, 02:45 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Sorry to revive, but I for the life of me cannot get this to work. I'm on a Galaxy SIII and followed the instructions. Have restoration patch, removed the files that needed to be to removed. Only thing really is I renamed the hdd to Fallout2, which I also fixed in the sdl. I get the first loading screen and that is it. Freezes every single time.
Last edited by Hishuro; 17th May 2013 at 02:57 PM.
17th May 2013, 05:23 PM   |  #9  
RolandDeschain79's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 967
 
539 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
Tablet Fallout Troubleshooting
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hishuro

Sorry to revive, but I for the life of me cannot get this to work. I'm on a Galaxy SIII and followed the instructions. Have restoration patch, removed the files that needed to be to removed. Only thing really is I renamed the hdd to Fallout2, which I also fixed in the sdl. I get the first loading screen and that is it. Freezes every single time.

Hi, which loading screen are you stuck at? When you launch the game or when you launch the emulator? Make sure to read the troubleshooting sections. To run the restoration patch you must be using the Fallout Launcher 2.0 version for DX 9C support. One single letter or number wrong in the sdl will cause the game to fail at launch. Logic would dictate that if you're having problems when changing the names, then don't change them. Its all set up and ready to go, test it like that before modifying the setup.


Tweaking the CPU Settings:
Increasing the minimum CPU frequency may help to improve stability. You can use the free CPU Master App. Also set the CPU governor to Performance or on demand. Don’t forget to set it back to normal after your finished exploring the wasteland.


-You can change the name of the HDD –hdb HDD_2Gb.img Note*It Must match the exact name in your sdl.cfg file.
-Add additional HDD’s by adding sequentially lettered –hd(x) Like so
- /sdl -L . -m 256 -boot c –hda c.img –hdb hdd_2Gb.img –hdc hdd_2Gb.img –hde hdd_2Gb.img… ect
-The default is HDD_2Gb.img but you can edit the file with notepad. Just change the 2 to a 1, to use the HDD_1Gb.img, save and exit.
Last edited by RolandDeschain79; 17th May 2013 at 05:31 PM.
17th May 2013, 08:09 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
I'll try again after work. It was freezing on emulator load. Tried 7 times and it finally went then shot back to main screen after a min. Got rid of everything so I can redo from scratch. P.S. just r realized I was using the GOG version, I still have the original CD so I'll try that when I get back
Last edited by Hishuro; 17th May 2013 at 10:16 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
cyangeonmod, fallout for android, fallout game, fallout2, hp touchpad
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes