5,604,122 Members 48,488 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Rogers OTA

Tip us?
 
lukesjeans
Old
#1  
lukesjeans's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 100
Posts: 667
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Port ColbOrne
Default Rogers OTA

Hey,

I got an update notification this morning on Rogers. It is 86mb. I dont know what is new since i didnt install. Can I install over top of Clockwork recovery? If not how do I put stock recovery back on (Prefer not having to wipe data).

Thanks,

-Luke


"I Am The Best In The World At What I Do"
 
Jordayum
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto
Also received one on Telus gonna unroot first, apply and get back as soon as I can

Sent from my SGH-I747M using xda app-developers app
 
lukesjeans
Old
#3  
lukesjeans's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 100
Posts: 667
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Port ColbOrne
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jordayum View Post
Also received one on Telus gonna unroot first, apply and get back as soon as I can

Sent from my SGH-I747M using xda app-developers app
Do you have cwm? Can I just flash the root without screwing up the flash counter again ?

Sent from my SGH-I747M using xda app-developers app


"I Am The Best In The World At What I Do"
 
BAreEhD
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2010
I received one on Telus this morning as well. I didn't download b/c I'm not on wifi, but I'm curious as to what it is.
 
lukesjeans
Old
#5  
lukesjeans's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 100
Posts: 667
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Port ColbOrne
Quote:
Originally Posted by BAreEhD View Post
I received one on Telus this morning as well. I didn't download b/c I'm not on wifi, but I'm curious as to what it is.
I assume its the brightness in notifications.

Sent from my SGH-I747M using xda app-developers app


"I Am The Best In The World At What I Do"
 
TLS2000
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 159
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mississauga
I downloaded the update but could not install it since I don't have the stock recovery. It tries to boot into the stock recovery but because I have TWRP installed it booted into that. I'll try a Kies update later to see if that works.
 
dbzgod
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 233
Join Date: May 2012
I got my notice and automatic download for mine as well on the Bell network. Samsung Canada along with the main carriers have put out the new I747MVLALH1 Firmware. Our OTA updates are smaller and will very by carrier because they only contain the files that need to be updated rather then the whole firmware itself.

This is very good news for all us Canadian 747 users because the LH1 Modem along with the firmware changes include a great deal of proformance/bug fixes, our launch firmware with our phones was kinda the ****s to say the least so this new one should really help out.

As for keeping root. I am using SuperSU root paid for the Pro version which has a Root keeper funtion in it when you update via OTA. However the update does require the stock recovery so if you have flashed CWM recovery you will need to flash the stock one back first then apply the update.

Just finishing my phone backup atm to my computer then will try the OTA Root Keeper and see how well it works out for me.
The Following User Says Thank You to dbzgod For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
420SYN
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 242
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Port Elgin
Any chance someone could post the modem I747MVLALH1?
 
cue_32
Old
#9  
cue_32's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 731
Join Date: Jun 2010
I'm still home and downloading as we speak. I will cancel before the installation and if its still not posted online by the time I get to work, I will upload it somewhere.

BTW, the Rogers update is the same size. I have a feeling this update will include the removal of Universal search.

Sent from my SGH-I747M using xda app-developers app
Current Device:
HTC One (Rogers)

Previous Devices :
Too many to list
 
xpirozx
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 60
Join Date: Dec 2010
Did the update this morning on bell it was 100mb... I notice the brightness slider but haven't seen anything else yet...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes