Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,784,939 Members 50,109 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[FIX] No service after flash fix

Tip us?
 
liquidburns
Old
(Last edited by liquidburns; 9th September 2012 at 05:58 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 29
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default [FIX] No service after flash fix

If you don't have service after flashing a Jelly Bean ROM or Justin's GAPPS follow these simple instructions.


1. Go to the dialer and press *#*#4636#*#*

2. Click on "Phone Information"

3. You should notice almost towards the bottom radio settings, Make sure the radio is on and change the settings from WCDMA to GSM (auto)

4. Exit out of the screen by pressing the back button

5. Reset the phone and you will have service.

If your phone keeps reverting to WCDMA follow these directions

1. Use GTG's Ultimate Unbrick here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1116251

2. When you are reverted to stock rom, use Super 1 Click to root. which can be found here http://shortfuse.org/ Restart phone.

3. Follow these instructions to get 3e then clockwork Recovery on your phone here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1107881 PM me if you need Root Explorer APK

4. Boot into recovery. FULL WIPE DATA DALVIK EVERYTHING

5. Flash ICS Rom of your choice. I recommend Paranoid Android which you can find here. http://d-h.st/NMp don't bother with GAPPS for now

6. Boot up android and reboot into recovery FULL WIPE DATA DALVIK EVERYTHING

7. Flash the Jelly Bean ROM of your choice. I recommend Unofficial CM10 8/31 - Butter - MTD which can be found here http://d-h.st/MZ9 Don't bother with Kernel or GAPPS for now

8. If you have a boot loop that's normal, pull out the battery, re flash then reboot into android

9. Once the device is booted, make sure you have a strong signal and can make phone calls. THEN reboot into recovery

10. Flash OC Kernel and GAPPS of your choice. MAKE SURE to use this kernel http://d-h.st/mcN if you used Unofficial CM10 8/31 - Butter - MTD. I recommend Justin's GAPPS which can be found here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1797292

11. Reboot and viola! You should have service for ever and ever.

This no service problem is caused by your IMEI getting wiped when you flash straight from stock to jelly bean.

WARNING I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE IF YOU BRICK YOUR PHONE, THIS IS JUST A GUIDE WHICH HAS WORKED FOR ME AND WISH TO SHARE IN HOPES OF HELPING OTHERS. I DON'T WANT CREDIT OR DONATIONS, HELPING ANOTHER PERSON IS GOOD ENOUGH FOR ME.

Follow me @khalidbalid on twitter if you have any questions, concerns or just want a laugh from time to time.

I hope this helps.
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to liquidburns For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mg2195
Old
#2  
mg2195's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,604
Posts: 2,975
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: RSM

 
DONATE TO ME
And if the above doesn't work...then go back to stock then ics then jb as your imei was likely wiped

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using Tapatalk 2
Wanna learn to develop/mod/do cool things? Check out this forum here on xda...its a great starting place full of helpful people! (its where i learned to compile from source :P)
Chef Central > Android
 
tyboytwist
Old
#3  
tyboytwist's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mg2195 View Post
And if the above doesn't work...then go back to stock then ics then jb as your imei was likely wiped

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using Tapatalk 2
well, this totally ruined my phone -_- i tried going back to stock and my sim card wont work..
<a target='_blank' title='ImageShack - Image And Video Hosting' href='http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/51/34803137.jpg/'><img src='http://img51.imageshack.us/img51/5782/34803137.jpg' border='0'/></a>
 
mg2195
Old
#4  
mg2195's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,604
Posts: 2,975
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: RSM

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyboytwist View Post
well, this totally ruined my phone -_- i tried going back to stock and my sim card wont work..
Then its a deeper problem...flashing back to stock won't break your SIM, atleast it shouldn't and I've never heard of it happening

What program did you use? Odin or heimdall? If it was Odin did you check the box for clear efs, if you did check the box that may be the problem...

Go to settings, then about phone/status and look for your imei...is it their or is it blank/or weird symbols?

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using Tapatalk 2
Wanna learn to develop/mod/do cool things? Check out this forum here on xda...its a great starting place full of helpful people! (its where i learned to compile from source :P)
Chef Central > Android
 
tyboytwist
Old
#5  
tyboytwist's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mg2195 View Post
And if the above doesn't work...then go back to stock then ics then jb as your imei was likely wiped

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using Tapatalk 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by mg2195 View Post
Then its a deeper problem...flashing back to stock won't break your SIM, atleast it shouldn't and I've never heard of it happening

What program did you use? Odin or heimdall? If it was Odin did you check the box for clear efs, if you did check the box that may be the problem...

Go to settings, then about phone/status and look for your imei...is it their or is it blank/or weird symbols?

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using Tapatalk 2
i used Heimdall. But let me flash ICS and JB because right now im on GB. Then i'll let you know

---------- Post added at 03:45 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:40 AM ----------

all the numbers show up in phone information. not blank and no symbols. so i guess thats good? aha but still not able to send texts or make calls
<a target='_blank' title='ImageShack - Image And Video Hosting' href='http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/51/34803137.jpg/'><img src='http://img51.imageshack.us/img51/5782/34803137.jpg' border='0'/></a>
 
hazard66
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 70
Posts: 152
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Eau Claire, WI

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by liquidburns View Post
If you don't have service after flashing a Jelly Bean ROM or Justin's GAPPS follow these simple instructions.


1. Go to the dialer and press *#*#4636#*#*

2. Click on "Phone Information"

3. You should notice almost towards the bottom radio settings, Make sure the radio is on and change the settings from WCDMA to GSM (auto)

4. Exit out of the screen by pressing the back button

5. Reset the phone and you will have service.


I hope this helps.
yeah! i had mine set wrong!
"Most of our ancestors were not perfect ladies and gentlemen. The majority of them weren't even mammals." - Robert Anton Wilson
 
Jamieb88
Old
#7  
Jamieb88's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 132
Posts: 231
Join Date: Oct 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyboytwist View Post
i used Heimdall. But let me flash ICS and JB because right now im on GB. Then i'll let you know

---------- Post added at 03:45 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:40 AM ----------

all the numbers show up in phone information. not blank and no symbols. so i guess thats good? aha but still not able to send texts or make calls
I would check your apn settings and see if it is set up for your area of coverage.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using xda premium

---------- Post added at 11:41 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:21 PM ----------

For reference on your apn this is a good place to check out

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1791526

[APN][AT&T][MMS][HSPA+] Single APN for HSPA+ Speeds AND MMS - (Updated 8/21)

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using xda premium
If i have helped you hit the thanks button its free and its what all the cool kids are doing
and when i stop being such a noob at theming and you use my work could always donate to me
 
tyboytwist
Old
#8  
tyboytwist's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamieb88 View Post
I would check your apn settings and see if it is set up for your area of coverage.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using xda premium

---------- Post added at 11:41 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:21 PM ----------

For reference on your apn this is a good place to check out

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1791526

[APN][AT&T][MMS][HSPA+] Single APN for HSPA+ Speeds AND MMS - (Updated 8/21)

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using xda premium
Just thought I'd mention this, I put my sim card in 2 other phones and still wasn't able to text. Obviously, yesterday, I had texting aha. I tried going to stock then to ICS then to jb, but without any success. Could it be something with my sim card?
<a target='_blank' title='ImageShack - Image And Video Hosting' href='http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/51/34803137.jpg/'><img src='http://img51.imageshack.us/img51/5782/34803137.jpg' border='0'/></a>
 
Jamieb88
Old
#9  
Jamieb88's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 132
Posts: 231
Join Date: Oct 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyboytwist View Post
Just thought I'd mention this, I put my sim card in 2 other phones and still wasn't able to text. Obviously, yesterday, I had texting aha. I tried going to stock then to ICS then to jb, but without any success. Could it be something with my sim card?
Call your carrier and ask for a new one. With att its always been free for me.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using xda premium
If i have helped you hit the thanks button its free and its what all the cool kids are doing
and when i stop being such a noob at theming and you use my work could always donate to me
 
tyboytwist
Old
#10  
tyboytwist's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamieb88 View Post
Call your carrier and ask for a new one. With att its always been free for me.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using xda premium
yeah. went to AT&T today. they gave me a new sim card and i got to keep my number. the representative gave me **** though for having an infuse, informing me multiple times that i have an upgrade in november aha. SGS3, you're mine!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Give Your Notification Shade a Facelift with these Modding Guides

Modification has always been one of the strong suits of Android, due in … more

Keep Track of How Much Your Car Truly Costs with Car Logbook

It’s a very well established fact that cars are expensive. In addition to … more

New Nvidia SHIELD Tablet OTA! Moto G 4G Gets Official CyangenMod 11 Nightlies – XDA Developer TV

The Nvidia SHIELD Tablet gets its … more

Prevent Apps from Locking Screen Orientation with HaveOwnOrientation

Most applications on Android play nicely with both landscape and … more