Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,914 Members 50,298 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

A500 tablet won't boot, stuck on acer logo screen

Tip us?
 
mannubhatt
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default A500 tablet won't boot, stuck on acer logo screen

Dear forum

I know you guys hate noobs, but unfortunately I am one.

My A500 is stuck on the acer logo screen, and although I have read through many a post, I'm yet to find a noob-friendly tutorial. So help!

What happened? One day my A500 was out of juice. I plugged it for charging and got impatient. Pressed the power button too soon and too hard it seems. The tablet wouldn't boot beyond android screen. Tried soft reset, then hard reset (Power, Volume plus, lock). It reached the cog working android robot with yellow triangle once, and on trying repeatedly, it is now stuck perpetually on the acer logo screen.

So.

What do I do?

Do please break it down for me.

I do have an SD card.
 
Moscow Desire
Old
#2  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Thanks Meter 5802
Posts: 7,025
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mannubhatt View Post
Dear forum

I know you guys hate noobs, but unfortunately I am one.

My A500 is stuck on the acer logo screen, and although I have read through many a post, I'm yet to find a noob-friendly tutorial. So help!

What happened? One day my A500 was out of juice. I plugged it for charging and got impatient. Pressed the power button too soon and too hard it seems. The tablet wouldn't boot beyond android screen. Tried soft reset, then hard reset (Power, Volume plus, lock). It reached the cog working android robot with yellow triangle once, and on trying repeatedly, it is now stuck perpetually on the acer logo screen.

So.

What do I do?

Do please break it down for me.

I do have an SD card.
Well, you can try this.

Go to http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1816560

Scroll down the list till you find the a500 ICS update Roms. Download a couple of them.

Then go here and get the acer update decrypter http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1869505 instructions for the tool are there.

You may not have to decrypt the Files. They may already be decrypted. You will know when you try to open them using 7zip or Winzip app.

DO Not Extract the files, just open it. Pull the update.zip to your PC desktop.
Copy the update.zip to your Ext SD card. Do not put it in a folder.

Boot your Tab holding Vol+ and PWR untill you see the package installation, then release buttons.

You may have to try 2 or 3 different update files, but one of them should work. They should be FULL Update files (300+mb)

It will install a fresh stock ICS, so if you had a unlocked bootloader, CWM recovery, and user data, say hasta la vista to them.

MD

Want to avoid a vacation to the Frostlands? Then Follow the XDA Rules Here

 
Though I walk among the trolls, I fear them not, for I am the Troll King
Killen dem Trolls since 2011
Acer Iconia A701***A501***ExPlay X-Tremer***HTC Desire***Desire S
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Moscow Desire For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mannubhatt
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default Thanks @Moscow Desire

Thanks buddy! I am trying this. Downloaded an encrypted ROM earlier, and the decrypter was old, hence couldn't decrypt. Now, I have found a decrypted ICS ROM, and have gotten as far as the green robot with a rotating polyhedron on its tummy and a progress bar. Let's hope this works out fine. Been waiting for the last 40 min and the update progress bar is still at around 25%.

How long do you think this should take?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire View Post
Well, you can try this.

Go to http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1816560

Scroll down the list till you find the a500 ICS update Roms. Download a couple of them.

Then go here and get the acer update decrypter http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1869505 instructions for the tool are there.

You may not have to decrypt the Files. They may already be decrypted. You will know when you try to open them using 7zip or Winzip app.

DO Not Extract the files, just open it. Pull the update.zip to your PC desktop.
Copy the update.zip to your Ext SD card. Do not put it in a folder.

Boot your Tab holding Vol+ and PWR untill you see the package installation, then release buttons.

You may have to try 2 or 3 different update files, but one of them should work. They should be FULL Update files (300+mb)

It will install a fresh stock ICS, so if you had a unlocked bootloader, CWM recovery, and user data, say hasta la vista to them.

MD
 
mannubhatt
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default Still stuck

Still stuck at the same point, almost 3 hours. Whatever shall I do?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mannubhatt View Post
Thanks buddy! I am trying this. Downloaded an encrypted ROM earlier, and the decrypter was old, hence couldn't decrypt. Now, I have found a decrypted ICS ROM, and have gotten as far as the green robot with a rotating polyhedron on its tummy and a progress bar. Let's hope this works out fine. Been waiting for the last 40 min and the update progress bar is still at around 25%.

How long do you think this should take?
 
Moscow Desire
Old
#5  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Thanks Meter 5802
Posts: 7,025
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mannubhatt View Post
Still stuck at the same point, almost 3 hours. Whatever shall I do?
Charge your tab, then try a different one.

It seems one won't work, but the other will.

The process shouldn't take but 15 minutes max.

I've heard where some folks had to do it 2 or 3 times with the same update.zip, but I would try a different one. Eventually it will work.

MD

Want to avoid a vacation to the Frostlands? Then Follow the XDA Rules Here

 
Though I walk among the trolls, I fear them not, for I am the Troll King
Killen dem Trolls since 2011
Acer Iconia A701***A501***ExPlay X-Tremer***HTC Desire***Desire S
 
mannubhatt
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default Still struggling

Finding it hard to find either
(a) a working decrypter with a working key ($12 doesn't work anymore it seems)
(b) a decrypted update.zip, not too finicky about the version as long as it works

Do provide a resource for the above if you can.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire View Post
Charge your tab, then try a different one.

It seems one won't work, but the other will.

The process shouldn't take but 15 minutes max.

I've heard where some folks had to do it 2 or 3 times with the same update.zip, but I would try a different one. Eventually it will work.

MD
 
Moscow Desire
Old
(Last edited by Moscow Desire; 9th September 2012 at 06:07 AM.)
#7  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Thanks Meter 5802
Posts: 7,025
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mannubhatt View Post
Finding it hard to find either
(a) a working decrypter with a working key ($12 doesn't work anymore it seems)
(b) a decrypted update.zip, not too finicky about the version as long as it works

Do provide a resource for the above if you can.
Tell me the name of the Rom files you tried to decrypt, and the download link to them.

I'll check them out. Might already be decrypted.

Looks like it'll take awhile. After downloading, I'll pull the update.zip's and post them for you to a different server. Downloading slow......

EDIT: Decrypter tool works fine. Just decrypted 4 of the update files. You have to wait a couple minutes after hitting the START button. And there's no animation telling you what's going on, but after a couple minutes it finishes. I would also suggest closing and starting the app again after you finish with one. This clears the "Done" message.

MD

Want to avoid a vacation to the Frostlands? Then Follow the XDA Rules Here

 
Though I walk among the trolls, I fear them not, for I am the Troll King
Killen dem Trolls since 2011
Acer Iconia A701***A501***ExPlay X-Tremer***HTC Desire***Desire S
 
Moscow Desire
Old
#8  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Thanks Meter 5802
Posts: 7,025
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne

 
DONATE TO ME
Dowmload links for the decrypted update.zip's for the A500. For those having issues using the Decrypter tool..

Note: Remove the build numbers from the filename. They were only added to keep order. Rename to "update.zip"

41-124-01-update.zip

41-125-03-update.zip

41-203-01-update.zip

41-206-01-update.zip

Don't ask me which is better than the other. I don't know. But if you're tab's stuck at the Acer display, a working tab is better than a non-working tab

MD

Want to avoid a vacation to the Frostlands? Then Follow the XDA Rules Here

 
Though I walk among the trolls, I fear them not, for I am the Troll King
Killen dem Trolls since 2011
Acer Iconia A701***A501***ExPlay X-Tremer***HTC Desire***Desire S
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Moscow Desire For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mannubhatt
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default Thanks

Thanks MD!

(Sorry I was away for a few days).

Gonna try this and let you know what happens.

Thanks again, you're a sweetheart.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire View Post
Dowmload links for the decrypted update.zip's for the A500. For those having issues using the Decrypter tool..

Note: Remove the build numbers from the filename. They were only added to keep order. Rename to "update.zip"

41-124-01-update.zip

41-125-03-update.zip

41-203-01-update.zip

41-206-01-update.zip

Don't ask me which is better than the other. I don't know. But if you're tab's stuck at the Acer display, a working tab is better than a non-working tab

MD
 
mannubhatt
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default update

Tried rooting with 41-206-01-update.zip

Curiously the progress bar (with Green android robot and rotating polygon) still stuck at around the same place (25%).

Gonna try another of these files and let ya know.





Quote:
Originally Posted by mannubhatt View Post
Thanks MD!

(Sorry I was away for a few days).

Gonna try this and let you know what happens.

Thanks again, you're a sweetheart.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes