FORUMS

Xiaomi Mi Note Pro With SD-810 Goes On Sale In China

The Xiaomi Mi Note Pro, announced on 15th Jan 2015, is Xiaomi’s attempt at … more

Project Fi Invites Are Rolling Out

Google is now sending out the first wave of invites to its new wireless service, Project Fi. … more

Vinsic 20,000mAh Ultra Slim Power Bank Giveaway

We have covered a lot of Android Accessories here on XDA TV. Mostly because we realize … more

T-Mobile Steps Up The War Against Verizon

T-Mobile has today launched a new attack on Verizon under the tagline of “Never Settle … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Tf700 Random Reboots. Anyone else or just me?

17th September 2012, 05:02 AM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
I had lots of reboots and and freezes freezes on my first infinity so I exchanged it out.. my second one has started doing it again after 2 wks.
 
 
17th September 2012, 05:51 AM |#12  
sacthegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by riyatch

I had lots of reboots and and freezes freezes on my first infinity so I exchanged it out.. my second one has started doing it again after 2 wks.

Hehehehe... nice to know when the second device also does that! So mostly the problem is software related!
Coz it would be tough for me to exchange it since I'm not in US!

Current devices:
Galaxy Nexus
Nexus S
Nexus 7
Asus Transformer Infinity
The Following User Says Thank You to sacthegreat For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th September 2012, 06:40 AM |#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
I used to have them but after a limiting background processes to 4 I have had zero reboots. Also games don't crash anymore. There is something seriously messed up with the memory allocation.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using XDA Premium HD app
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to CandyAndy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th September 2012, 07:14 AM |#14  
sacthegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CandyAndy

I used to have them but after a limiting background processes to 4 I have had zero reboots. Also games don't crash anymore. There is something seriously messed up with the memory allocation.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using XDA Premium HD app

Is it? Cool... I'll also try that trick and update how it goes!

Current devices:
Galaxy Nexus
Nexus S
Nexus 7
Asus Transformer Infinity
17th September 2012, 11:19 AM |#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 968
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CandyAndy

I used to have them but after a limiting background processes to 4 I have had zero reboots. Also games don't crash anymore. There is something seriously messed up with the memory allocation.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using XDA Premium HD app

So what affect does that setting really have (limiting background processes to 4) - does that just mean that you can only *truly* multi-task 4 apps? I've always wondered exactly what that setting really did...

Thanks.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to jtrosky For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th September 2012, 12:48 PM |#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrosky

So what affect does that setting really have (limiting background processes to 4) - does that just mean that you can only *truly* multi-task 4 apps? I've always wondered exactly what that setting really did...

Thanks.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 2

Yes I think so. 4 is actually that much of apps that this is quite a good compromise between stability and multitasking. And either way this doesn't have "true" multitasking as for example youtube videos stop playing when going to other screen. Which is actually very annoying and thats one of the reasons why this really can't be laptop replacement.
19th September 2012, 04:17 PM |#17  
sacthegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CandyAndy

I used to have them but after a limiting background processes to 4 I have had zero reboots. Also games don't crash anymore. There is something seriously messed up with the memory allocation.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using XDA Premium HD app

Cool thanx! Tried that trick and haven't had any reboots since!

Current devices:
Galaxy Nexus
Nexus S
Nexus 7
Asus Transformer Infinity
19th September 2012, 05:44 PM |#18  
sparkym3's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 798
 
Donate to Me
More
I had my first random reboot since the .30 update, so the issues has not been eliminated.
19th September 2012, 06:24 PM |#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 968
 
More
Man, I would be *livid* if my TF700 had random reboots! Part of the reason I bought the TF700 was because my old TF101 has had random reboot issues with ICS (if I NVFlash Honeycomb it's stable as a rock). I haven't had a single random reboot with my TF700 though - and believe me, I watch for it (mainly via uptime widget)...

Have you guys always had random reboots since you purchased it??

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 2
19th September 2012, 06:24 PM |#20  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
So if we're thinking memory allocation is the issue here, I wonder if the V6 Supercharge would help out. I use it on my phone and it's incredible. I installed half of it on my tf700 earlier today, but I have to wait till I'm at a real computer before I apply the rest of the changes.

As a disclaimer, I've not had these random reboots, neither before nor after the OTA, though sometimes games will refuse to load with that whole nvidia issue. Haven't seen that for a little bit though either.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using XDA Premium HD app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Transformer TF700 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank