FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Tf700 Random Reboots. Anyone else or just me?

4 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Tech-Hedz, Junior Member on 7th September 2012, 09:11 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
17th September 2012, 05:02 AM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
I had lots of reboots and and freezes freezes on my first infinity so I exchanged it out.. my second one has started doing it again after 2 wks.
 
 
17th September 2012, 05:51 AM |#12  
sacthegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by riyatch

I had lots of reboots and and freezes freezes on my first infinity so I exchanged it out.. my second one has started doing it again after 2 wks.

Hehehehe... nice to know when the second device also does that! So mostly the problem is software related!
Coz it would be tough for me to exchange it since I'm not in US!

Current devices:
Galaxy Nexus
Nexus S
Nexus 7
Asus Transformer Infinity
The Following User Says Thank You to sacthegreat For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th September 2012, 06:40 AM |#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 88
 
More
I used to have them but after a limiting background processes to 4 I have had zero reboots. Also games don't crash anymore. There is something seriously messed up with the memory allocation.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using XDA Premium HD app
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to CandyAndy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th September 2012, 07:14 AM |#14  
sacthegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CandyAndy

I used to have them but after a limiting background processes to 4 I have had zero reboots. Also games don't crash anymore. There is something seriously messed up with the memory allocation.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using XDA Premium HD app

Is it? Cool... I'll also try that trick and update how it goes!

Current devices:
Galaxy Nexus
Nexus S
Nexus 7
Asus Transformer Infinity
17th September 2012, 11:19 AM |#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 971
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CandyAndy

I used to have them but after a limiting background processes to 4 I have had zero reboots. Also games don't crash anymore. There is something seriously messed up with the memory allocation.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using XDA Premium HD app

So what affect does that setting really have (limiting background processes to 4) - does that just mean that you can only *truly* multi-task 4 apps? I've always wondered exactly what that setting really did...

Thanks.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to jtrosky For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th September 2012, 12:48 PM |#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 88
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrosky

So what affect does that setting really have (limiting background processes to 4) - does that just mean that you can only *truly* multi-task 4 apps? I've always wondered exactly what that setting really did...

Thanks.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 2

Yes I think so. 4 is actually that much of apps that this is quite a good compromise between stability and multitasking. And either way this doesn't have "true" multitasking as for example youtube videos stop playing when going to other screen. Which is actually very annoying and thats one of the reasons why this really can't be laptop replacement.
19th September 2012, 04:17 PM |#17  
sacthegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CandyAndy

I used to have them but after a limiting background processes to 4 I have had zero reboots. Also games don't crash anymore. There is something seriously messed up with the memory allocation.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using XDA Premium HD app

Cool thanx! Tried that trick and haven't had any reboots since!

Current devices:
Galaxy Nexus
Nexus S
Nexus 7
Asus Transformer Infinity
19th September 2012, 05:44 PM |#18  
sparkym3's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 799
 
Donate to Me
More
I had my first random reboot since the .30 update, so the issues has not been eliminated.
19th September 2012, 06:24 PM |#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 971
 
More
Man, I would be *livid* if my TF700 had random reboots! Part of the reason I bought the TF700 was because my old TF101 has had random reboot issues with ICS (if I NVFlash Honeycomb it's stable as a rock). I haven't had a single random reboot with my TF700 though - and believe me, I watch for it (mainly via uptime widget)...

Have you guys always had random reboots since you purchased it??

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 2
19th September 2012, 06:24 PM |#20  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
So if we're thinking memory allocation is the issue here, I wonder if the V6 Supercharge would help out. I use it on my phone and it's incredible. I installed half of it on my tf700 earlier today, but I have to wait till I'm at a real computer before I apply the rest of the changes.

As a disclaimer, I've not had these random reboots, neither before nor after the OTA, though sometimes games will refuse to load with that whole nvidia issue. Haven't seen that for a little bit though either.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using XDA Premium HD app
19th September 2012, 06:47 PM |#21  
Unibrow's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
I haven't had the rebooting issue since I've updated, but I can go for weeks without a reboot. Though it seems when I do get a random crash and reboot it will happen more than once, usually 3-4 times all within a half hour of each other.

One thing I noticed, and this could be pure coincidence, is that shortly before getting an OTA I've gotten random restarts. Really infuriates me that I've got this incredibly nice piece of hardware and it random reboots like that.

I also seem to be having trouble with games, whether it's Jelly Defense or Dead Trigger, game will randomly crash though it's different with both games. Dead Trigger will always lock up within 30secs of loading a map if I'm using the ps3 controller app. Not sure if it's Dead Trigger or a ps3 controller issue. I have to reboot the device before playing the game, nearly every time otherwise it just locks up and crashes to desktop. Jelly Defense is a bit more random, game will play seemingly fine and be near the end of a level and it will crash and sometimes it won't crash at all.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes