5,601,223 Members 52,750 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Tf700 Random Reboots. Anyone else or just me?

Tip us?
 
riyatch
Old
#11  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 57
Join Date: Mar 2012
I had lots of reboots and and freezes freezes on my first infinity so I exchanged it out.. my second one has started doing it again after 2 wks.
 
sacthegreat
Old
#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 111
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bangalore
Quote:
Originally Posted by riyatch View Post
I had lots of reboots and and freezes freezes on my first infinity so I exchanged it out.. my second one has started doing it again after 2 wks.
Hehehehe... nice to know when the second device also does that! So mostly the problem is software related!
Coz it would be tough for me to exchange it since I'm not in US!

Current devices:
Galaxy Nexus
Nexus S
Nexus 7
Asus Transformer Infinity
The Following User Says Thank You to sacthegreat For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
CandyAndy
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 571
Join Date: Jul 2009
I used to have them but after a limiting background processes to 4 I have had zero reboots. Also games don't crash anymore. There is something seriously messed up with the memory allocation.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using XDA Premium HD app
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to CandyAndy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sacthegreat
Old
#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 111
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bangalore
Quote:
Originally Posted by CandyAndy View Post
I used to have them but after a limiting background processes to 4 I have had zero reboots. Also games don't crash anymore. There is something seriously messed up with the memory allocation.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using XDA Premium HD app
Is it? Cool... I'll also try that trick and update how it goes!

Current devices:
Galaxy Nexus
Nexus S
Nexus 7
Asus Transformer Infinity
 
jtrosky
Old
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 955
Posts: 3,406
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by CandyAndy View Post
I used to have them but after a limiting background processes to 4 I have had zero reboots. Also games don't crash anymore. There is something seriously messed up with the memory allocation.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using XDA Premium HD app
So what affect does that setting really have (limiting background processes to 4) - does that just mean that you can only *truly* multi-task 4 apps? I've always wondered exactly what that setting really did...

Thanks.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to jtrosky For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
CandyAndy
Old
#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 571
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrosky View Post
So what affect does that setting really have (limiting background processes to 4) - does that just mean that you can only *truly* multi-task 4 apps? I've always wondered exactly what that setting really did...

Thanks.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 2
Yes I think so. 4 is actually that much of apps that this is quite a good compromise between stability and multitasking. And either way this doesn't have "true" multitasking as for example youtube videos stop playing when going to other screen. Which is actually very annoying and thats one of the reasons why this really can't be laptop replacement.
 
sacthegreat
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 111
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bangalore
Quote:
Originally Posted by CandyAndy View Post
I used to have them but after a limiting background processes to 4 I have had zero reboots. Also games don't crash anymore. There is something seriously messed up with the memory allocation.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using XDA Premium HD app
Cool thanx! Tried that trick and haven't had any reboots since!

Current devices:
Galaxy Nexus
Nexus S
Nexus 7
Asus Transformer Infinity
 
sparkym3
Old
#18  
sparkym3's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 792
Posts: 428
Join Date: Dec 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
I had my first random reboot since the .30 update, so the issues has not been eliminated.


Donate To Me

SparkyRoot Apk
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=24540453

DebugFS Root Tool
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1706588

TF700 - Transformer Infinity, 32GB, Grey, Rooted, Series C7
---TF201 - Swapped previously owned Transformer Prime series BCOKAS through BestBuy exchange---
 
jtrosky
Old
#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 955
Posts: 3,406
Join Date: May 2008
Man, I would be *livid* if my TF700 had random reboots! Part of the reason I bought the TF700 was because my old TF101 has had random reboot issues with ICS (if I NVFlash Honeycomb it's stable as a rock). I haven't had a single random reboot with my TF700 though - and believe me, I watch for it (mainly via uptime widget)...

Have you guys always had random reboots since you purchased it??

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 2
 
BossMafia2
Old
#20  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 220
Join Date: Jun 2010
So if we're thinking memory allocation is the issue here, I wonder if the V6 Supercharge would help out. I use it on my phone and it's incredible. I installed half of it on my tf700 earlier today, but I have to wait till I'm at a real computer before I apply the rest of the changes.

As a disclaimer, I've not had these random reboots, neither before nor after the OTA, though sometimes games will refuse to load with that whole nvidia issue. Haven't seen that for a little bit though either.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using XDA Premium HD app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes