FORUMS

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

[Baseband] ALL T999, T999L, T999V, T999N Modems! w/ MAP and Data Tweaks!

9,195 posts
Thanks Meter: 6,581
 
By DocHoliday77, Recognized Contributor on 11th September 2012, 06:45 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
14th February 2014, 12:55 PM |#771  
Perseus's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 5,636
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NexusS4gFreak

I accepted the 4.3 stock updated and rooted 4.3 so chose the MK4 for now on? And yes i have T999N On metropcs

Yes
The Following User Says Thank You to Perseus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
14th February 2014, 12:55 PM |#772  
Senior Member
Flag Riverdale,GA
Thanks Meter: 78
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71

Yes

Okayy thank you
17th February 2014, 12:51 AM |#773  
Senior Member
Flag Riverdale,GA
Thanks Meter: 78
 
Donate to Me
More
Where can I find the MK7 modem/baseband/radio? That's the only one wiki works with
17th February 2014, 02:53 AM |#774  
Perseus's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 5,636
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NexusS4gFreak

Where can I find the MK7 modem/baseband/radio? That's the only one wiki works with

Are you serious ? Would you mind reading, I mean really read the first 3 posts of this thread ?
17th February 2014, 03:54 AM |#775  
Senior Member
Flag Riverdale,GA
Thanks Meter: 78
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71

Are you serious ? Would you mind reading, I mean really read the first 3 posts of this thread ?

I have read and theres an MB7 MK4 and ME4 modem for my device but not a MK7 modem.
22nd February 2014, 05:29 AM |#776  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Which baseband should I download for CM 4.4.2 on a T999?
23rd February 2014, 04:22 PM |#777  
shenry1307's Avatar
Senior Member
Wherever Evil Lurks!
Thanks Meter: 87
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shallwhat

Which baseband should I download for CM 4.4.2 on a T999?

Go HERE and use the latest one.
25th February 2014, 02:53 AM |#778  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
1mbps down on t999L
Hi all,
I've been scouring threads for quite some time and am not finding any clarity. Hopefully you guys have a very quick answer that I've just missed.

Scenario: craigslist purchased a t999L, prior updated OTA to MK4, on a reseller of the t-mobile network (myfamilymobile). Has been getting 1mbps down, 0.5 mbps up the whole time. I've tried downgrading to the UVAMB7 and UVAEME4 modems that you packaged, but when I do and boot back, I get no signal and Baseband Version: Unknown. This happens with 4.3 and 4.2.1 on multiple flavors of roms.

Do you know why modems are coming up unknown? I've seen mention of accepting OTA causing an issue, but haven't seen anything clear about how/what. Can you think of any other reasons that this would be getting 1mbps down?

Would love to get something better than 1mb down on this LTE network...

---------- Post added at 02:53 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:49 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamsa

Hi all,
I've been scouring threads for quite some time and am not finding any clarity. Hopefully you guys have a very quick answer that I've just missed.

Scenario: craigslist purchased a t999L, prior updated OTA to MK4, on a reseller of the t-mobile network (myfamilymobile). Has been getting 1mbps down, 0.5 mbps up the whole time. I've tried downgrading to the UVAMB7 and UVAEME4 modems that you packaged, but when I do and boot back, I get no signal and Baseband Version: Unknown. This happens with 4.3 and 4.2.1 on multiple flavors of roms.

Do you know why modems are coming up unknown? I've seen mention of accepting OTA causing an issue, but haven't seen anything clear about how/what. Can you think of any other reasons that this would be getting 1mbps down?

Would love to get something better than 1mb down on this LTE network...

And, I suppose an important question re the OTA, will it be damaging to try the root66 root66_TMO_T999L_UVAMB7.tar? That was a next step.
25th February 2014, 09:04 AM |#779  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamsa

Hi all,
I've been scouring threads for quite some time and am not finding any clarity. Hopefully you guys have a very quick answer that I've just missed.

Scenario: craigslist purchased a t999L, prior updated OTA to MK4, on a reseller of the t-mobile network (myfamilymobile). Has been getting 1mbps down, 0.5 mbps up the whole time. I've tried downgrading to the UVAMB7 and UVAEME4 modems that you packaged, but when I do and boot back, I get no signal and Baseband Version: Unknown. This happens with 4.3 and 4.2.1 on multiple flavors of roms.

Do you know why modems are coming up unknown? I've seen mention of accepting OTA causing an issue, but haven't seen anything clear about how/what. Can you think of any other reasons that this would be getting 1mbps down?

Would love to get something better than 1mb down on this LTE network...

---------- Post added at 02:53 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:49 AM ----------



And, I suppose an important question re the OTA, will it be damaging to try the root66 root66_TMO_T999L_UVAMB7.tar? That was a next step.

Ok, a little more reading of the FAQ thread indicates that once you've OTA'd 4.3 that you're stuck. Am I to assume that this means that I can use the MK4 modem only, and that the other 2 not working now is to be expected? If so, I'd love some advice as to what I should do to this thing to get better radio perf. (Issue happened in both nyc and la, so it's not a tower issue)

thanks!
25th February 2014, 01:26 PM |#780  
Perseus's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 5,636
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamsa

Ok, a little more reading of the FAQ thread indicates that once you've OTA'd 4.3 that you're stuck. Am I to assume that this means that I can use the MK4 modem only, and that the other 2 not working now is to be expected? If so, I'd love some advice as to what I should do to this thing to get better radio perf. (Issue happened in both nyc and la, so it's not a tower issue)

thanks!

You read correct. You are stuck with MK4.
25th February 2014, 06:03 PM |#781  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71

You read correct. You are stuck with MK4.

Thanks Perseus,
So is there any danger in my attempting: 1) Kies to get back to stock, 2) Root66 from DocHolliday77 (which is the most current root66, anyway?), 3) any of the CM ROMs? Basically, what scenario will I brick my phone, if I'm using only T999L/N?

And any thoughts on what on earth could be causing such poor net perf? Almost Edge speeds.Do you have a suggestion for the best kernel/rom/etc combo that should be ideally stable for net testing?
Thanks,
Adam

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
baseband, galaxy s3, modem, radio, t999
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes