FORUMS

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

OnePlus 2 Bares All in New Tear Down Gallery

Last year, the launch of the OnePlus One, dubbed ‘the flagship killer’, visibly … more

Focus – An Attractive But Raw Gallery Replacement

Focus is an attractive new app built by XDA members Liam Spradlin … more

T-Mobile Blocking Wi-Fi Tether

133 posts
Thanks Meter: 25
 
By davidbudd1, Senior Member on 12th September 2012, 06:50 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
So it looks like T-Mobile is blocking wi-fi tether now. It was working perfect ever since I bought my S3, but today I turn on wifi tether and all is working then I get two text messages from T-mobile (see attached image). AS soon as I received the second message my tether stopped working. I am rooted running XquizIt v70 Rom, KT747 9-5 Kernel WiFi tether 3.2 beta 2. My computer I was tethering to is a MacBook Pro running Lion using google chrome browser.

This is just a heads up to you guys and if anyone knows a workaround let me know.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2012-09-12-12-33-59.jpg
Views:	9607
Size:	51.7 KB
ID:	1321669  
The Following User Says Thank You to davidbudd1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
12th September 2012, 06:58 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
How did they block it if you're rooted? Weird.
12th September 2012, 07:01 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag chicago
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
I know, it sucks. I'm curious to see if others are running into the same thing. I rarely use Wi-Fi tether but I like to have it just in case. Sometimes when I'm at starbucks their wifi is so slow.
12th September 2012, 07:07 PM |#4  
babymatteo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 750
 
More
Did you upgrade to the "Truly" Unlimited 4G Plan?
12th September 2012, 07:09 PM |#5  
nvmehaterz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag colorado springs
Thanks Meter: 36
 
Donate to Me
More
Do u have the new unlimited plan? If so, you can't tether hitspot wifi anymore with that plan.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
12th September 2012, 07:13 PM |#6  
babymatteo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 750
 
More
Try a different app like Barnacle wifi tether or FoxFi. I've heard of success stories (lol) using Foxfi on Stock Rooted OTA LH2.
12th September 2012, 07:23 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Flag chicago
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Yes, I'm on the new truly unlimited plan, but it has been working flawlessly for the past week, up until today. I will try some other apps and see if they work.
12th September 2012, 07:24 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
I thought they couldn't detect if you were using the app if you were rooted using wifi tether for root? I was about to get the truly unlimited plan and use it to tether to my nexus and laptop.
12th September 2012, 07:24 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidbudd1

Yes, I'm on the new truly unlimited plan, but it has been working flawlessly for the past week, up until today. I will try some other apps and see if they work.

Just curious.. Can you run the Speed Test app and let us know what you get?
12th September 2012, 07:26 PM |#10  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 331
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chicago281

How did they block it if you're rooted? Weird.

how does being root have to do anything with data? do you know what root mean?


anyway op, use the tether wifi ap and use firefox not chrome. see if that work.
12th September 2012, 07:30 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by G1_enthusiast

how does being root have to do anything with data? do you know what root mean?


anyway op, use the tether wifi ap and use firefox not chrome. see if that work.

Do you know if I should be able to use the tether wifi app to tether my siii and connect from my nexus 7 tablet?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes