FORUMS

Two New Moto X and New Moto G – Specs & Details

Today’s Moto event just ended and now we have a clear look at all of … more

How Strong Is Your Connection? – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Everyone is always talking about their bars. How many bars of WiFi do they … more

OnePlus 2 Announced: Specs, Price and Details

The OnePlus 2 has just had its Virtual Reality Launch event, and at the XDA Office we all … more

A Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services

With the launch of Apple Music, music streaming services have recently gained a lot of … more

[Rom]Kindle Fire 2nd Generation Rom Update Version 10.2.6(2013-01-26)

84 posts
Thanks Meter: 9
 
By padest.com, Member on 14th September 2012, 09:01 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
18th September 2012, 02:28 AM |#11  
Ichigo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nowhere
Thanks Meter: 1,001
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessical

The new launcher is based on 4.0.3 and the original Fire runs 2.3 for stock.

But doesn't the 2 Generation kindle run Gingerbread? I thought only the HD had ICS.

Android>iOS... Android FTW!
 
 
18th September 2012, 02:30 AM |#12  
Senior Member
Flag Orange Park
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
No. They both run ics

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda app-developers app
18th September 2012, 12:29 PM |#13  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josepho1997

But doesn't the 2 Generation kindle run Gingerbread? I thought only the HD had ICS.

Android>iOS... Android FTW!

all the new Kindle Fire run ICS-Android 4.0.3.
19th September 2012, 04:50 AM |#14  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Thumbs up I'm there aND there
Wish i knew how to write software to help I'm just saying thanks for trying and I'm one of those folks who constantly loads this thread hoping someone found a way!! Keep up the good work guys!!
19th September 2012, 10:46 PM |#15  
Senior Member
Flag Orange Park
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Hey I just wanted to comment that no app from the second gen kindle fire works for me. They just force close. However for the HD I got setup running but it crashed at the end. So maybe it would be easier to port the HD rom.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire using xda app-developers app
23rd September 2012, 07:33 PM |#16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
The HD, none of the specs are the same. Thus, It is probably not possible unless we modify a lot of applications.
4th October 2012, 03:50 AM |#17  
Account currently disabled
Flag Silicon Valley, California
Thanks Meter: 243
 
More
Hi everyone, looks like the kindle fire HD and the upcoming nook tablets HDs have a similarity between the TI OMAP processors.

On the kindle fire HD it has the TI OMAP 4460 and the nook tab HD's have the OMAP TI 4470, both dual layered.

Does anyone have the binary drivers for the kindle fire HD? Or if someone has a git repo on this device for kernel development? Kind of curious if the binary drivers are in the same family or if there is discrepancy between the drivers between those two processors. Looking to possibly port over what work done here to the upcoming Nook HDs and get my team up and going on kernel development. Also interested in the sound codec drivers.

What work we do can also be shared here with you guys also.
5th October 2012, 11:47 AM |#18  
Senior Member
Flag Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 983
 
Donate to Me
More
Will this return a rooted/hacked/modded KF2 to stock?
22nd October 2012, 08:39 AM |#19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2390

Yes. But could somebody make a flashable zip file or the programs tied to the launcher to modify an ics rom for it? Is it possible?

sounds feasible may be someone has already tried this option, I will search the web and see
24th October 2012, 08:46 PM |#20  
KindleFireGuy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag King
Thanks Meter: 20
 
Donate to Me
More
cant we get a ics rom (aka hellfire) to run the launcher?
28th October 2012, 03:57 AM |#21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I think if you removed the files and lines in the updater-script that flash any sort of bootloader or recovery, you should be fine.

If you can strip everything out except the system ROM itself, then you should be able to get that alone to install via TWRP without issue. It'd be like installing any other ROM.
The Following User Says Thank You to superriku11 For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes