Post Reply

[Rom]Kindle Fire 2nd Generation Rom Update Version 10.2.6(2013-01-26)

OP padest.com

28th October 2012, 03:57 AM   |  #21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
I think if you removed the files and lines in the updater-script that flash any sort of bootloader or recovery, you should be fine.

If you can strip everything out except the system ROM itself, then you should be able to get that alone to install via TWRP without issue. It'd be like installing any other ROM.
The Following User Says Thank You to superriku11 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th November 2012, 08:09 PM   |  #22  
chronicfathead's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sleaford, Lincs
Thanks Meter: 169
 
613 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
Have just had one bought for me for Christmas, while the Black Friday deal was on. 99 for the Kindle Fire 2, so many people must have picked one up.

Does anyone know how long it took to get root access on the original Fire?

Edit: I see people are managing to get root. Maybe we need a couple of step by step guides that state exactly how people are getting root access. Make it as simple as possible to encourage the community?
Last edited by chronicfathead; 1st December 2012 at 05:46 PM.
4th December 2012, 01:38 AM   |  #23  
ryantek's Avatar
Junior Member
Ft. Lauderdale
Thanks Meter: 3
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Unhappy
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronicfathead

Have just had one bought for me for Christmas, while the Black Friday deal was on. 99 for the Kindle Fire 2, so many people must have picked one up.

Does anyone know how long it took to get root access on the original Fire?

Edit: I see people are managing to get root. Maybe we need a couple of step by step guides that state exactly how people are getting root access. Make it as simple as possible to encourage the community?

I have been looking for something like that. But everywhere I see they are inconsistency on how to obtain root, and Google play access. Also it looks like the kindles updates Amazon has this table locked down to the teeth.
5th December 2012, 05:14 AM   |  #24  
Junior Member
Flag MI
Thanks Meter: 6
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryantek

I have been looking for something like that. But everywhere I see they are inconsistency on how to obtain root, and Google play access. Also it looks like the kindles updates Amazon has this table locked down to the teeth.

There was a thread in the forum up earlier this week.....it helped me obtain root access on my KF2, and Google play access.. I don't know why it was removed or moved. It wasn't that hard once I got Win7 64 to recognize the KF2 with the ADB driver.
5th December 2012, 11:16 PM   |  #25  
Quote:
Originally Posted by esatchel

There was a thread in the forum up earlier this week.....it helped me obtain root access on my KF2, and Google play access.. I don't know why it was removed or moved. It wasn't that hard once I got Win7 64 to recognize the KF2 with the ADB driver.

It was moved to http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=34779123 by a moderator due to the rules of the forum. But, personally, I think it belongs here.

Sent from my myTouch_4G_Slide using xda premium
Last edited by BookCase; 5th December 2012 at 11:20 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to BookCase For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th December 2012, 02:01 PM   |  #26  
b.huss2's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville
Thanks Meter: 406
 
909 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
I already had an og kfire and was really pleased with it now that it's running Hashcodes AOSP 4.1.2. I just got 2 new kfires and opened up and started right away to unlock and install the same thing I have on my og fire. Well I soon found out they are gen2 fires and Then I found out there's no development on them yet.

Is the gen2 new and development just hasn't gotten rolling yet? I sure hope that's the case.
6th December 2012, 05:50 PM   |  #27  
Quote:
Originally Posted by b.huss2

I already had an og kfire and was really pleased with it now that it's running Hashcodes AOSP 4.1.2. I just got 2 new kfires and opened up and started right away to unlock and install the same thing I have on my og fire. Well I soon found out they are gen2 fires and Then I found out there's no development on them yet.

Is the gen2 new and development just hasn't gotten rolling yet? I sure hope that's the case.

Yes, its new and we are working on a permanent root solution, at the moment. No ROMs have been developed yet but, Temp root has been achieved for some and Google Play Store. Hang in there!

Sent from my myTouch_4G_Slide using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to BookCase For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th December 2012, 08:19 PM   |  #28  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BookCase

Yes, its new and we are working on a permanent root solution, at the moment. No ROMs have been developed yet but, Temp root has been achieved for some and Google Play Store. Hang in there!

Actually, this method don't work after latest firmware update (10.2.3). I'm really sad. First thing, that everyone must to do is disable automatic updates after getting root. But how?
12th December 2012, 09:23 PM   |  #29  
b.huss2's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville
Thanks Meter: 406
 
909 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BookCase

Yes, its new and we are working on a permanent root solution, at the moment. No ROMs have been developed yet but, Temp root has been achieved for some and Google Play Store. Hang in there!

Sent from my myTouch_4G_Slide using xda premium

I played around with them for a few minutes and I just decided to send them back. got 2 N7's instead. I was wanting to make them like the n7 and save a few bucks anyway so it just made sense to spend a little more and cut to the chase.
14th December 2012, 10:27 AM   |  #30  
jutley's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 305
 
2,069 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
I repeat do not try to root 10.24 you will be stuck in a boot loop on fast flashing kindle logo if you happen to have done it like me just slowly go into settings and do a factory reset it will finally restore eventually its so slow make sure the wifi is on it will deregister your device.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes