FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[TOOL/UTILITY][TWRP][3.0][RECOVERY] TWRP 3.0.0-1 TeamWin Recovery Project 3/28/2016

11,868 posts
Thanks Meter: 3,819
 
By arrrghhh, Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer on 14th September 2012, 09:35 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
[RECOVERY] [3/28/16] TWRP 3.0.0-1 - TeamWin Recovery Project

TeamWin is proud to present TWRP 3.0.x for the Motorola Photon Q!



Youtube video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RIvWVS_Rkxo

Full TeamWin credits are on the TWRP page on the TeamWin website: http://teamw.in/project/twrp2

Introduction:

Team Win Recovery Project or twrp2 for short, is a custom recovery built with ease of use and customization in mind. We started from the ground up by taking AOSP recovery and loading it with the standard recovery options, then added a lot of our own features. It's a fully touch driven user interface , no more volume rocker or power buttons to mash. The GUI is also fully XML driven and completely theme-able. You can change just about every aspect of the look and feel.

Key Features:

Touchscreen driven with real buttons and drag-to-scroll
XML-based GUI that allows full customization of the layout true theming!
Settings are saved to the sdcard and persist through reboots
Ability to choose which partitions to back up and which to restore
Ability to choose to compress backups now with pigz (multi-core processor support for faster compression times)
Onscreen keyboard
Decryption of /data
Easy selection of internal/external storage
See changelog below for new features

In addition to the above new features, TWRP features a scripting engine that allows an app to send commands to the recovery for the recovery to perform during startup. We call this scripting engine OpenRecoveryScript. This engine will be put to use immediately in the GooManager app. GooManager will be able to install recoveries automatically for most supported devices. The app will also let you choose to install multiple zips from within Android, wipe cache & dalvik, and run a backup.

We are looking for other talented developers, themers, and device maintainers if they are interested in helping with a free, open source project.

Theming:

Information on TWRP 2 Theming - http://teamw.in/project/twrp2themers

Known Issues:

CWM backups are not compatible - please make a fresh backup in TWRP as soon as you have flashed it


Source Code:

GitHub - https://github.com/omnirom/android_bootable_recovery

Gerrit for TWRP Official Device Configs - http://gerrit.twrp.me

Gerrit Instance - http://gerrit.omnirom.org

If you have made your own twrp build for an unsupported device, please let us know. We might add your build to the list of unofficial builds. Bear in mind that we are working hard to add more devices and we may add your device to our official build list later.

Photon Q Device Config: https://github.com/CyanogenMod/andro...7/tree/cm-13.0

Kernel: https://github.com/arrrghhh/android_...60-common-twrp

DOWNLOAD:

Official Link

All official devices are listed at the top of the page on the Team Win website. Search for the device in the textbox.

http://twrp.me


Support:

Click http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=twrp for live support or join us in #twrp on Freenode IRC servers

Many thanks to @Dees_Troy, @helicopter88 & @bigbiff for helping get TWRP running, and of course thanks to @shabbypenguin for getting everything started on the device tree!

I highly advise the buglist and directions be reviewed!!

Thanks!!
The Following 22 Users Say Thank You to arrrghhh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
14th September 2012, 10:01 PM |#2  
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 3,819
 
Donate to Me
More
Buglist

  • **If you had an old version of TWRP installed before, MAKE SURE you 'Restore Defaults' under 'Settings' in TWRP**
  • Clock is off. Not sure why, seems unfixable.
  • Cannot use physical keyboard to type in Recovery...Obviously the on-screen kb works fine.
The Following User Says Thank You to arrrghhh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th September 2012, 11:24 PM |#3  
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 3,819
 
Donate to Me
More
Directions:

** You must be unlocked in order to do this.**

2 choices after rooting. You can download TWRP Manager from the Play Store, menu, TWRP install & wait... (I do not provide support for this app FYI) or:

1. Reboot into fastboot (adb reboot bootloader, or turn off device, hold power + cam when booting and select 'fastboot')
2. Once in fastboot,
Code:
fastboot flash recovery twrp-2.7.1.2-asanti_c.img
3. Hit power - device turns off. Hold vol up + power, then release power when the screen comes on - continue holding vol up. When you see the moto logo dim a bit, release vol up. You should now be in TWRP!
The Following User Says Thank You to arrrghhh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th September 2012, 11:52 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag /home/kp
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
Works great! I used Goomanager

Edit: Works as in installs and boots. Touchscreen works, I have not tested the actual functions as of yet.

Tried to do a backup to external SD, it seems to have done it but after the loading bar finished I got the initial blue and black logo and couldn't get out of it. Had to 3 button reboot. Can't find the backup.
15th September 2012, 12:01 AM |#5  
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 3,819
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KitsunePaws

Works great! I used Goomanager

Edit: Works as in installs and boots. Touchscreen works, I have not tested the actual functions as of yet.

Tried to do a backup to external SD, it seems to have done it but after the loading bar finished I got the initial blue and black logo and couldn't get out of it. Had to 3 button reboot. Can't find the backup.

Hrm. I'll look into that... I think I've only done a backup to internal SD as my external is ridiculously full.

Edit - just did a backup of boot to the external, worked just fine. Perhaps wait a bit? How long did you wait, and what were you backing up?

Edit 2 - ok, perhaps I jumped the gun. "Worked" doesn't quite describe it... I have the TWRP folders for the backup, but there's no backup file in there. Strange... Perhaps because I backed up only boot. I'll try again with less junk on the card and do a full backup...
15th September 2012, 12:05 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag /home/kp
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arrrghhh

Hrm. I'll look into that... I think I've only done a backup to internal SD as my external is ridiculously full.

Edit - just did a backup of boot to the external, worked just fine. Perhaps wait a bit? How long did you wait, and what were you backing up?

Just went with the default settings, I didn't wait that long after the progress bar went away it went back to a team logo, I let it sit for about a minute and then reset it. Trying again.

Ran through it again, it took a while backing up /data. (398 megs). The bar filled all the way up though it still said "... Backing up /data" Sitting at the teamwin logo again, it's been on this image for 4 minutes at this point (Went to the logo at 6:09). ( Now it's blinking. And now it reset. These could have been caused by my touching the screen. I think the logo is getting "stuck" ). Is the progress bar based on a timer or events?

Also, it made the TWRP folder on the internal SD regardless of the fact I told it external. I did notice that the backup path during said "/sdcard" and not "/mnt/external1". The folder does not contain a backup.
15th September 2012, 12:24 AM |#7  
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 3,819
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KitsunePaws

Just went with the default settings, I didn't wait that long after the progress bar went away it went back to a team logo, I let it sit for about a minute and then reset it. Trying again.

Ran through it again, it took a while backing up /data. (398 megs). The bar filled all the way up though it still said "... Backing up /data" Sitting at the teamwin logo again, it's been on this image for 4 minutes at this point (Went to the logo at 6:09). ( Now it's blinking. And now it reset. These could have been caused by my touching the screen. I think the logo is getting "stuck" ). Is the progress bar based on a timer or events?

Also, it made the TWRP folder on the internal SD regardless of the fact I told it external. I did notice that the backup path during said "/sdcard" and not "/mnt/external1". The folder does not contain a backup.

Indeed.

I am in the same "stuck" situation as you now. For the meantime, it seems backing up to external SD does NOT work... I tested backup and restore, but only to internal SD. I saw that my external didn't have enough space, and wrote it off as enough... Apologies for not thoroughly testing that.
15th September 2012, 12:26 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag /home/kp
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arrrghhh

Indeed.

I am in the same "stuck" situation as you now. For the meantime, it seems backing up to external SD does NOT work... I tested backup and restore, but only to internal SD. I saw that my external didn't have enough space, and wrote it off as enough... Apologies for not thoroughly testing that.

No worries, that's what makes XDA the place that it is ^-^. If I expected perfection I would buy an iPh.... couldn't do it with a straight face.
15th September 2012, 02:37 AM |#9  
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 3,819
 
Donate to Me
More
OK, the issue with external SD should be fixed. However, I don't have the ability to push the changes to GooManager, so you'll have to flash manually until it's updated on GooManager (I'll let you know )

Edit - to be clear, you cannot use GooManager or the official link right now. Please use 'mirror 1' and manually update in order to fix the external SD issue (until it's officially updated).
15th September 2012, 04:43 AM |#10  
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 3,819
 
Donate to Me
More
Alrighty, Dees_Troy said it is officially updated. I can see the update on the official link - but I'm not sure how on GooManager you update - if you just click 'check for updates'? That seems to only check on ROM updates, but I could be wrong.

Please let me know how it goes! If you experience any issues, etc.

Edit - seems you just do the same as when it was initially installed... Menu -> Install OpenRecoveryScript & wait... then reboot to recovery.

Also, if you notice - TWRP is now 2.2.2.2 - yes, a whole lotta 2's... but that last .2 is the Q!! Congrats, we're official!
The Following User Says Thank You to arrrghhh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2012, 06:21 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Aweesssommeee....
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes