Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

US Galaxy S3 missing the FM radio hardware

OP joederp

16th September 2012, 07:22 AM   |  #11  
wideasleep1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 514
 
1,535 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
Cool
Quote:
Originally Posted by joederp

I would but some asshole mod just threw my post (Not even a new thread, a legit reply to a thread on 8960)
into the general Q&A thread and removed it from hardware.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1888652

That was a post, not a thread that needed a title.

His own forum rules state:
"relating to the hardware of devices and in many circumstances dealing with families of devices. "

Which my COMMENT was, but the power mad mods have to delete my comment. So they obviously don't care about hardware or my research, so **** that mod.

Chill...mods try to keep things orderly. If you feel you're treated unfairly, pm the mods and plead your case...it's never a good idea to publicly criticise staff (made up of volunteers) dedicated to our shared interests.

On topic, the FM stations are miserable here, full of annoying racket and ads...I'd never even consider listening to FM even if the SIII had an operable implementation.
16th September 2012, 07:36 AM   |  #12  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikereidis

Are you sure the GT-i9300 uses an SI-4705 and what's the source of that info ?

I just googled some more proof for you that it is Si7405. Check the datasheet and compare the part numbering:

YWW is 2012 Week 7 from the photo.
Last edited by joederp; 16th September 2012 at 07:47 AM. Reason: week not month
16th September 2012, 10:13 PM   |  #13  
Recognized Developer
Flag Ottawa/Gatineau, Canada
Thanks Meter: 3,331
 
6,499 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joederp

I would say that they would need the resistors, and inductors inside the SoC module, and an antenna. And then some was to get the data out of the broadcom chip, and then can it handle FM while using bluetooth and WLAN? So I'm guessing based on the cost and module specs, they abandoned it. For the flagship i9300 international design they just threw in another chip. The respin US version they want to save money and the Wolfson and SiLabs volume and cost makes more sense to use the Qcom part and abandon an extra audio input. Also US cell companies go out of their way to disable FM radio even when it is "free". They would rather you pay for data or some crazy nonsense.

I'm sure you're right about 4705. 9300 schematic shows DOUT which is the digital out the 4701 doesn't have. I didn't even look at the parts list; previous service manuals didn't use the real part numbers so I figured it was useless again.

It's a shame Samsung didn't use the Digital out IMO. But this leads into the fact that they have a "settled design" for FM on the higher end Galaxy S/S2/S3/Note devices. The "settled design" uses a Silicon Labs si470x chip with analog output. I don't know if SL chips have better audio than Broadcom currently, but I suspect they did when the Galaxy S was designed at least (along with a high quality Wolfsson audio chip.)

Samsungs "settled design" for FM on lower end products always uses Broadcom combo chips, that also support BT and WiFi. FM piggy-backs on the BT core and is handled by the Broadcom proprietary BT/FM stack on stock ROMs.
16th September 2012, 10:21 PM   |  #14  
Recognized Developer
Flag Ottawa/Gatineau, Canada
Thanks Meter: 3,331
 
6,499 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joederp

And the Si4705 uses a 32.7MHz crystal, but it can also take
a reference clock from 31.130 to 40.000

...

Can you read RDS through the SDIO?

32,768 Hz (2^15)

Hardware wise, yes all si470x registers, including RDS registers, are accessed via SDIO.

The V4L driver accesses the si470x registers.

Samsungs proprietary Silicon Labs/high end specific FM API accesses the V4L driver.

My Spirit FM app, like the Samsung app, can access the Samsung API. But Spirit can also speak directly to the V4L driver, which is preferred.

So there are multiple software layers between an app and the hardware pins such as SDIO.

I'd be interested to access some unique features of the si4705, such as operation down to 64 MHz. but I don't think the V4L driver allows it, as it's generic to si470x.
17th September 2012, 12:06 AM   |  #15  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Just for your benefit, they saved cost by skipping the crystal for the radio chip, it is using the reference clock from the BT chip which is 37.4 and might impact which freq you can tune.
18th September 2012, 05:12 AM   |  #16  
Recognized Developer
Flag Ottawa/Gatineau, Canada
Thanks Meter: 3,331
 
6,499 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joederp

Just for your benefit, they saved cost by skipping the crystal for the radio chip, it is using the reference clock from the BT chip which is 37.4 and might impact which freq you can tune.

There are no FM tuning problems on GT-i9300: 76-90 or 87.5-108.
18th September 2012, 11:03 AM   |  #17  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
I didn't mean problems but more like in the datasheet if you don't use crystal and have ref clock then there are certain multiplier issues. I was pointing out they are sharing they wlan

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
19th September 2012, 10:40 PM   |  #18  
stonew5082's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 230
 
1,322 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
it'd be nice to be able to change the headphone amplifier volume (as voodoo does). Does this information you guys found help in that area? It'd be nice to lower the analogue volume to reduce hiss and artifacts.
20th September 2012, 12:41 AM   |  #19  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Yes and no. You can directly modify the tabla register for the qcom codec, but I don't have and darasheet to know what 00 is versus c4 or whatever in the register. I have to write it up still

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to joederp For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd December 2012, 05:57 AM   |  #20  
stonew5082's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 230
 
1,322 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by joederp

Yes and no. You can directly modify the tabla register for the qcom codec, but I don't have and darasheet to know what 00 is versus c4 or whatever in the register. I have to write it up still

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app

Any news on that?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes