FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[Guide]Locking Apps In Memory

265 posts
Thanks Meter: 278
 
By kanpurite, Senior Member on 16th September 2012, 06:32 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Create a file local.prop in /data

Open it with text editor and add the following line :

For phone :-

Code:
sys.keep_app_1=com.android.contacts

for any other app

Code:
sys.keep_app_1=com.example.app







Step by Step Guide (Thank vaibhav) :

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...8&postcount=24

Other methods if this does not work :

1 ) http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1890495(by espaciosalter20)

2 ) http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1012330(by zeppelinrox)
Last edited by kanpurite; 17th September 2012 at 02:05 AM.
The Following 56 Users Say Thank You to kanpurite For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
16th September 2012, 07:08 AM |#2  
aribis's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
That's more of a help than asking people to stop raising flags...thanks buddy!

Ari@JellyGreenDefy
The Following User Says Thank You to aribis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th September 2012, 09:26 AM |#3  
vaibhav palande's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pune
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
Arrow
Has any1 tried this already??? does this work?
The Following User Says Thank You to vaibhav palande For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th September 2012, 09:34 AM |#4  
kanpurite's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag kanpur
Thanks Meter: 278
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vaibhav palande

Has any1 tried this already??? does this work?

It's working for me.
actually i did'nt even have any delay opening the dialer earlier.
maybe someone who had this problem can try and report.

at least there is no boot loop or 'stuck at m logo' problem ,so no harm in trying.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kanpurite For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th September 2012, 09:37 AM |#5  
vaibhav palande's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pune
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
i want to add gosms in memory... the app name is com.jb.gosms..
what line should i add??

sys.keep_app_1=com.jb.gosms OR something else???
16th September 2012, 09:44 AM |#6  
kanpurite's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag kanpur
Thanks Meter: 278
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vaibhav palande

i want to add gosms in memory... the app name is com.jb.gosms..
what line should i add??

sys.keep_app_1=com.jb.gosms OR something else???

if you already have contacts in memory then ,
sys.keep_app_2=com.jb.gosms

also you can check app name from package browser located in setting>developer option>launch tools
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kanpurite For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th September 2012, 09:50 AM |#7  
vaibhav palande's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pune
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
Thumbs up
This works great. Tried it.. all the apps added to local prop take no time to open... thanx a lot...
The Following User Says Thank You to vaibhav palande For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th September 2012, 10:39 AM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Do i have to set specific permissions to the file?
16th September 2012, 10:48 AM |#9  
vaibhav palande's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pune
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
Cool Found one thing about editing local.prop
Found one thing:

After entering the app name in local.prop file leave one line blank at the bottom otherwise even if u save it, phone says no changes made... and apps u added in local.prop file won't be locked in memory.. Hope i helped..
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to vaibhav palande For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th September 2012, 10:59 AM |#10  
vap_66's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 511
 
More
Great tip, thanks . Locked phone in memory, no more delays now.

Trimis de pe Motorola Defy
16th September 2012, 11:10 AM |#11  
vaibhav palande's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pune
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
Thumbs up What about this??? kanpurite?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikis89

Do i have to set specific permissions to the file?

What about this kanpurite? If we need to set specific permissions which i haven't done, i am living with a placebo effect here. But seriously now i kept my cell on standby for about an hour, and then tried opening phone, contacts and messaging apps.. BAM.... They open within a split second..

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes