FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[VIDEO] How to Root the Amazon Kindle Fire HD Tablet

891 posts
Thanks Meter: 850
 
By reverendkjr, Senior Member on 17th September 2012, 10:08 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Major thanks to Sparkym3 for coming up with this exploit, and to Justin Case & Hashcode for helping do this on my tablet today.





Here are the files that you need:

http://www.reverendkyle.com/download...arm-signed.zip

http://www.reverendkyle.com/download...DB_Drivers.zip



Be sure to install ADB on your computer first!

http://www.reverendkyle.com/index.ph...oid-in-windows

The commands:

adb shell
rm -r /data/local/tmp
ln -s /data/ /data/local/tmp
exit

adb reboot

adb shell
echo 'ro.kernel.qemu=1' > /data/local.prop
exit

abd reboot

adb shell mount -o remount,rw /system
adb push su /system/xbin/su
adb shell
chown 0.0 /system/xbin/su
chmod 06755 /system/xbin/su
rm /data/local.prop
exit

adb reboot

adb install Superuser.apk




The original instructions can be found here:

http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/09...-how-to-do-it/
The Following 18 Users Say Thank You to reverendkjr For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift reverendkjr Ad-Free
 
 
17th September 2012, 10:20 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
lol, a whole 3 days, what took everyone so long?

Sent from my One X
17th September 2012, 10:24 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
I want to say don't release it until the 9 inch version comes out and we can root that too. Don't give amazon the details to patch it.
17th September 2012, 10:29 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
I think an alternate launcher would satisy lots of people without having to root.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to robertc88 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift robertc88 Ad-Free
17th September 2012, 10:30 PM |#5  
reverendkjr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cincinnati, OH
Thanks Meter: 850
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by supernoman

I want to say don't release it until the 9 inch version comes out and we can root that too. Don't give amazon the details to patch it.

I'm not sure when it will be released. I just wanted to tell all of the nay sayers to DEAL WITH IT.
17th September 2012, 11:01 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by reverendkjr

I'm not sure when it will be released. I just wanted to tell all of the nay sayers to DEAL WITH IT.

just tried adb shell and it says error finding device. any suggestions? how do i go into "developers" mode with the kindle fire hd?
17th September 2012, 11:11 PM |#7  
shook187's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Haverhill MA
Thanks Meter: 1,042
 
More
http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/09...-how-to-do-it/

Sent from my SPH-L710 using xda premium
17th September 2012, 11:24 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
How complicated and how long of a process is this?

I'm not tech savvy but if not too difficult, I'll give it to a friend to attempt after I buy the Fire HD tomorrow!
18th September 2012, 12:08 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Just tried and finally got to the adb shell portion but when I try to rm /data/local/tmp it gives me the following:

rm /data/local/tmp
rm failed for /data/local/tmp, Is a directory

so afterwards I tried just doing a ln -s /data/ /data/local/tmp and it says "link failed File exists" ... What am I doing wrong?
18th September 2012, 12:16 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Just about to report that thee was a working root. Good guide

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
18th September 2012, 02:35 AM |#11  
stu5797's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 355
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenchichrono

just tried adb shell and it says error finding device. any suggestions? how do i go into "developers" mode with the kindle fire hd?

I have the same trouble... any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

---------- Post added at 08:35 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:48 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by tenchichrono

Just tried and finally got to the adb shell portion but when I try to rm /data/local/tmp it gives me the following:

rm /data/local/tmp
rm failed for /data/local/tmp, Is a directory

so afterwards I tried just doing a ln -s /data/ /data/local/tmp and it says "link failed File exists" ... What am I doing wrong?

I got the drivers installed to fix my previous problem but now I have this problem above
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes