FORUMS

Android M Code Name: Macadamia Nut Cookie

While the official name for the latest iteration of Android has yet to be revealed, the code … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Any tips on how to install swype beta?

21st September 2012, 05:41 PM |#1  
Varlokkur's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I desperately miss swype... even with this larger keyboard, I can type faster on my phone because it has swype.
Anyway, I have followed the directions for installing some Google apps without root, and I side loaded dropbox successfully. I am waiting / hoping for a backup method before I try rooting, but in the meantime I was wondering if anyone has succeeded in installing swype on their device, root or no?


Sent from my KFTT using xda premium
 
 
21st September 2012, 09:33 PM |#2  
alkemist80's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pineapple under the sea
Thanks Meter: 69
 
More
Installing swype has crossed my mind, but I have not done it yet on the KFHD. I did it with the KF 1st gen and it required rooting and it could get a little messy but once it was up and running, it wasn't a problem. I actually used SlideIT keyboard but right now the stock keyboard is a little pleasing so I haven't switched.
22nd September 2012, 02:26 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Sideloading doesn't work on keyboards, a rom might be necessary
22nd September 2012, 12:07 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alkemist80

Installing swype has crossed my mind, but I have not done it yet on the KFHD. I did it with the KF 1st gen and it required rooting and it could get a little messy but once it was up and running, it wasn't a problem. I actually used SlideIT keyboard but right now the stock keyboard is a little pleasing so I haven't switched.

that was relly helpfull
22nd September 2012, 01:32 PM |#5  
Member
Flag North Potomac, MD
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Successfuly installed Smart keyboard pro using method described here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1369205

Sent from my KFHD rooted
22nd September 2012, 05:01 PM |#6  
alkemist80's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pineapple under the sea
Thanks Meter: 69
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anastasis96

that was relly helpfull

All you have to do is ask. The method I found was on another board and I don't like to step on toes by cross referencing on another board.
22nd September 2012, 08:09 PM |#7  
alkemist80's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pineapple under the sea
Thanks Meter: 69
 
More
I am revising this post on how I got swype beta installed and working on KFHD, the original KF method is not working since amazon locked out the ability to swap keyboards. This requires your device to be rooted

1) Sign up for Swype Beta on their website and download their installer on your KFHD.

2) Install the Installer APK and Log in

3) Select your Beta version and download

4) Install swype

5) Go to data/apps and move swype apk to system/apps and make sure permissions are rw-r-r

6) Install NookColorTools_0.2.apk found here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=868366 Link courtesy of timurg

6) Reboot

7) Open NookColorTools and you will be able to select your keyboard. IF you keep getting a Force Close message, just dismiss, go back to system/apps and reinstall swype and force close should stop

8) Enjoy

I was also able to get this method to work with SlideIT keyboard.
Last edited by alkemist80; 24th September 2012 at 03:15 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to alkemist80 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd September 2012, 09:12 PM |#8  
Varlokkur's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
So I installed swype beta, as well as nook tools... but when I try to enable swype in its app, it takes me to the default screen for co figuring the built in keyboard. The keyboard selection button in nook tools only lists the default option. Do I need to move the swype apk to system/apps ? If so, can anyone recommend a file manager that will allow me to access that dir without root?
Thanks!

Sent from my KFTT using xda premium
22nd September 2012, 10:11 PM |#9  
Member
Flag North Potomac, MD
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Yes, you have to move apk to the system folder. And no, you can't do this without root.

Sent from my KFHD
22nd September 2012, 10:29 PM |#10  
alkemist80's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pineapple under the sea
Thanks Meter: 69
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by timurg

Yes, you have to move apk to the system folder. And no, you can't do this without root.

Sent from my KFHD

I did a few installs of swype trying to figure out the cleanest install, as you don't need to move any lib files in your linked post and even though it appeared all the files were removed for another clean install, it still showed up without being in my system/app folder. I will fix my post.
Last edited by alkemist80; 22nd September 2012 at 10:48 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes