FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Any tips on how to install swype beta?

30 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By Varlokkur, Member on 21st September 2012, 05:41 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
27th September 2012, 10:07 PM |#11  
Varlokkur's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Swype Beta has closed
So I rooted my device in order to try again to get Swype installed. I followed your instructions, however immediately after enabling Swype Beta in the Nook color tools, I get a message that Swype Beta has closed. This repeats every few seconds. Is this the force close error you mentioned? What do you mean by "go back to system/apps and reinstall swype"? I tried deleting the swype-input apk from system/apps and reinstalling the swype beta apk, but it led to the same result. Any advice?
 
 
27th September 2012, 10:13 PM |#12  
Varlokkur's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Nevermind -- figured it out
OK, so I tried moving the *installer* apk to system/app (using RootExplorer), then launching said apk (using file expert). Enabled swype in nook color tools and now it's working! hurray!
29th September 2012, 03:13 PM |#13  
Melodycd's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
More
So, I did install Swype and several other keyboards to check. They all work good in portrait mode. But in landscape mode, the navigation bar closes a part of keyboard. The same happens to all keyboards I tried: Swype, Go keyboard, Swift keyboard. Did Anybody had the same problem?
29th September 2012, 04:23 PM |#14  
Member
Flag North Potomac, MD
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melodycd

So, I did install Swype and several other keyboards to check. They all work good in portrait mode. But in landscape mode, the navigation bar closes a part of keyboard. The same happens to all keyboards I tried: Swype, Go keyboard, Swift keyboard. Did Anybody had the same problem?

Yes, I have the same problem. As a partial solution - Smart Keyboard Pro has an option to show arrows on the left edge, so the navigational panel closes arrows and not interferes with the letter block of keyboard.
The Following User Says Thank You to timurg For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st October 2012, 03:51 PM |#15  
Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Swype Default from Swype Installer
Got it installed thanks for the tips! The odd thing is when I downloaded the Swype installer and installed it, it gave me the option right from the Swype page to set as default keyboard and set preferences. I installed Nook Tools before I downloaded Swype (I obviously can't follow directions), but didn't need to go into it to set the keyboard. Like I said the option to set as default keyboard was in the Swype installer app. Works great - vastly improves my chances of sticking with the KFHD!

I have only tried it in Portrait mode, so can't comment on the Landscape issues (I use my KFHD in Portrait mode about 90% of the time).
Last edited by no99sqrd; 1st October 2012 at 03:53 PM.
27th October 2012, 09:24 AM |#16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by alkemist80

I am revising this post on how I got swype beta installed and working on KFHD, the original KF method is not working since amazon locked out the ability to swap keyboards. This requires your device to be rooted

1) Sign up for Swype Beta on their website and download their installer on your KFHD.

2) Install the Installer APK and Log in

3) Select your Beta version and download

4) Install swype

5) Go to data/apps and move swype apk to system/apps and make sure permissions are rw-r-r

6) Install NookColorTools_0.2.apk found here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=868366 Link courtesy of timurg

6) Reboot

7) Open NookColorTools and you will be able to select your keyboard. IF you keep getting a Force Close message, just dismiss, go back to system/apps and reinstall swype and force close should stop

8) Enjoy

I was also able to get this method to work with SlideIT keyboard.

Worked perfectly for me, thank you.
30th October 2012, 11:24 AM |#17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by timurg

Successfuly installed Smart keyboard pro using method described here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1369205

Sent from my KFHD rooted

Registered just to say THANK YOU!
1st November 2012, 04:12 PM |#18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
It all worked perfectly for me, thank you!

Anyone worked out how to fix the hidden part of the keyboard in landscape view?

Thanks![COLOR="Silver"]
Last edited by wrexhamafc; 1st November 2012 at 04:17 PM.
20th November 2012, 10:50 PM |#19  
jacewt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
I got Swype working by installing it then using titanium backup to convert it to system app. I then used nook color tools to choose it as the keyboard. No problems. Well, except for the landscape issue.

Sent from my KFTT using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to jacewt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st December 2012, 04:51 PM |#20  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Varlokkur

So I rooted my device in order to try again to get Swype installed. I followed your instructions, however immediately after enabling Swype Beta in the Nook color tools, I get a message that Swype Beta has closed. This repeats every few seconds. Is this the force close error you mentioned? What do you mean by "go back to system/apps and reinstall swype"? I tried deleting the swype-input apk from system/apps and reinstalling the swype beta apk, but it led to the same result. Any advice?

The same on me with Perfect keyboard.
With all steps repeated 10 times ... after first FC reinstall Perfect KBD from system/app. Everithing is OK till next reboot....again FC.

Last time I have tried to copy so lib in system/lib, but no progres - after restart the result is FC.
20th February 2013, 11:24 PM |#21  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokonai

The same on me with Perfect keyboard.
With all steps repeated 10 times ... after first FC reinstall Perfect KBD from system/app. Everithing is OK till next reboot....again FC.

Yeah, I had the same thing following the instructions with Swype. It worked great until I rebooted, and now it's cycling FC every 10 seconds or so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrexhamafc

Anyone worked out how to fix the hidden part of the keyboard in landscape view?

Well, yes, for the short time I had it working...
You can hide the button bar and use an app like Button Savior to make them accessible on the main part of the screen. See http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...56&postcount=3

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes