Post Reply

Shutdown & Restart on Right Click ...

OP SkyKOG

21st September 2012, 06:55 PM   |  #1  
SkyKOG's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag India
Thanks Meter: 142
 
145 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Well copy this in notepad and save as a .reg file on execution u'll get right Shutdown, Restart, Lock & Sleep in your right click context menu ... avoiding the long hassle of going to the charms bar ....



Flyout Version ...



Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Lock Computer]
"icon"="shell32.dll,-325"
"Position"="Bottom"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Sleep Computer]
"icon"="shell32.dll,-331"
"Position"="Bottom"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Restart Computer]
"icon"="shell32.dll,-221"
"Position"="Bottom"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Shutdown Computer]
"icon"="shell32.dll,-329"
"Position"="Bottom"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Lock Computer\command]
@="Rundll32 User32.dll,LockWorkStation"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Sleep Computer\command]
@="rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,SetSuspendState 0,1,0"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Restart Computer\command]
@="shutdown.exe -r -t 00 -f"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Shutdown Computer\command]
@="shutdown.exe -s -t 00 -f"
PS : Attached the .reg file too for lazy ppl :P ...
Hope i could help ...

Update : Added Sleep And Lock Options ... And Flyout Version(Credits : Vishal & Leomate)

Regards
Attached Files
File Type: rar teh file.rar - [Click for QR Code] (359 Bytes, 5210 views)
File Type: zip Turn Off Flyout.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.2 KB, 4114 views)
File Type: rar teh file remover.rar - [Click for QR Code] (223 Bytes, 3923 views)
Last edited by SkyKOG; 19th October 2012 at 04:51 PM. Reason: Added "teh file remover" to remove effects of "teh file" :)
The Following 101 Users Say Thank You to SkyKOG For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st September 2012, 07:48 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
310 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
dude you rock! At last no more charm bar!
The Following User Says Thank You to duk3r For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st September 2012, 11:43 PM   |  #3  
SkyKOG's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag India
Thanks Meter: 142
 
145 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by duk3r

dude you rock! At last no more charm bar!

Glad u liked ...
The Following User Says Thank You to SkyKOG For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd September 2012, 08:17 AM   |  #4  
TotalD3str4ct's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Is it possible to put these into the menu that appears by right clicking in the bottom left corner?
23rd September 2012, 07:09 PM   |  #5  
SkyKOG's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag India
Thanks Meter: 142
 
145 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by TotalD3str4ct

Is it possible to put these into the menu that appears by right clicking in the bottom left corner?

Umm ... this is much simple i felt as u can right click conveniently anywhere on the desktop and switch off ...no need for the long process of going through the charms bar or even the metro tiles ...
25th September 2012, 01:14 PM   |  #6  
the_scotsman's Avatar
Assistant Forum Admin / Moderator Committee / Haggis Muncher
Flag NSW, Australia
Thanks Meter: 9,427
 
10
23,469 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
Donate to Me
More
Great work! Thanks for this!
The Following User Says Thank You to the_scotsman For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th September 2012, 11:12 PM   |  #7  
SkyKOG's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag India
Thanks Meter: 142
 
145 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_scotsman

Great work! Thanks for this!

Glad u liked sir ...

Sent from my MB525 using xda premium
4th October 2012, 08:07 PM   |  #8  
jotha's Avatar
Recognized Themer / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Bavaria, close to Munich
Thanks Meter: 7,728
 
4,685 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TotalD3str4ct

Is it possible to put these into the menu that appears by right clicking in the bottom left corner?

Though it is possible in principle, it is much more complicated. I read a tutorial somewhere how to add things in that menu, but somehow windows checks some checksums on that menu on every start and it's really hard to put smth there. If you are interested in that topic, google for it. You probably will find a how-to. But be warned, you are in for a treat .
4th October 2012, 09:06 PM   |  #9  
drziddo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
448 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Thank you so much for this.
4th October 2012, 09:24 PM   |  #10  
whitexp's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rio De Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 3,118
 
932 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
thankyou very much

The Following User Says Thank You to whitexp For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Windows 8 Development and Hacking by ThreadRank