5,599,911 Members 46,329 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[REF] [GUIDE] Welcome to your device, the Galaxy S III

Tip us?
 
jtl_777
Old
#21  
jtl_777's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 81
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: ATL
Question Still have a yellow triangle!

Hey I did these steps to the T and I am completely stock rom and recovery without root and triangle away worked but I have one problem... okay when you use triangle away it sets your counter back to 0... but when you flash the stock rom via odin doesn't it trip the counter again? now I dont have root anymore and when I go into download mode there is still a yellow triangle. However in settings > about device it no longer says system modified, it says Normal.. Is the triangle in download mode the triangle that alerts Samsung of a hardware flash or is it a warning for us that says not to load one cause its dangerous? Thanks
 
Exel
Old
#22  
Exel's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1302
Posts: 2,862
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtl_777 View Post
Hey I did these steps to the T and I am completely stock rom and recovery without root and triangle away worked but I have one problem... okay when you use triangle away it sets your counter back to 0... but when you flash the stock rom via odin doesn't it trip the counter again? now I dont have root anymore and when I go into download mode there is still a yellow triangle. However in settings > about device it no longer says system modified, it says Normal.. Is the triangle in download mode the triangle that alerts Samsung of a hardware flash or is it a warning for us that says not to load one cause its dangerous? Thanks
If you want root and keep your counter at 0, flash this using ODIN: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1771687

Flashing a pure stock ROM that was officially released by Samsung does not trip the counter.

Download mode is suppose to have a little triangle, our devices don't have the triangle that shows it's modified, it's only the counter.

The counter is used by Samsung in case your phone ever gets messed up and you want to send it to warranty, they can void your warranty because the counter has been tripped.
||Phone: Google Nexus 5 (Hammerhead)
||Additional Memory: None
||ROM: Android 4.4 KitKat
||Kernel: Nexus 5 Faux Kernel

Tablet: ASUS Nexus 7 16GB||
Additional Memory: None||
ROM: CM10.2 Nightlies||
Kernel: Stock Tweaked||
 
jtl_777
Old
#23  
jtl_777's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 81
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: ATL
Quote:
Originally Posted by theexel View Post
If you want root and keep your counter at 0, flash this using ODIN: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1771687

Flashing a pure stock ROM that was officially released by Samsung does not trip the counter.

Download mode is suppose to have a little triangle, our devices don't have the triangle that shows it's modified, it's only the counter.

The counter is used by Samsung in case your phone ever gets messed up and you want to send it to warranty, they can void your warranty because the counter has been tripped.
Okay so I'm safe. I used triangle away to reset my counter, wiped my custom rom, flashed the original stock firmware and recovery so now I'm good? sorry for just restating what you said haha I just want to clarify.
 
Exel
Old
#24  
Exel's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1302
Posts: 2,862
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern California
Flashed the original stock firmware, meaning you used ODIN to do so, right?

How did you flash your recovery? Rom Mananger or via ODIN?
||Phone: Google Nexus 5 (Hammerhead)
||Additional Memory: None
||ROM: Android 4.4 KitKat
||Kernel: Nexus 5 Faux Kernel

Tablet: ASUS Nexus 7 16GB||
Additional Memory: None||
ROM: CM10.2 Nightlies||
Kernel: Stock Tweaked||
 
theindywilsons
Old
#25  
theindywilsons's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 150
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Indianapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Nice

I like this post, very helpful information, may need to reference someone to this later.
 
jtl_777
Old
#26  
jtl_777's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 81
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: ATL
Quote:
Originally Posted by theexel View Post
Flashed the original stock firmware, meaning you used ODIN to do so, right?

How did you flash your recovery? Rom Mananger or via ODIN?
It was the stock recovery so I think Odin..
 
rage913
Old
#27  
rage913's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 357
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Florida
I know that this might see might seem kind of dumb, but I was curious as to times waiting between a copy/paste of your clockwork Mod data. Im moving the whole folder over to my personal hd and its taking for freaking ever. I was curious if this is A. Normal and B. if there is just one simple file i need to back up every time i want to flash a new Rom? Ive already moved my titanium backup over so im set on my apps, but I want to make sure ive got all my bases covered. thanks guys
 
Exel
Old
#28  
Exel's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1302
Posts: 2,862
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by rage913 View Post
I know that this might see might seem kind of dumb, but I was curious as to times waiting between a copy/paste of your clockwork Mod data. Im moving the whole folder over to my personal hd and its taking for freaking ever. I was curious if this is A. Normal and B. if there is just one simple file i need to back up every time i want to flash a new Rom? Ive already moved my titanium backup over so im set on my apps, but I want to make sure ive got all my bases covered. thanks guys
Did you make a NANDROID backup? Is that what you're transfering to your desktop?
If not, there's no real need to backup your clockworkmod folder/data.

Things suggested to backup:
NANDROID (Full backup of your ROM, including /system and /data)
Titanium Backup (For apps) (Not suggested if you're going to a completely different based ROM)
Full NV Backup (Holds your IMEI, IMSI, Data settings and much more!)

Not sure what else?
||Phone: Google Nexus 5 (Hammerhead)
||Additional Memory: None
||ROM: Android 4.4 KitKat
||Kernel: Nexus 5 Faux Kernel

Tablet: ASUS Nexus 7 16GB||
Additional Memory: None||
ROM: CM10.2 Nightlies||
Kernel: Stock Tweaked||
The Following User Says Thank You to Exel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rage913
Old
#29  
rage913's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 357
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Florida
So all I need to do is go into my internal> clockworkmod> backup> then my latest back up (named it ICS October 23 I'm still stock) and that's the only thing I need? I have my TiB folder moved and linked to my Dropbox. So I'm good on that front. As far as the Imie I don't know how to back that up? Where would I go about doing that? Going back to a really nooby question. Go into recovery mode >backup/restore> backup to do a nandroid of the current rom correct? And that should be like the first thing once a rom is flashed and stable? Thanks guys. Appreciate it.
Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
Device: Galaxy S3
Carrier: T-Mobile
Rom: LiquidSmooth 2.9
Kernal: KT747 + TK Mod 2.4
 
Woody
Old
#30  
Woody's Avatar
Moderator & RC/RT Committees - Particle Physics Gives me a Hadron
Thanks Meter 7586
Posts: 6,154
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Immersed in Dark Matter
Quote:
Originally Posted by rage913 View Post
So all I need to do is go into my internal> clockworkmod> backup> then my latest back up (named it ICS October 23 I'm still stock) and that's the only thing I need?
Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by rage913 View Post
As far as the Imie I don't know how to back that up? Where would I go about doing that?
You can find info re: IMEI here

Quote:
Originally Posted by rage913 View Post
Going back to a really nooby question. Go into recovery mode >backup/restore> backup to do a nandroid of the current rom correct?
Correct
<a href=http://www.whiskey103.nl/x/sigs/Woody6_15fps.gif target=_blank rel=nofollow >http://www.whiskey103.nl/x/sigs/Woody6_15fps.gif</a>
ZFFZ

I GPL I

"The work of men of genius, however wrongly directed, hardly ever fails to open the eyes of men to new possibilities."
- Dr. Victor Frankenstein (Mary Shelley)

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Woody For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes