Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] [Help] Connecting with ADB

OP Koumajutsu

24th September 2012, 09:04 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Riverside, California
Thanks Meter: 8
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Has anyone figured out how to connect to their Note with ADB yet?
I turned on debugging but the darn thing still doesn't show up in the devices list.
For reference, I'm using the cable that came with the Note and I can transfer files successfully
25th September 2012, 01:14 AM   |  #2  
demandarin's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Alexandria, Va
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
6,980 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Have you installed proper drivers or the Android SDK? If you get Android SDK for your pc, make sure open up the manager in there. Then download platform tools and tools. It should give you needed drivers and support for ADB & Fastboot(not sure if Samsung uses it).

Or you might be able to use Odin to do whatever you trying to do with ADB. Not sure though. Depends on what you trying to do.
The Following User Says Thank You to demandarin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th September 2012, 05:50 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Riverside, California
Thanks Meter: 8
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by demandarin

Have you installed proper drivers or the Android SDK? If you get Android SDK for your pc, make sure open up the manager in there. Then download platform tools and tools. It should give you needed drivers and support for ADB & Fastboot(not sure if Samsung uses it).

Or you might be able to use Odin to do whatever you trying to do with ADB. Not sure though. Depends on what you trying to do.

I'm trying to play with some app deving, I like the logcat tools Eclipse provides.
I'm also trying to play with sqlite,

I updated my SDK to have the ICS and JB API's, I didn't think that ADB would have been significantly different than the honeycomb one I was using with my GB phone. I'll give it another try when I get back to my office on Thursday. I figured either I was doing something wrong, or I had something wrong on my Note when my Prevail works.

Thanks for the help
28th September 2012, 08:15 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Flag Riverside, California
Thanks Meter: 8
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Well, I updated everything, made sure I have the latest ADB executable and dll's and still can't get it to work.

I have no idea what I'm doing wrong.
I can connect to my phone just fine, pull logcats, install test builds of APKs with Eclipse, everything.

My Note just doesn't show in the device list. I've made sure that adbd is a running service on the Note. Should I be using a different cable from the one that came with the system?

In case it matters, the only things I've done are to install CWM recovery and rooted using this method: rootgalaxynote.com/galaxy-note-10-1-root/how-to-root-galaxy-note-10-1-easiest-methodcwmmethod-2/
7th October 2012, 04:54 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Riverside, California
Thanks Meter: 8
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Well, turns out I'm a complete idiot.

It helps to have the latest samsung drivers installed

I had given up on getting it to work, then installed Kies to do an update.....
once it installed new drivers, my Note suddenly started showing up in ADB's device list.
Here I thought I already had the latest drivers

I feel like such an idiot
Last edited by Koumajutsu; 8th October 2012 at 02:13 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes