MX Player Ready to Rock on Lollipop

A good video player should be reliable and free. One of the XDA Community Apps, MX Player, meets both of … more

How to Disable Data Encryption on Nexus 6

In late September, Google decided to step on NSA’s toes and turn on encryption by default in … more

DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ Review – XDA TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about gifts now? Youll be ahead … more

Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Best OS for Vibrant?

OP djolam

25th September 2012, 02:51 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Hey forum,

I got my old Vibrant replaced with refurb and wanted to try something new so I went back to stock and then installed ICS by passion. However, this has been nothing but a headache because the phone is very laggy.

Since the phone is for my wife and she doesn't give a rip what's on it, I figured I'd go back to froyo but remember the GPS still causing me issues and she relies on it pretty heavily for her business.

I read a few threads that Nero by team whiskey was good but all the links i've found are dead and so TW's main domain.

What is the most stable and easy version I can put back on her phone that actually has a working GPS? Also, I'm a straight up noob at most of this even though I have over 15 years of corporate level IT experience. I feel like I'm just starting over trying to learn all the stuff one can do with Android phones. so please, if you have links that work, feel free to post.

Thanks!
Jeremy
25th September 2012, 05:21 AM   |  #2  
ToStymiedBoar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
370 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by djolam

Hey forum,

I got my old Vibrant replaced with refurb and wanted to try something new so I went back to stock and then installed ICS by passion. However, this has been nothing but a headache because the phone is very laggy.

Since the phone is for my wife and she doesn't give a rip what's on it, I figured I'd go back to froyo but remember the GPS still causing me issues and she relies on it pretty heavily for her business.

I read a few threads that Nero by team whiskey was good but all the links i've found are dead and so TW's main domain.

What is the most stable and easy version I can put back on her phone that actually has a working GPS? Also, I'm a straight up noob at most of this even though I have over 15 years of corporate level IT experience. I feel like I'm just starting over trying to learn all the stuff one can do with Android phones. so please, if you have links that work, feel free to post.

Thanks!
Jeremy

Try Helly Bean along with the V6 Supercharger.
There's only one place I get lag and that is when intializing Google Now the new feature in JB.
Last edited by ToStymiedBoar; 25th September 2012 at 05:34 AM.
25th September 2012, 05:49 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 769
 
2,935 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Android is the only OS the Vibrant run right now that I know of, but I wouldn't mind trying out other linux OS on it.

To answer your question, I use SlimRom on all my devices I have and had. I found CyanogenMod 7 and SlimICS gets better GPS signal. SlimBean can get signal, but tend to be slower but I expect it to improve over time. With my Vibrant, without doing the "hardware GPS fix" its impossible to get any GPS signal.
Last edited by eksasol; 25th September 2012 at 05:53 AM.
25th September 2012, 07:12 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by eksasol

Android is the only OS the Vibrant run right now that I know of, but I wouldn't mind trying out other linux OS on it.

To answer your question, I use SlimRom on all my devices I have and had. I found CyanogenMod 7 and SlimICS gets better GPS signal. SlimBean can get signal, but tend to be slower but I expect it to improve over time. With my Vibrant, without doing the "hardware GPS fix" its impossible to get any GPS signal.

Thank you! I guess my question should have been stated, which Android version runs best on the Vibrant.

I'm trying to keep her phone as stock as possible. So far I went back to stock and then updated to FROYO 2.2 and rooted it just for a few apps. I have noticed that my system/xbin is full which caused me issues installing busybox. It finally installed but I'm still showing 0 space in that folder. Is this normal or did I forget something when going to back to stock?
25th September 2012, 01:43 PM   |  #5  
ToStymiedBoar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
370 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by djolam

Thank you! I guess my question should have been stated, which Android version runs best on the Vibrant.

I'm trying to keep her phone as stock as possible. So far I went back to stock and then updated to FROYO 2.2 and rooted it just for a few apps. I have noticed that my system/xbin is full which caused me issues installing busybox. It finally installed but I'm still showing 0 space in that folder. Is this normal or did I forget something when going to back to stock?

I didn't stay on Froyo long enough to tell what the partitioning looked like but on CM10/JB it was changed. I use JB as my daily driver. Like others my GPS is for the most part none functional. This is not the fault of the ROM but hardware design. When I get industrious I will fix it. More likely I will upgrade by then.
25th September 2012, 03:50 PM   |  #6  
samsgun357's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,377
 
2,593 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by djolam

Thank you! I guess my question should have been stated, which Android version runs best on the Vibrant.

I'm trying to keep her phone as stock as possible. So far I went back to stock and then updated to FROYO 2.2 and rooted it just for a few apps. I have noticed that my system/xbin is full which caused me issues installing busybox. It finally installed but I'm still showing 0 space in that folder. Is this normal or did I forget something when going to back to stock?

I'm not sure why this happens but I also saw this on froyo.

sent from the depths of helly bean
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes