Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[a700] Jelly Bean (4.1.1) OTA Update just arrived

OP Mickey0815

27th September 2012, 11:10 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Hello everyone!

I just got the Jelly Bean update on a german ACER a700

Build: ACER_AV051_A700_1.028.00_EMEA_DE
Image: ACER_AV051_A700_RV09RC02_EMEA_DE

Have fun!

Mickey
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20120927_104350.jpg
Views:	1566
Size:	121.0 KB
ID:	1358324  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mickey0815 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th September 2012, 12:38 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey0815

Hello everyone!

I just got the Jelly Bean update on a german ACER a700
......
Have fun!

Mickey

Have just pulled the update down my self, and the installation seemed to go well. The update has resulted in the following error: “Unfortunately, VirusScan Mobile has stopped.”, and with the options “Report” and “OK”. Regardless of pressing send or OK, the same pop-up appears half a second later. Power of and on have not help.

I don’t know what to do right now to get rid of the problem. The device is useless right now.

If you think about upgrading, I would think twice before jumping into the update. Might be better to wait until more success stories appears

BR Steen

Update: Acer Denmark was not able to help (unless I would return it). I succeded in getting into the settigns menu and killed the VirusScan Mobile, so I am able to use it for now (until I have to reboot it )
Last edited by steen-p; 27th September 2012 at 01:06 PM.
27th September 2012, 01:03 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by steen-p

Have just pulled the update down my self, and the installation seemed to go well. The update has resulted in the following error: “Unfortunately, VirusScan Mobile has stopped.”, and with the options “Report” and “OK”. Regardless of pressing send or OK, the same pop-up appears half a second later. Power of and on have not help.

I don’t know what to do right now to get rid of the problem. The device is useless right now.

If you think about upgrading, I would think twice before jumping into the update. Might be better to wait until more success stories appears

BR Steen

Ive had the same Problem.
With a taskkiller i have killed the app temp. and then i have erase the Data from Virusmobile in the Setup->Apps.
Until now no Popup.
But i don't konw if the Virusmobile is still running.
The Following User Says Thank You to sj00 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th September 2012, 03:07 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2004
Calendar issue
The calendar keeps forgetting what calendar/calendars have be selected for viewing.

BR Steen
27th September 2012, 04:53 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Frankfurt
Thanks Meter: 3
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Also just installed it - Mobile Virusscan was a bit annoying to stop because the FC message pops up in the foreground like every second, leaving you unable to proceed, so you gotta be quick to get into app control...
I deactivated it and switched to Avast! which I already have on my SGS2 and am quite happy with.

That done I must say I'm a bit disappointed performancewise, I don't really have the feeling it got any faster or more fluid.
27th September 2012, 06:54 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
195 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
I had the A700 EMEA_DE but when check for update it say your device is up-to-date
How you got the update can anyone please upload the update zip file?
27th September 2012, 09:08 PM   |  #7  
TomONeill's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Breezand
Thanks Meter: 41
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
Awesome! I also got the update, but will this wipe all my current apps and stuff?

Edit:
I read after searching (hehe, sorry, replied too quick), that OTA updates never wipe the installed apps and data. It only updates system related stuff.

Edit2:
Phew, download is SLOW!
Edit3: Sorry, it's not slow, it's fast, but the tablet was almost out of range of the router.
Last edited by TomONeill; 27th September 2012 at 10:33 PM.
27th September 2012, 10:16 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I got the update too in Germany.

My download was quite fast though. No it doesn't change anything in your userdata.Apps and settings are the same.

For me it seems much smoother in the first 5 minutes i checked it out.

Big improvement as far as i could see.
27th September 2012, 10:19 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Someone knows what about the A701?

Sent from my A701 using xda app-developers app
27th September 2012, 10:53 PM   |  #10  
DЯΦiDi@П's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Nice surprise

Unluckily when I start a manual search for updates, I get the following error meaasge: "System update is not allowed on your device".

Haven't tried it before, because there was nothing to search for. I think it's due to rooting the device, right?

I used method 2 from this post.

Any ideas how to get the update working?

------------------------------

With temp unroot from OTA RootKeeper I can manage to search for an update, but there seems to be nothing available for my device until now.
(Installing might fail anyway due to the patched kernel.)
Last edited by DЯΦiDi@П; 27th September 2012 at 11:35 PM. Reason: added Info

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes