Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,313 Members 49,870 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HTC Rezound Stuck on HTC boot screen, HELP PLEASE!

Tip us?
 
kverduin
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Sep 2012
Phone HTC Rezound Stuck on HTC boot screen, HELP PLEASE!

so i went to switch out my battery and when i turned the phone back on it vibrated and displayed the white htc screen, then went black for a second and then stays on the white htc screen forever! Im a total noob when it comes to all the technical stuff about RUU's Kernels Roms and whatnot. I can get to bootloader, but i tried to do factory reset and it showed a green circle with a loading bar but then it changed into a red triangle with an exclamation. I tried flashing amon ra recovery but it doesnt work, although TWRP works. While in TWRP though, whenever i try to flash a zip file, it fails and says something like E:failed to mount /cache E:failed to mount /system E:failed to mount /data. Please help me i need this phone working to help me at my job. If someone can walk me through what i need to do i would REALLLYYYY appreciate it. Like i said though, i am a noob so i need realy stupified instructions lol. Thanks
 
kverduin
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Sep 2012
just wanted to note that right now when i go to bootloader it says
*** TAMPERED ***
*** RELOCKED ***
*** Security Warning ***
Vigor PVT SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-2.25.0000
RADIO-1.22.10.0421r/1.22.10.0424r
OpenDSP-v13.6.0.7611.00.0104
eMMC-boot
 
molson8045
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 37
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kverduin View Post
just wanted to note that right now when i go to bootloader it says
*** TAMPERED ***
*** RELOCKED ***
*** Security Warning ***
Vigor PVT SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-2.25.0000
RADIO-1.22.10.0421r/1.22.10.0424r
OpenDSP-v13.6.0.7611.00.0104
eMMC-boot
First you should go to shipped-roms.com and download the vigor ics ruu.exe, the rezound downloads there are under vigor . Plug your phone into your computer and from hboot highlight fastboot press power and run the .exe file from your computer and follow the on screen instructions, this will return your phone to full stock ics. Make sure you download the vigor ics ruu.exe as the GB ruu will not work with s-on.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to molson8045 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
famouscollin
Old
(Last edited by famouscollin; 28th September 2012 at 03:17 AM.)
#4  
famouscollin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 205
Posts: 624
Join Date: Jul 2012
You can also download this: http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/08...e-htc-rezound/ it's the latest ruu it'll update your hboot, stock recovery, rom, and radios, to latest stock. Just download, rename the zip file to PH98IMG (don't include .zip it is a zip file it'll add it on its own in hboot) put it on your sd card, not in a folder just on. Put it back in your phone and boot to bootloader and runn the update, when it powers off. Run it again. (As it has to update the hboot to 2.27 first)Then you'll be on the stock latest. Then root and Rom from there. Of you need help pm me for my gtalk and I could walk you thru it..

sent from my s-off reZound rockin' viperRez Rom on global ICS firmware
I always thank those that help me, please do the same

Phone:S-off HTC DNA
Rom: ViPEr DNA
Kernel: Linux 3.4.x
Latest radios and firmware
The Following User Says Thank You to famouscollin For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
RolloWolf
Old
#5  
RolloWolf's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,133
Posts: 4,976
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
DONATE TO ME
Sounds like no boot.img
S-Off thanks to Beaups and Sonic2756!


If I helped in any way, please hit the "Thanks" button!

Click here to check out my development page.
 
AshtonTS
Old
#6  
AshtonTS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,737
Posts: 5,712
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Woodstock, CT

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrayTheWolf View Post
Sounds like no boot.img
Its because of the security warning. The phone wont boot if it says that he has to run an RUU

Sent from my HTC Droid Incredible


ROM: CyanogenMod 10.2
Recovery: ClockworkMod Touch
Kernel: franko.Kernel
#BlameAnt

HTC Linkify | ADB/Fastboot for Mac | General Android Help | Cydia for Android

If I helped, please press the thanks button.
The Following User Says Thank You to AshtonTS For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
civydcex
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 74
Join Date: Oct 2012
Same exact problem. Installing zip now, god i hope this works!!
 
mrcorson
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2013
So my screen is the exact same, i tried to flash a kernal for not only wrong phone but wrong carrier too. Anyways no OS, when i try to flash either of the ways you have explained they both dont work. When i put it on the sd card as PH98IMG it looks like it loads it in the upper right then thats it. regular bootload screen after that nothing happens. try to load it by opening the application after im plugged in as fasboot usb and the program says Install script setup launcher has stopped working. I have been able to flash liquids rom and looks as if it is booting but waited 24 min and nothing happpend just stayed on boot screen. So im just trying to get back to RUU then work from there.
 
molson8045
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 37
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrcorson View Post
So my screen is the exact same, i tried to flash a kernal for not only wrong phone but wrong carrier too. Anyways no OS, when i try to flash either of the ways you have explained they both dont work. When i put it on the sd card as PH98IMG it looks like it loads it in the upper right then thats it. regular bootload screen after that nothing happens. try to load it by opening the application after im plugged in as fasboot usb and the program says Install script setup launcher has stopped working. I have been able to flash liquids rom and looks as if it is booting but waited 24 min and nothing happpend just stayed on boot screen. So im just trying to get back to RUU then work from there.
You need to extract the boot.IMG from liquid Rom and rename it ph98img and put that on your sd card or in the folder with adb and fastboot flash it using fastboot flash boot boot.img

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using xda app-developers app
 
REV3NT3CH
Old
#10  
REV3NT3CH's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,802
Posts: 2,132
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Oroville

 
DONATE TO ME
Also wipe cache and dalvik cache in recovery immediately after doing this

Sent from my P4R4N01D R3D D347H 4.3 using xda app-developers app
☢ LG G2 ☢
Rom: [4.4.4] LiquidSmooth v3.2 Kernel: NewBeta Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0
☢ SGS Relay 4g ☢
Rom: [4.4.4] [Official] LiquidSmooth v3.2 Kernel: B14CKB1RD v2.2 beta Recovery:TWRP 2.7.0.0
☢ HTC ReZound ☢
HBOOT: 2.28, Unlocked, S-Off, 2.23 radios Recovery: TWRP 2.7.0.0 (Masque Of The Red Death)

Donations are never expected but are greatly appreciated

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes