Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[How-To] Update to Jellybean if you're having problems with OTA

OP Protato

28th September 2012, 01:55 PM   |  #1  
Protato's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Brisbane
Thanks Meter: 22
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
So after trying multiple times to update my tablet an failing everytime. I checked the last_log file in /cache/recovery and found out that the reason the update was failing because I've deleted Netflix.apk from /system/app.
Since I did not backup the application I had no way to use the OTA, however after a few hours research I found out a method to completely restore the system to stock.

Part 1: Restoring Tablet to Stock
1. Download the system dump that matches your current software:
9.4.2.28
WW - http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/Eee...teLauncher.zip - MD5 - 68D41197B399967B7F6789E47683A0D7
US - http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/Eee...teLauncher.zip - MD5 - DF17D3129378E9A7F81C58AF7BF5396B
TW - http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/Eee...eLauncher.zip- MD5 - 3999B0E052211AA53ED1DB5D06A02AD3
2. Unzip the compressed firmware file to the root directory of a MicroSD card (external). Only extract this once so your sdcard should look something like this:
/MicroSD/US_epad-user-9.4.2.28.zip
3.With your Transformer turned on, insert the MicroSD into the MicroSD card slot.
4. An exclamation mark should appear in the notification area.
5. Tap the mark and proceed with the update.
6. Your tablet should now reboot and proceed to update the tablet, if you get an error try redownloading the update and trying again.

Part 2: Rooting your Tablet
Voodoo root keeper didn't save my root after part 1, so to root it I used Debugfs automated root:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1706588
After your tablet is rooted you should use OTA root keeper to backup your root.

Part 3: Manual Update to Jellybean
1.Download the dlpkgfile for your system, I uploaded the US file: <--------------- US ONLY don't try if your tablet is not on US firmware, it might brick
http://www.mediafire.com/?ddcl3k233kxsvv8
WW version dlpkgfile <--------------- WW ONLY don't try if your tablet is not on WW firmware, it might brick
The WW update file (thanks for kikistans for uploading):
http://dropbox.com/s/uiui6ha6hrg2mg1/dlpkgfile
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?kzr30e1vufbgee9

2. Place the dlpkgfile on your tablet's storage, MAKE SURE THE dlpkgfile does not have a .zip extension, the file has no extension!
3. Download ES File manager and go to settings>root settings and tick all the boxes.
4. Copy dlpkgfile to /cache
5. Go to /cache/recovery and create a new file named command
6. Open the file as a text and place the following code in it and save:
--update_package=/cache/dlpkgfile
7. Turn off the tablet
8. Press and hold volume down+power until the tablet vibrates then release power and keep holding volume down
9 When a text shows on the boot logo screen release volume down and click volume up
10. The tablet should now start updating, it'll take about 30 minutes and once the tablet boots you'll have jellybean
11. Restore root with root keeper

This method should work for everyone with a locked bootloader

Edit:
Sorry I've been busy, it seems like some people are missing 3 files, follow this thread if you're missing those files:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1909820
Also some people are reporting that their tablet is get bricked, MAKE SURE THAT YOU'RE USING THE RIGHT FIRMWARE UPGRADE
new-tilus has reported that this method worked for his stock unlocked tablet.
Last edited by Protato; 30th September 2012 at 08:04 AM.
The Following 22 Users Say Thank You to Protato For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th September 2012, 02:13 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
156 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
I used the last part more our less. Ota rootkeeper claims I have root. But I don't. Photocopier still keeps root access, but I cannot gain any new root access.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
28th September 2012, 02:47 PM   |  #3  
lukcinek's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
It doesnt work for me. Im on .28 stock WW version. It starts but then appears android with red trangle
28th September 2012, 02:48 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukcinek

It doesnt work for me. Im on .28 stock WW version. It starts but then appears android with red trangle

Same here, no success for me either...
28th September 2012, 03:14 PM   |  #5  
ridikolous's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 145
 
747 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Didn't work

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using xda premium
28th September 2012, 03:34 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Pune
Thanks Meter: 14
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Do we really need to go thru the hardship? Isn't ASUS going to fix it?
The Following User Says Thank You to sly.cooper For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th September 2012, 03:41 PM   |  #7  
pandaball's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,667
 
2,393 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
I think it must be noted that the OTA update for a WW variant will not work on a US variant, a DE will not work on TW and so on. The SKU for the OTA must match the SKU of the Prime in question.
28th September 2012, 03:42 PM   |  #8  
lukcinek's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
It works. It doesnt befor becouse I didnt delete .bin from name of the file
28th September 2012, 03:50 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Duluth
Thanks Meter: 105
 
1,056 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Uh, fix what? ASUS is in the business of doing firmware updates for stock + unlocked devices.
28th September 2012, 04:13 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
521 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spidey01

Uh, fix what? ASUS is in the business of doing firmware updates for stock + unlocked devices.

It seems to work here, I did exactly what "Protato" wrote and it's been loading the new JB for more than 10 minutes and no triangle yet

It worked I am on JB 4.1.1, forllow the instructions "literally" and it will work!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes