Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,310 Members 45,259 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[How to] Unbrick after failed JB OTA or to just re-flash JB

Tip us?
 
aznmode
Old
(Last edited by aznmode; 3rd October 2012 at 02:49 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 758
Posts: 4,019
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default [How to] Unbrick after failed JB OTA or to just re-flash JB

Guys first off this is not my work and have been digging around for answers. I had recently soft bricked my TF201 after OTA and my tablet gets stuck at the Asus logo. Finally found a fix. You will however lose root and I believe will factory reset the device but you dont need to be unlocked for this to work.

* you need fastboot access (see step 5) for this to work unfortunately

Got the instruction here on how to restore tf300 back to stock. It works the same for our tf201. Please thank Auliyaa for creating this.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1757077

Got the adb and fastboot from here and followed the instructions on how to install and use. I put the fast boot files in: C\android
http://dottech.org/21534/how-to-inst...android-phone/

Luckily JB has been posted today on asus website so grab it there. Extract it and get the blob. Copy the blob to wherever you have the fastboot files. In my case C:\android
http://support.asus.com/Download.asp...F201&p=20&s=16

This is the instrucion by Auliyaa from the first link. Updated some of the links to reflect the tf201. Some are repeats of above instructions so if it gets confusing I will edit. I'm going to post in that thread that this works on the tf201 as well.
  1. Download the stock ROM zip file on (updated)Asus Website. Be sure to download the firmware matching your SKU.
  2. Unzip the downloaded file, you will get another zip, unzip this one too
  3. You should end up with a folder and a file, with one of them called blob
  4. For the next step, you will need to install the Android SDK to get the fastboot utility. (updated) Here
  5. Once you have installed fastboot, boot your tablet into fastboot mode (Plugin your tablet on your computer's USB, Hold down Power+VolDown, dont press VolUp when prompted, select the USB icon and press VolUp)
  6. Open a command line terminal and navigate to the folder containing the blob and fastboot files.
  7. Then type the following command:

    fastboot -i 0x0B05 flash system blob

    After write completion then just type the following command to reboot your tablet:

    fastboot -i 0x0B05 reboot



That's it! I almost sent her off yesterday to Asus and kinda glad I waited. Thanks to Auliyaa for his method! I love xda!
Don't forget to give thanks if I've helped you in anyway...
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to aznmode For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
T-HO6969
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2012
By the directory where the fastboot files are do you mean the C\ directory(Android Folder)?
Asus Transformer Prime 32gb - Amethyst Grey - RMA
Samsung Galaxy S III I747M 16gb - Pebble Blue - TbayTel/Rogers - Rooted on CM10 Monthly
 
aznmode
Old
(Last edited by aznmode; 2nd October 2012 at 10:04 PM.)
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 758
Posts: 4,019
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-HO6969 View Post
By the directory where the fastboot files are do you mean the C\ directory(Android Folder)?
You can put all the fastboot files into that directory along with the blob. Or any directory or folder you want to put the files into. And in command prompt you have to change directory to whichever folder you decided to put the files in.

For example. All the files I gathered from my 2nd link and the blob I put in C:\android. I created the android folder or you can create your own folder and name it whatever you want.

Don't forget to give thanks if I've helped you in anyway...
 
Antiflash
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quick question before I try it. Does this work if you were not unlock?. Mine was just an stock prime before getting bricked by the update.
 
aznmode
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 758
Posts: 4,019
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antiflash View Post
Quick question before I try it. Does this work if you were not unlock?. Mine was just an stock prime before getting bricked by the update.
I was only rooted and LOCKED as I didnt want to screw up my warranty. But rooted isnt required either.
Don't forget to give thanks if I've helped you in anyway...
 
aznmode
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 758
Posts: 4,019
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antiflash View Post
Quick question before I try it. Does this work if you were not unlock?. Mine was just an stock prime before getting bricked by the update.
I was not unlocked as I didnt want to screw up my warranty. But rooted isnt required either.
Don't forget to give thanks if I've helped you in anyway...
 
T-HO6969
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2012
Can't get into fastboot mode:/
Asus Transformer Prime 32gb - Amethyst Grey - RMA
Samsung Galaxy S III I747M 16gb - Pebble Blue - TbayTel/Rogers - Rooted on CM10 Monthly
 
Antiflash
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznmode View Post
I was not unlocked as I didnt want to screw up my warranty. But rooted isnt required either.
Sounds promising if unlocking is not required. I will try this tonight when I get home. I will probably have more newbie questions along the way because I'm pretty new to this procedures. Thanks a lot for putting this together and giving us some hope.
 
strabo100
Old
#9  
strabo100's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 87
Join Date: May 2011
Adb can't detect tablet and can't get to fastboot.

Sent from my GT-N8013 using xda premium
 
aznmode
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 758
Posts: 4,019
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by strabo100 View Post
Adb can't detect tablet and can't get to fastboot.

Sent from my GT-N8013 using xda premium
I don't think adb will work. Had the same issue. But mine was able to go to fastboot (try hold volume down then press reset hole). If you still dont have the 4 options (rck, android, USB fastboot, wipe) then you won't be able to do this procedure.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
Don't forget to give thanks if I've helped you in anyway...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Run, Jump, and Shoot in Tales of Ciaxia

There are certain types of games that have become paramount of the portable gaming world. As we have … more

Samsung Gear Live Stock Firmware Image Pulled, Temp Root

Just yesterday,XDA Recognized Developer and TV ProducerAdamOutlertore apart … more

Draw a Line and Let Your Device Do the Rest with LineitApp

Over the years, since evenbefore Android entered the scene, we have striven to … more

[APK] Chrome Beta 37 Brings First Traces of Material Design

With Android L on the horizon, it’s no surprise that Google’s … more