Post Reply

How To: Install Sony's New PlayStation Mobile For Android On Any Rooted Device

OP NOMIOMI

4th October 2012, 05:20 AM   |  #1  
NOMIOMI's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Abbottabad
Thanks Meter: 1,255
 
1,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Sony's PlayStation Mobile for Android just went live for certified devices last night. But what if you don't have a certified device, which so far includes only a number of Sony phones and tablets as well as the HTC One series? Heck, I have a One series device - the EVO LTE - but turns out it's not certified. That's just silly.
Not a problem - if you have root on your phone or tablet, getting the PSM (PlayStation Mobile) apk to work is a matter of pushing a few files it relies on to your /system directory and rebooting. Original credit goes to XxXPachaXxX - I used his work from a few months ago, took out some extra unnecessary Bravia engine stuff, and repacked it into a flashable zip for use with the PSM.
Here is PS Mobile running on my Nexus 7:



On the Nexus 7, I was able to play the free game and successfully tested a paid game called Fuel Tiracas. They both worked wonderfully. I also bought Samurai Beatdown, but for some reason it didn't install right (I tried 3 times but the download just said installation unsuccessful, hmmm).
Unfortunately, PSM crashes upon loading the store front on my EVO LTE. If you're not using a certified device, don't be surprised if it crashes on yours too - after all, it wasn't certified and, therefore, not tested.

HERE IS VIDEO FOR INSTALLING THE PSM



video BY Devicecustomizer

Step 1.
Download and install the latest PSM apk from Sony. I mirrored the current version, 1.0, here:
http://www.mediafire.com/?7wvag1n78y2a393
http://beta.androidfilehost.com/?fid...13915771290046
http://d-h.st/cyF
http://www.mirrorcreator.com/files/MAMYVY06/

If you try to run the PSM app now, you'll likely get this:


Step 2.
Download the flashable zip I packed from one of these mirrors:
http://beta.androidfilehost.com/?fid...13915771290047
http://www.mediafire.com/?sd2upzy00m1x5e6
http://d-h.st/hr8
http://www.mirrorcreator.com/files/1GZFXIM8/


Step 3.
Note: Just to be clear once again, you have to be rooted to install the helper files com.playstation.playstationcertified.jar and com.playstation.playstationcertified.xml. If you're not rooted yet, first figure out how to do so to your device and then come back.
Flash the zip from custom recovery, like ClockworkMod or TWRP. This relies on having busybox, which if you're rooted, you likely already do.
Alternatively, if you don't want to flash from recovery or just like to know what you're doing, you can perform the steps manually while booted into Android:
Unzip the zip file downloaded in step 2.
Copy playcertetcpermissionscom.playstation.playstationc ertified.xml to /system/etc/permissions/ on your device.
Copy playcertframeworkcom.playstation.playstationcertif ied.jar to /system/framework/ on your device.
Set the permissions on com.playstation.playstationcertified.jar to 644 (read/write, read, read) using your favorite file manager or command line.
Reboot.

At this point, PSM should work just fine and you should no longer see the error from Step 1. Go register for a Sony Entertainment Network account if you haven't yet and try playing some games.

https://account.sonyentertainmentnetwork.com/

Please report your successes and failures in the comments.


WORKING AND TESTED GALAXY S2 and S3 photon 4g

SOURCE
ANDROIDPOLICE
Last edited by NOMIOMI; 16th December 2012 at 03:11 PM.
The Following 146 Users Say Thank You to NOMIOMI For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th October 2012, 07:00 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
I'm on the Galaxy Nexus on JB and I'm getting "Unfortunately, PSM has stopped" after it finishes logging in and loads the main page.
The Following User Says Thank You to molesaied88 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th October 2012, 07:08 AM   |  #3  
NOMIOMI's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Abbottabad
Thanks Meter: 1,255
 
1,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
here are screen shots for galaxy s2
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot.jpg
Views:	13843
Size:	40.7 KB
ID:	1374517   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot1.jpg
Views:	13510
Size:	30.9 KB
ID:	1374519   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot2.jpg
Views:	13500
Size:	44.5 KB
ID:	1374520   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot3.jpg
Views:	12916
Size:	27.7 KB
ID:	1374521  
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to NOMIOMI For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th October 2012, 07:10 AM   |  #4  
Kameirus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Red Bluff, California
Thanks Meter: 2,270
 
5,807 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
this actually works on a hd2 runnng the rom in my sig
i can post some screenies if ya want
4th October 2012, 07:21 AM   |  #5  
NOMIOMI's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Abbottabad
Thanks Meter: 1,255
 
1,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
its work on both custom and stock rom

i have dual boot my sgs2 with Pranoid android jelly bean rom and stock sgs2 ics rom

and its work on both roms
The Following User Says Thank You to NOMIOMI For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th October 2012, 07:39 AM   |  #6  
Kameirus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Red Bluff, California
Thanks Meter: 2,270
 
5,807 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
here is 2 screenies of the klondike game from the arcade
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-1349332116439.jpg
Views:	11156
Size:	31.9 KB
ID:	1374553   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-1349332564387.jpg
Views:	10954
Size:	36.6 KB
ID:	1374554  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Kameirus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th October 2012, 07:51 AM   |  #7  
saifuddin's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
work on my Xperia X8....
4th October 2012, 08:19 AM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
everything goes smooth until i hit the homepage , it stays there for 5 seconds then crashes . am usin international SG3
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kazlow For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th October 2012, 09:02 AM   |  #9  
-pixelfreak-'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Glashütten
Thanks Meter: 3,098
 
1,974 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
re
works perfect on HD2 with my custom rom.

i think no problem with other custom rom´s

many thanks for this work

Pixelfreak
4th October 2012, 09:05 AM   |  #10  
butterbeanmash's Avatar
Member
Flag Chichester
Thanks Meter: 12
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
Working for me on my Scroll Extreme running CM9.
Thanks!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android General by ThreadRank