Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[SCRIPT]Automatic Porting![Windows and Linux][Works with all devices now!]

OP cpu999

9th October 2012, 04:07 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 607
 
528 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
I just wrote a script that would automatically port ANY carrier's gs3 roms to ANY other carrier's devices
So now u can use all the roms other carriers get
Let me know if there are any errors(not including not found errors)

THIS ON OMG! DROID
http://omgdroid.com/script-released-...rriers-device/


The future of this:
1. Ill add all the proprietary files from all the carriers so u dont have to have a base. DONE
2. UNIVERSAL ZIPS FOR ALL US GS3S THIS WILL TAKE A LONG TIME CUZ I HAVE TO LEARN HOW TO USE AROMA OR WRITE AN UPDATER-SCRIPT BUT IT WILL COME!!!(If anyone wants to teach me how to do those just pm me.) DONE BUT NOT GONNA RELEASE YET
3.Ability to automatically port ANY phones ROM to ANY other phone as long as they have the same dpi, manufacturer, and arm version. WORKING ON THIS. LEARNING PYTHON

How to use:

Linux:
1. download the rom u want to port and a rom on the SAME android version as the rom u want to port
2. unzip both of them and place both folders in the same folder
3. download the script and place it in the folder with the two rom folders
4. open a terminal and cd to the directory
5. run:
Code:
chmod +x portscript.sh
./portscript.sh
6. PROFIT

FOR WINDOWS I RECOMMEND CYGWIN AND THE LINUX VERSION. THE WINDOWS VERSION IS KINDA MESSED UP.


Windows(experimental):
1. download the rom u want to port and a rom on the SAME android version as the rom u want to port
2. unzip both of them and place both folders in the same folder
3. download the script and place it in the folder with the two rom folders
4. rename the rom you want to port's folder to port
5. double-click on portscript.bat
6. PROFIT

How to port rom from galaxy nexus or any other xhdpi armv7 samsung device:
1. inside ur base rom, open META-INF/com/google/android/updater-script as a text file and copy the mount points (like mount(/dev/block/mmcblk0p8, /system) you would copy /dev/blockmmcblk0p8)
2. Download script and do the porting procedure
3. open up the rom u are porting's META-INF/com/google/android/updater-script and replace the mounting with the values u copied.
4. save and move the updater-script to ur base's META-INF/com/google/android/ and replace


NEW!!!
NO NEED FOR BASE:
1. download the nobase script zip and extract it somewhere
2. download a device's proprietary files zip and extract it into the folder of the script
3. run the script and follow directions!

how to add a device to the nobase script:

download and unpack the zip with ur desired carrier/android version
run the portdiffs.sh and follow directions!

Disclaimer:
Im not responsible for anything that might go wrong

Changelog:
v3: more fixes
v2: fixed update-binary being update_binary

DLs:

.bat s are windows, .sh is linux.
portscriptnobase is linux

https://docs.google.com/folder/d/0B2...FkRm1aeFU/edit

Thanks to d3athsd00r for helping
Last edited by cpu999; 13th October 2012 at 10:02 PM.
The Following 34 Users Say Thank You to cpu999 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th October 2012, 04:09 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
212 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
does this apply for international GS3????
9th October 2012, 04:10 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 607
 
528 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ice3186

does this apply for international GS3????

Probably

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2
9th October 2012, 04:34 AM   |  #4  
LuRock's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 904
 
1,835 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
What!! No way dude!!




White Hot! GS3.
9th October 2012, 04:37 AM   |  #5  
mocsab's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag West Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 729
 
2,595 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpu999

I just wrote a script that would automatically port ANY carrier's gs3 roms to ANY other carrier's devices
So now u can use all the roms other carriers get
Let me know if there are any errors(not including not found errors)

How to use:
1. download the rom u want to port and a rom on the SAME android version as the rom u want to port
2. unzip both of them and place both folders in the same folder
3. download the script and place it in the folder with the two rom folders
4. open a terminal and cd to the directory
5. run:

Code:
chmod +x portscript.sh
./portscript.sh
6. PROFIT

Disclaimer:
Im not responsible for anything that might go wrong

DLs:
Realease 1 (Prealpha)

I am probably treading into an area that I have no business going to - but I would love to try this - and don't have enough knowledge to follow your instructions - was hoping you could explain the last few steps - I am going to sound like a real noob - but I don't understand some of the language -

what do you mean when you say "open a terminal and cd to the directory" ? if you can simplify that a little - I think I can do this and would love to try -

I think it means that I need to put save the roms and the script you have provided and place them in my C drive - then open a command prompt in that file (shift and right click I believe) is that correct?

second question - when I tried to download the file you provided from the lnk - it opened GOOGLE DRIVE and said I needed to request permission to access the file - ? I clicked request and am now waiting for some kind of response

?
9th October 2012, 04:46 AM   |  #6  
iBotPeaches's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag KCK
Thanks Meter: 2,329
 
735 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpu999

Probably

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2

No that will not work. If this does simple recovery mount point changes & build prop changes that will work for the family of SGS3 that share the same hardware. It will not work for i9300 as that has a different set of hardware. Thus, different libs and what not.

I doubt this script has the ability to decompile & merge correctly smali. Or has a downloadable collection of libs for i9300. Probably only works for the SGS3 variants like AT&T, telus, tmobile, etc.
The Following User Says Thank You to iBotPeaches For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th October 2012, 04:47 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 607
 
528 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBotPeaches

No that will not work. If this does simple recovery mount point changes & build prop changes that will work for the family of SGS3 that share the same hardware. It will not work for i9300 as that has a different set of hardware. Thus, different libs and what not.

I doubt this script has the ability to decompile & merge correctly smali. Or has a downloadable collection of libs for i9300. Probably only works for the SGS3 variants like AT&T, telus, tmobile, etc.

Thanks
will be adding that to the OP
9th October 2012, 04:47 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 607
 
528 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mocsab

I am probably treading into an area that I have no business going to - but I would love to try this - and don't have enough knowledge to follow your instructions - was hoping you could explain the last few steps - I am going to sound like a real noob - but I don't understand some of the language -

what do you mean when you say "open a terminal and cd to the directory" ? if you can simplify that a little - I think I can do this and would love to try -

I think it means that I need to put save the roms and the script you have provided and place them in my C drive - then open a command prompt in that file (shift and right click I believe) is that correct?

second question - when I tried to download the file you provided from the lnk - it opened GOOGLE DRIVE and said I needed to request permission to access the file - ? I clicked request and am now waiting for some kind of response

?

this script only works in linux for now.
Ill create a windows one once I have time
9th October 2012, 04:48 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 607
 
528 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuRock

What!! No way dude!!




White Hot! GS3.

Its just an automation of my method of porting
9th October 2012, 04:48 AM   |  #10  
smartguy044's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 3,991
 
1,253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
yea it def will not work for 9300 youll have to change a lot of stuff just to get it booting

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes