Post Reply

[Root]How to Root Note2 [N7100] & keep flash counter 0

10th October 2012, 06:48 PM   |  #1  
dr.ketan's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Gujarat
Thanks Meter: 29,596
 
18,019 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
For detail guide about how to root N7100 -
Read
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1896696
Post # 2 and 3 of above said thread



---------------------------------------------------------------
This guide basically written when there was only available method to root device was flashing chenglu's recovery, which was causing to raise flash counter 1 even after triangle away. That was due to samsung's bootloader for Note 2 which have autosum check for recovery. So if you are using any custom recovery your flash counter will raise to 1. Also read this if you want to use CWM recovery and want to reset counter at every boot.

Later Chainfire have introduce 'Cf Auto root' and in that case no need to use this tutorial as CF auto root package includes stock recovery.

Still this guide is useful who have flashed CWM and want to move to stock recovery with reseting counter '0'



Here is guide How to reset counter to '0' and keep device rooted

All credits to Chainfire and chenglu, without their amazing tool we can't have this......




-If you have rooted with CWM recovery
- Your device will have CWM recoovery with root access.
- Download this stock recovery OR This latest stock recovery from LL7 which believe to be patched by samsung.
- Flash with PC Odin for PDA tab.
- Reset counter with Triangle away
- Now your counter will be '0' and you will have now stock recovery but root access will be intact
- You will have binnary count '0' but system status still will be 'custom'
- Reboot to recovery, wipe cache and data
(this step is just for keeping status' official '
You can skip if you have too much data, as this status can be achieved even in semibricked condition by wiping from recovery Or by flashing stock rom from download mode. And in hard bricked this status can't be read ) important thing is to just keep count' 0'.

- You will have binary count '0' and current binary 'official' as well system status 'official'
- with latest bootloader you can't achieve system status 'official' with wipe cache and data too, in that case you may need to reflash stock ROM, reboot normally, play for 10 min and it should be 'official'


New :
How to change system status 'Modified' to 'Normal' in device setting without factory reset.

you can enjoy full root access without worrying of warranty

Last edited by dr.ketan; 16th February 2013 at 07:31 AM.
The Following 90 Users Say Thank You to dr.ketan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th October 2012, 07:43 PM   |  #2  
tchitchicruise's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag France
Thanks Meter: 358
 
551 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.ketan

Here is guide How to reset counter to '0' and keep device rooted

All credits to Chainfire and chenglu, without their amazing tool we can't have this......

As we have many reported case after reseting counter with Triangle Away, recovery gets broken
So I have manage to keep recovery and Root intact


Right Now updating short instruction
Full video guide and detail instruction for newbie tomorrow.

- Flash chenglu's custom recovery (first line on my signature post #2)
- Your device will have CWM recoovery with root access
- Reset counter with Triangle away
- Here your counter will be zero but,this will break recovery and you won't be able to reboot to recovery.(Don't attempt to check it otherwise count will be raise)
- Download this recovery
- Flash with PC Odin for PDA tab. (Don't use Mobile Odin, otherwise binary count raise)
- Now your counter still will be '0' and you will have now stock recovery but root access will be intact
- You will have binnary count '0' but system status still will be 'custom'
- Reboot to recovery, wipe cache and data
- You will have binary count '0' and current binary 'official' as well system status 'official'
- still you will have root but with stock recovery
you can enjoy full root access without worrying of warranty

Hi Dr !
Your recovery is for this problem ?


Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Last edited by tchitchicruise; 10th October 2012 at 07:46 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to tchitchicruise For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th October 2012, 07:49 PM   |  #3  
dr.ketan's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Gujarat
Thanks Meter: 29,596
 
18,019 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
No No
This is bootloader bug
while entering recovery just release power button once splash screen appear, above said error will go, and you can entre to recovery.
Plz remove quating of full post.
Last edited by dr.ketan; 16th January 2013 at 08:29 AM.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to dr.ketan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th October 2012, 08:02 PM   |  #4  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,102
 
8,462 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.ketan

No No
This is bootloader bug
while entering recovery just release power button once splash screen appear, above said error will go, and you can entre to recovery.
Plz remove quating of full post.
I have said is different thing, once you reset counter, you won't able to reboot to recovery at all.

Mobile Odin Pro flashcounter raise is fixed in version 3.40 afaik
The Following User Says Thank You to gee2012 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th October 2012, 08:07 PM   |  #5  
dr.ketan's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Gujarat
Thanks Meter: 29,596
 
18,019 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gee2012

Mobile Odin Pro flashcounter raise is fixed in version 3.40 afaik

Mobile odin 3.40 itself first version which have add Note 2 support.
And i have tried (as well many other user reported) that to flash stock recovery, but it does raise counter.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dr.ketan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th October 2012, 09:07 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Pls help
Hi guys where is the flash counter these posts r making me paranoid. Right now I flashed like 3 or 4 things but where is the counter???
The Following User Says Thank You to the duderino For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th October 2012, 09:12 PM   |  #7  
afilopou's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 495
 
1,672 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by the duderino

Hi guys where is the flash counter these posts r making me paranoid. Right now I flashed like 3 or 4 things but where is the counter???

Vol down +home+power and enter ind download mode.on the upper left screen you see three or four lines.One of them saying something like current binary status

Sent from the Beast
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to afilopou For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th October 2012, 09:13 PM   |  #8  
nikos523's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 66
 
345 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Can't find a reason to wipe.
Why is that necessary?

Quote:
Originally Posted by the duderino

Hi guys where is the flash counter these posts r making me paranoid. Right now I flashed like 3 or 4 things but where is the counter???

In download mode
Last edited by nikos523; 10th October 2012 at 09:15 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to nikos523 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th October 2012, 09:16 PM   |  #9  
afilopou's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 495
 
1,672 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikos523

Can't find s reason to wipe.
Why is that necessary?



In download mode

You mean the step 9?
If so this will change the system status from custom to official

Sent from the Beast
10th October 2012, 09:20 PM   |  #10  
nikos523's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 66
 
345 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by afilopou

You mean the step 10?
If so this will change the system status from custom to normal

Sent from the Beast

Yes.
It wasn't necessary for the s3 before.
Maybe is necessary but doesn't make any sense (for me at least)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Note II General by ThreadRank