FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

I think I have bricked i777's? How to reflash stock?

149 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By kmad86, Senior Member on 11th October 2012, 01:32 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Alright, I am new to the whole flashing ROMS, unlocking, etc.

I run a business that from time to time gets in large lots of cell phones. Most of the time they're working fine, but the other day I received some in and in the stack I received three i777's. All three of the phones have the same problem, they don't power on. When you power these phones up you get NOTHING. However, if I plug them in the wall, ever 3-5 seconds I get a flash of the battery screen charging but it instantly goes away (not charging). After googling and reading it seems like these could be bricked. They're flawless, no liquid damage, and I swapped the batteries around.

Would a bricked i777 possibly show characteristics of what I had mentioned above, and if so, how do I flash it to the stock rom? I tried searching that and perhaps I didn't search the right variables.

Thanks.


SOLUTION:
Ordered three non oem batteries. Shockingly all three batteries were bad. I was very surprised at that.
Last edited by kmad86; 16th October 2012 at 02:31 AM. Reason: SOLUTION
 
 
11th October 2012, 01:34 AM |#2  
122ninjas's Avatar
Senior Member
Arizona
Thanks Meter: 953
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmad86

Alright, I am new to the whole flashing ROMS, unlocking, etc.

I run a business that from time to time gets in large lots of cell phones. Most of the time they're working fine, but the other day I received some in and in the stack I received three i777's. All three of the phones have the same problem, they don't power on. When you power these phones up you get NOTHING. However, if I plug them in the wall, ever 3-5 seconds I get a flash of the battery screen charging but it instantly goes away (not charging). After googling and reading it seems like these could be bricked. They're flawless, no liquid damage, and I swapped the batteries around.

Would a bricked i777 possibly show characteristics of what I had mentioned above, and if so, how do I flash it to the stock rom? I tried searching that and perhaps I didn't search the right variables.

Thanks.

Have you tried getting them into download mode by taking out the battery, holding both Volume buttons then plugging them into the computer?
11th October 2012, 01:59 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I haven't. I mainly have Mac computers, so I will have to try it with my HTPC when I get home.
11th October 2012, 12:59 PM |#4  
Phalanx7621's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Delaware
Thanks Meter: 2,056
 
More
There are already threads and stickies relating to flashing back to stock . Please use the search function, no need to start a new thread.

Sent from team Pirate headquarters using Beanacle ROM. As soon as he builds it.
11th October 2012, 01:33 PM |#5  
eep2378's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag MA
Thanks Meter: 2,053
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phalanx7621

There are already threads and stickies relating to flashing back to stock . Please use the search function, no need to start a new thread.

Sent from team Pirate headquarters using Beanacle ROM. As soon as he builds it.

^^^^^this

Also, you should have no problem getting into download mode on a Mac(if its not bricked).

Sent from the Nodes of Ranvier
11th October 2012, 06:45 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eep2378

^^^^^this

Also, you should have no problem getting into download mode on a Mac(if its not bricked).

Sent from the Nodes of Ranvier


LIke I had previously mentioned, I had searched before but couldn't quite figure out my solution. However, I see the thread now but I guess it wasn't searching because I was searching different variables than "stock to warranty".

Regardless, I downloaded the heimdall program and the other stuff it asked for me to obtain before flashing it to stock (which in ODIN MODE it says it's all stock, and yeah it did light up when I held the arrows down while plugged into the computer) but I am getting stuck. I don't really know where to put the files that I had downloaded (Contains cache.img, factoryfs.img, hidden.img, modem.bin and zImage.)

It says "move or copy all files to the directory where you have the Heimdall command line executable" but I have no idea where I have the Heimdall executable? I'm new to all of this.

It won't let me post a screenshot because I am new, ahhh!
11th October 2012, 08:42 PM |#7  
eep2378's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag MA
Thanks Meter: 2,053
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmad86

LIke I had previously mentioned, I had searched before but couldn't quite figure out my solution. However, I see the thread now but I guess it wasn't searching because I was searching different variables than "stock to warranty".

Regardless, I downloaded the heimdall program and the other stuff it asked for me to obtain before flashing it to stock (which in ODIN MODE it says it's all stock, and yeah it did light up when I held the arrows down while plugged into the computer) but I am getting stuck. I don't really know where to put the files that I had downloaded (Contains cache.img, factoryfs.img, hidden.img, modem.bin and zImage.)

It says "move or copy all files to the directory where you have the Heimdall command line executable" but I have no idea where I have the Heimdall executable? I'm new to all of this.

It won't let me post a screenshot because I am new, ahhh!

If you're familiar with terminal you can use command line heimdall to execute these actions. I find command line heimdall easier to use than the front end GUI. I'm certain it works because when I first got my I777 I used command line heimdall to root my device and flash a stock rooted image(Entropy's GB). Google heimdall command line use on Mac and I'm sure you can find something useful if you're not familiar with terminal commands. Look through the stickies here and in dev section, I'm sure you can find it
11th October 2012, 09:30 PM |#8  
Member
Flag Puerto Ordaz
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Have you tried different battery?, This happen to me with a brand new i777, turn out to be the battery
15th October 2012, 11:00 PM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KM00

Have you tried different battery?, This happen to me with a brand new i777, turn out to be the battery

SOLUTION!!



Yeah, I just ordered three new batteries for them. They came in today and suprisingly all three of them had bad batteries. That's crazy!!
16th October 2012, 01:05 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 186
 
More
Lol, congrats man.

Sent from my SGH-I777 using xda app-developers app
16th October 2012, 01:37 AM |#11  
djluis48's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Santo Domingo
Thanks Meter: 232
 
More
I was about to say that they doesn't appear to be bricked because when the device is bricked, it will turn on, it will just not boot. Congrats on the phones!

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes