Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[CLOSE THREAD PLEASE][MOD][APP] Floating Touch 1.3.1 (Updated: 2012.10.20)

OP matorno1

11th October 2012, 09:35 PM   |  #1  
matorno1's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Bicske (Hungary)
Thanks Meter: 70
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
I've finished this project, and attached the current source. @mods: Please close this thread, thank you.

Feel free to try out the app on different devices, If your phone's files are not autodetected execute the following command
Quote:

"find /sys -name set_touchscreen"

in adb shell or terminal emulator. If it gives back results then try them out, if there are no results I cannot help "porting" it to your device, sorry.


Hi, I've read the news about the floating touch and the galaxy sl, checked the threads, and guess what it works on our phone too!

I've made an app that can controll our phone's "floatiness", it works well on biohazard v4.

CHANGELOG:
1.3.1 (2012.10.20)
-Added detection and support for Galaxy SL (i9003) and Galaxy SII (i9100 (not i9100G)) based on shriomman's thread (thanks shriomman) (it seems like that it does not work on i9100 based on feedback)

-Different results on I9000 (needs further confirmation whether it works or not )

1.3 (2012.10.20)
-Added possibility to manually input the path to the files of the touchscreen driver (thanks shriomman for the idea)
-Added possibility to start service automatically on boot
-Fixed charger connect/disconnect reset by optional bgservice (thanks alireza7991 for finding the issue)
-Made the UI more helpfull
-Pressing MENU button will reset everything (except if you entered some sensitive file in manual mode and overwritten it...it cannot be fixed ) (disable service, set value to 32, delete configuration files and exit the app) (only usable in the main activity of the app) (in case you've set some wrong value)
-Changed app's icon (thanks nishant_713 for the icon)

1.2.1 (2012.10.16)
-Fix for G3 <- managed to test it on my old GT-I5800 running CM7 and it works nice, doesn't even need the bg service as it stays after screenlock without the need of reapply (can't test for long as it now belongs to my father )

-It also turned out that by adding a "cat /..../set_write" also removed the need of the bgservice for us(...I keep this feature anyway...maybe someone likes it in the notification area )... so pressing the button is enough (altough it's saying temporary because I'm lazy to make an update for changing only the button's caption)

1.2 (2012.10.16)
-Added support for Galaxy 3 (GT-I5800 / GT-I5801) <-- Please feedback if it's work as I cannot test it. (Probably not working well please use 1.2.1)

1.1.2 (2012.10.14)
-Now supports Jelly Bean!

1.1.1 (2012.10.13)
-reverted minimum to 1 (thus allowing greater freedom )
1.1 (2012.10.13)

-added option to start/stop a background (in fact foreground to prevent killing) service, thus it can survive the screenlock
-changed minimum value to 7...values under it are not really usable
-app now stores last value setted by it (may differ from the actual value)
-added a filecheck too, and a nice warning message on failure



All it does is "echo 70xx > /sys/class/touch/switch/set_touchscreen" (xx can be set between 01 and 34)
It will reset on each reboot.

Possible usage:
-Using styluses like with resistive screens (value 10 and below) (Fun to use pinchzoom with two pencils ) <-- Thanks for domi525 for finding out.
-Use the screen with gloves on <-- Thanks for domi525 for finding out.
-Setting it a low value, and hovering over your screen to avoid smudges (value 8 and below).

Instructions: install the app; set a value (the lower, the floatier); press button to apply it (till next reboot)

WARNING: Value below 7 cause registering of nonexistant touches, or the complete inability to register any touches!! In those case you WILL need to reset it with adb shell using the command "echo 7032 > /sys/class/touch/switch/set_touchscreen" OR reboot your phone (via adb or battery reinsert)

I am not aware of any other side-effects, and take no responsibility for this app at all.


Of course all credits goes to shriomman and loSconosciuto for founding this, also check the original thread . (Sorry guys for not mentioning at the first place, and thank you very much )

Special thanks to nishant_713 for making me find out that we also need the cat command


Credits:
shriomman - Finding the method the app uses; sharing the path for Galaxy SL and SII
loSconosciuto - Finding out the possibilities to tweak the touchscreen
nishant_713 - Galaxy 3 support; the idea to use the cat set_write too; New icon
alireza7991 - Noticing the charger bug
domi525 - Finding out more usage

And everyone who gave feedback and helped to make this app better.
Attached Files
File Type: apk FloaTouch_1.1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (127.2 KB, 501 views)
File Type: apk FloaTouch_1.1.1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (127.2 KB, 313 views)
File Type: apk FloaTouch_1.1.2.apk - [Click for QR Code] (127.0 KB, 332 views)
File Type: apk FloaTouch_1.2.apk - [Click for QR Code] (127.0 KB, 117 views)
File Type: apk FloaTouch_1.2.1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (127.0 KB, 812 views)
File Type: apk FloaTouch_1.3.apk - [Click for QR Code] (158.9 KB, 212 views)
File Type: apk FloaTouch_1.3.1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (158.9 KB, 3877 views)
File Type: 7z FloaTouch_src.7z - [Click for QR Code] (548.6 KB, 308 views)
Last edited by matorno1; 15th February 2013 at 02:48 PM. Reason: close
The Following 52 Users Say Thank You to matorno1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th October 2012, 09:44 PM   |  #2  
rickvrolings's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 225
 
740 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
What is floating touch actually? Does it work on gingerbread?

Sent from my GT-I9001 using xda app-developers app
11th October 2012, 09:54 PM   |  #3  
matorno1's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Bicske (Hungary)
Thanks Meter: 70
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickvrolings

What is floating touch actually? Does it work on gingerbread?

Sent from my GT-I9001 using xda app-developers app

I'm not sure whether it works or not (if you have a file named switch at \sys\class\touch\ than it will work i guess). It basicly makes the screen super-sensitive, it allows you to touch the screen without touching it: by just hovering your hand over it.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to matorno1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th October 2012, 10:06 PM   |  #4  
rickvrolings's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 225
 
740 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
WOOOW! This really works! Amazing! Good job :thumbup:


Sent from my GT-I9001 using xda app-developers app
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to rickvrolings For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th October 2012, 10:21 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Wow. Thats amazing !!!. Works great with Biohazard v5. Im able to type this by just pointing at my Keyboard. Feels like your just hovering over your screen.

Sent from my GT-I9001 using xda app-developers app
11th October 2012, 10:29 PM   |  #6  
mant0x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Peterborough
Thanks Meter: 41
 
244 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Is it battery friendly? I think battery drain should go up sky-high

Sent from my Samsung GT-I9001 Galaxy S+ using xda-developers app
11th October 2012, 10:43 PM   |  #7  
Member
Flag moscow
Thanks Meter: 26
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
it is real cool) works on beta 1 by arco) battery drain is a bit higher than without it) thank you man)
The Following User Says Thank You to alexander757 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th October 2012, 11:46 PM   |  #8  
BattleBear3000's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Very nice app :thumbup:

I have only one question: Can my friend use this app with his Galaxy S2 (i9100)?

Sent from my GT-I9001 using xda app-developers app
12th October 2012, 01:53 AM   |  #9  
gjoy77's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag seremban, negeri sembilan
Thanks Meter: 115
 
413 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Not working in gingerbread...

Sent from my GT-I9001 using xda premium
12th October 2012, 02:31 AM   |  #10  
XeLLaR*'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag DevConnection
Thanks Meter: 4,564
 
2,784 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjoy77

Not working in gingerbread...

Sent from my GT-I9001 using xda premium

For me, its working with Rooted KQE.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes