Post Reply

[APP/OPEN SOURCE]Screen Standby ♯ Root [2.0]-Screen off while keeping device active

OP nkahoang

16th October 2012, 05:07 AM   |  #11  
nkahoang's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne, Victoria
Thanks Meter: 592
 
272 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
How about this:

Pressing the button will now toggle(circle) between three modes:

- Brightness On (app not functioning)
- Lowest brightness possible (but not completely off) and
- Zero brightness (completely turn off screen)
The Following User Says Thank You to nkahoang For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th October 2012, 05:11 AM   |  #12  
mingolianbeef's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,137
 
1,931 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR THIS.!!!!! THANK U.! LOL

Sent from my PG86100 using xda app-developers app
16th October 2012, 06:17 AM   |  #13  
jgaf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa
Thanks Meter: 388
 
1,210 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightwinn

I think he's asking if you can make it have a little bit of light so he can barely see the screen. When you are using the phone with a TV, you have to guess where to touch the screen.

Perhaps an adjustable brightness setting or just a barely on setting would be helpful for some.




Yeah this what I meant. Specially when playing games it is very hard, for stuff that can't be mapped into a gamepad


Quote:
Originally Posted by winsettr

That really defeats the purpose of this app... If you need that functionality, look into Screen Filter or something similar that will lower the brightness but keep the screen on.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

The thing with screenfilter is that it lowers the brightness on the TV too.

I just had another idea, don't know how complicated it would be to implement though. Would it be possible to add "an always on top or floating button" that would toggle the screen on and off. For example there's an app for exploiting games called Game Guardian, this app has a very small, semi transparent and movable icon that lets you access it from anywhere. This way when we need to open mxplayer and select a movie from our library we can easily turn the lights back on and then turn them off after selecting the video.



Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF300T using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to jgaf For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th October 2012, 07:58 AM   |  #14  
ppmeis's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ferrol
Thanks Meter: 43
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkahoang

Please download the latest version (1.31) which have print debug info ("Menu" -> "Print debug info") and sends the file it generates over to me. I don't have either of your devices so this may be the only way I can fix that bug.

Here's the log. I hope it'll help to find the issue.
Attached Files
File Type: zip screenstandby20121016-083456.zip - [Click for QR Code] (35.9 KB, 10 views)
16th October 2012, 08:14 AM   |  #15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Hi, i have a I9300 SGS3 and i doenst work.
Here's the debug log.
Attached Files
File Type: txt screenstandby20121016-091241.txt - [Click for QR Code] (172 Bytes, 14 views)
Last edited by TheDarkLux; 16th October 2012 at 08:18 AM.
16th October 2012, 08:53 AM   |  #16  
nkahoang's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne, Victoria
Thanks Meter: 592
 
272 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkLux

Hi, i have a I9300 SGS3 and i doenst work.
Here's the debug log.

Your log has nothing inside! Is it because you didn't grant root access to my app? Try uninstall / reinstall and answer "Allow" when superuser/supersu asks you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ppmeis

Here's the log. I hope it'll help to find the issue.

Sent you a pm for beta version.
The Following User Says Thank You to nkahoang For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th October 2012, 09:46 AM   |  #17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkahoang

Your log has nothing inside! Is it because you didn't grant root access to my app? Try uninstall / reinstall and answer "Allow" when superuser/supersu asks you.

It has, i tried uninstall/reinstall now, with same result. Log is empty
It is in my SuperSU app an has root access.
Here the log of SuperSU, because the app is writing anything in the log.
first log:

find /sys/devices -name 'brightness'
exit
sh: <stdin>(1): find: not found

second log:

find /sys/devices
sh: <stdin>(1): find: not found
Last edited by TheDarkLux; 16th October 2012 at 10:41 AM.
16th October 2012, 10:47 AM   |  #18  
nkahoang's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne, Victoria
Thanks Meter: 592
 
272 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
BIG UPDATE: VERSION 1.4 BETA

+ Now have another way to turn off screen: SET SCREEN VOLTAGE TO ZERO VOLT. With this we have some bonus advantages:
- Much faster turn off time
- No more shuttering with auto brightness!
- Should work with AMOLED Devices (Galaxy S2 / S3 owners, please report!)

However, you should upgrade only if previous version does not work for your devices since this method is still a bit unstable.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to nkahoang For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th October 2012, 10:51 AM   |  #19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Thanks a lot mate, now it works

Confirm working on SGS3.

Bug Report (1):
I have the app VirtualSat.eu to watch tv. When i'm in the app menu, display is off/black (tv still on) when i then select to watch something, the display powers on again.
Bug (2):
after the first operation, i pushed the home button (display powers off again), then scrolled down the notification bar to disable screenOff, it disappears from the notification bar. But display is still off. So i pushed the power button to get to the lock screen (this method is working).
Edit(1)
Tested a bit more, (for bug 2): If i reopen the app an repush on the screen off button (to get the app back in the notification bar), and then tried to reactivate the display, the display powers on for about 2-3 seconds and then again powers off.

For Bug(1): Tried another TV app (Zattoo) there the display stays off if i select a station to watch. So i think it's the app who uses a command that gets the display back on.

But in anyway thanks for your work. Will test with some other apps.
Last edited by TheDarkLux; 16th October 2012 at 11:25 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to TheDarkLux For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th October 2012, 11:00 AM   |  #20  
nkahoang's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne, Victoria
Thanks Meter: 592
 
272 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkLux

Yeah thanks a lot mate, now it works Big up

Can you test your S3 with MHL as well? I want to make sure that my method guarantees MHL and HDMI works

The Following User Says Thank You to nkahoang For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
hdmi, mhl, open source, screen off, screen standby
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Apps and Games by ThreadRank