Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

[KERNEL] M-Kernel [MOVED]

OP Metallice

15th October 2012, 02:57 AM   |  #21  
Jay Aristide's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dyer, Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 900
 
996 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by christianpeso

"If you are on a stock-like 4.1.2 ROM that does not rely on a modified ramdisk (CM10, AOKP, etc.), flash one of the following zips and reboot before installing this kernel for the first time.
Stock 4.1.2 kernel - http://goo.im/devs/Metallice/Nexus7/...rnel_4.1.2.zip
Stock 4.1.2 kernel with Init.d support and insecure adb thanks to Faux123 - http://goo.im/devs/Metallice/Nexus7/...nitD_4.1.2.zip"

Maybe it is a language barrier, but your statement reads to me as in if you are running AOKP or CM10,u NEED TO flash one of the stock kernels and reboot before u flash your modified version. That is what I did. Flashed one of the stock kernels u linked and that did not boot up. Flashed your modified one to see if that would boot, and that didnt either.

Aye, 'tis a language barrier. He meant that CM10, AOKP and the likes are among those that require a modified ramdisk.

If you're running stock 4.1.2 or a ROM that doesn't include init.d support, then you should flash the stock with init.d support zip before flashing the motley kernel to give yourself init.d support. If you're running something like aokp or cm10, it requires it's own special ramdisk, and the one cm currently provides isn't proper.
15th October 2012, 02:57 AM   |  #22  
christianpeso's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 179
 
546 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Ran the terminal emulator commands on this latest AOKP nightly I am running and I do get the "discard" at the end. Flashed your modified kernel without doing the stock 1st and it boots up fine. Got it going. Thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to christianpeso For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th October 2012, 02:58 AM   |  #23  
Metallice's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 5,004
 
3,221 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by christianpeso

"If you are on a stock-like 4.1.2 ROM that does not rely on a modified ramdisk (CM10, AOKP, etc.), flash one of the following zips and reboot before installing this kernel for the first time.
Stock 4.1.2 kernel - http://goo.im/devs/Metallice/Nexus7/...rnel_4.1.2.zip
Stock 4.1.2 kernel with Init.d support and insecure adb thanks to Faux123 - http://goo.im/devs/Metallice/Nexus7/...nitD_4.1.2.zip"

Maybe it is a language barrier, but your statement reads to me as in if you are running AOKP or CM10,u NEED TO flash one of the stock kernels and reboot before u flash your modified version. That is what I did. Flashed one of the stock kernels u linked and that did not boot up. Flashed your modified one to see if that would boot, and that didnt either.

Ahh. Sorry. I guess it can be read in the opposite way I intended. I'll fix it.
The Following User Says Thank You to Metallice For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th October 2012, 03:03 AM   |  #24  
y0brando's Avatar
Member
Flag 707xx
Thanks Meter: 12
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Don't you need an " ! " on that first line of zee script?
sent secretly from my paranoid 7
15th October 2012, 05:39 AM   |  #25  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Thank you so much for your work, I love this kernel and I'm really happy I can use it with the latest aosp update, working well so far I'll update later.

An people please read and try to fix it yourself before complain, we don't want to make our developers angry.

Thanks again
15th October 2012, 06:04 AM   |  #26  
dirtsky's Avatar
Senior Member
Conneaut, OH
Thanks Meter: 155
 
605 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Just flashed this. Has anybody had any issues with it on paranoid 2.2?

Sent from my MROM Incredible 2
15th October 2012, 07:30 AM   |  #27  
prestige777's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag AZ
Thanks Meter: 162
 
413 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
This seems to be working on C&C 1.2.0 with 4.1.2 binaries, just fine.
15th October 2012, 09:59 AM   |  #28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Seems great so far. Only thing I have noticed is that in the benchmark test, overclocking doesn't seem to accelerate the FPS in the 3D category. I'm at 1500ghz and still can't get over 59 FPS, where in the original motley kernel, I would get about 71 frames at that same cpu speed. That aside, everything is smooth. I appreciate your efforts!
15th October 2012, 10:46 AM   |  #29  
iamelton's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 337
 
922 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by clusterchuck

Seems great so far. Only thing I have noticed is that in the benchmark test, overclocking doesn't seem to accelerate the FPS in the 3D category. I'm at 1500ghz and still can't get over 59 FPS, where in the original motley kernel, I would get about 71 frames at that same cpu speed. That aside, everything is smooth. I appreciate your efforts!

maybe related to this in the first post?
Quote:

Removed pointless pixel clock increase. Does not improve performance. Decreases battery life and can either alleviate or exacerbate screen tearing. Only improved benchmarks on maxed out tests like quadrant or nenamark 2 by increasing screen refresh rate.

Last edited by iamelton; 15th October 2012 at 11:02 AM.
15th October 2012, 04:51 PM   |  #30  
Metallice's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 5,004
 
3,221 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by clusterchuck

Seems great so far. Only thing I have noticed is that in the benchmark test, overclocking doesn't seem to accelerate the FPS in the 3D category. I'm at 1500ghz and still can't get over 59 FPS, where in the original motley kernel, I would get about 71 frames at that same cpu speed. That aside, everything is smooth. I appreciate your efforts!

That's a good thing. See above post.

Use basemark es 2.0 taiji to compare GPU overclocks since it isn't limited by screen refresh rate.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes