Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,906 Members 42,647 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Need help, getting throttled by ATT!

Tip us?
 
borijess
Old
#1  
borijess's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 822
Posts: 5,501
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default Need help, getting throttled by ATT!

I am currently being throttled by att. Is there any way around this? Is there something I can do on my phone to unthrottle myself.

Sent from the TermiNOTEr!
 
Agoattamer
Old
#2  
Agoattamer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 492
Posts: 2,072
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PA
Try changing your APN to the 4G or even the 3G APN. Someone said this works. I use the Medianet 3G APN and never get throttled.
Samsung I717R Note
I717RUXMD1 Rogers Deodexed Stock JB ROM

Samsung I497 10.1 Tab2
I497UCBMF2 stock JB

HTC HD2 T9193
Winmo 6.5 Energy.Leo.29022.Sense2.5.Jul.04
2.12.50.02_2 RADIO
 
borijess
Old
#3  
borijess's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 822
Posts: 5,501
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agoattamer View Post
Try changing your APN to the 4G or even the 3G APN. Someone said this works. I use the Medianet 3G APN and never get throttled.
Do u have a link?

Sent from the TermiNOTEr!
 
Agoattamer
Old
#4  
Agoattamer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 492
Posts: 2,072
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PA
No I don't but you can try google search for the 4G APN.

Here is the 3G Medianet APN:

Name: MediaNet
APN: wap.cingular
MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com
MMS proxy: 66.209.11.32
MMS port: 8080
MCC: 310
MNC: 410
APN type: internet + mms
APN protocol: IPv4
Bearer: Unspecified

Hope it works. It is no LTE/4G but got to be better than being throttled if it works.
Samsung I717R Note
I717RUXMD1 Rogers Deodexed Stock JB ROM

Samsung I497 10.1 Tab2
I497UCBMF2 stock JB

HTC HD2 T9193
Winmo 6.5 Energy.Leo.29022.Sense2.5.Jul.04
2.12.50.02_2 RADIO
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Agoattamer For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
borijess
Old
#5  
borijess's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 822
Posts: 5,501
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agoattamer View Post
No I don't but you can try google search for the 4G APN.

Here is the 3G Medianet APN:

Name: MediaNet
APN: wap.cingular
MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com
MMS proxy: 66.209.11.32
MMS port: 8080
MCC: 310
MNC: 410
APN type: internet + mms
APN protocol: IPv4
Bearer: Unspecified

Hope it works. It is no LTE/4G but got to be better than being throttled if it works.
What rom are u using?

Sent from the TermiNOTEr!
 
borijess
Old
#6  
borijess's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 822
Posts: 5,501
Join Date: Jul 2010
It worked check out the before and after.

Sent from the TermiNOTEr!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1350516561255.jpg
Views:	343
Size:	57.5 KB
ID:	1410036   Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1350516573169.jpg
Views:	315
Size:	42.2 KB
ID:	1410037  
 
borijess
Old
#7  
borijess's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 822
Posts: 5,501
Join Date: Jul 2010
Wow look at those speeds on 3g. No more throttling att!



Sent from the TermiNOTEr!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1350517295303.jpg
Views:	301
Size:	40.5 KB
ID:	1410060  
 
borijess
Old
#8  
borijess's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 822
Posts: 5,501
Join Date: Jul 2010
The only thing is it seems to lose the signal every so often.



Sent from the TermiNOTEr!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1350520926395.jpg
Views:	278
Size:	53.4 KB
ID:	1410164  
 
Agoattamer
Old
#9  
Agoattamer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 492
Posts: 2,072
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PA
What do you normally get; 4G or LTE? Maybe hunt down that 4G APN and give it a try.
Samsung I717R Note
I717RUXMD1 Rogers Deodexed Stock JB ROM

Samsung I497 10.1 Tab2
I497UCBMF2 stock JB

HTC HD2 T9193
Winmo 6.5 Energy.Leo.29022.Sense2.5.Jul.04
2.12.50.02_2 RADIO
 
borijess
Old
#10  
borijess's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 822
Posts: 5,501
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agoattamer View Post
What do you normally get; 4G or LTE? Maybe hunt down that 4G APN and give it a try.
When I am not being throttled I get LTE. Now that I use your setting it shows up as 4g. I am using stock tw rom so that's just fast 3g.

Sent from the TermiNOTEr!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add Some Power to First Generation Snapdragon CPUs

Some older devices still remain very popular. Phones like theHTC Desire, Sony Ericsson … more

Android M Mentions Spotted in Android Code Review

While we are still waiting for Android L to be officially released, the first mentions of … more

Create a Simple Custom Launcher from Scratch

When you are starting your journey intoany sort of development, it’s never easy at the … more