Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,279 Members 52,962 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to Reroot after OTA update to HTC EVO 4g let

Tip us?
 
skejmal
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default [Q] How to Reroot after OTA update to HTC EVO 4g let

Hi Everyone,

I accidentally hit the OTA update (software ver. 1.22.651.3 710RD) for my rooted HTC EVO 4G LTE phone (whoops!). I have SuperSU Pro with Survival Mode activated but that didn't work. I never installed special ROMs and primarily used ROOT for Tethering.

At any rate, my root is now gone and I can't find any discussions about how to re-root after an OTA update. I don't want to screw up my phone any further since it seems to be working ok otherwise.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!
 
eXplicit815
Old
#2  
eXplicit815's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,205
Posts: 2,484
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Apopka, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by skejmal View Post
Hi Everyone,

I accidentally hit the OTA update (software ver. 1.22.651.3 710RD) for my rooted HTC EVO 4G LTE phone (whoops!). I have SuperSU Pro with Survival Mode activated but that didn't work. I never installed special ROMs and primarily used ROOT for Tethering.

At any rate, my root is now gone and I can't find any discussions about how to re-root after an OTA update. I don't want to screw up my phone any further since it seems to be working ok otherwise.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!
You'll have to do the HTCDev unlock method (easiest way is through RegawMod). That's the only way right now.
The Following User Says Thank You to eXplicit815 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
om4
Old
(Last edited by om4; 24th October 2012 at 07:28 PM.)
#3  
om4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 909
Posts: 2,531
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In recovery waiting to be flashed

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXplicit815 View Post
You'll have to do the HTCDev unlock method (best way is through RegawMod). That's the only way right now.
actually the best way is htc dev using the adb tools mini sdk, regawmod has not been fixed and there are a lot of users complaining that they get stuck. To me it only takes a little common sense to solve 90% of the issues using regawmod but some people need their hands held and that thread is slowly boiling down to the worlds most repetitive support desk.


HTC Dev Unlock

Requirements
HTC Drivers
ADB Tools Mini SDK

Setup
  1. Install HTC Drivers if necessary
  2. Extract ADB Tools anywhere, doesnt matter
  3. Open ADB Tools and hold shift+right click, select open command window here
  4. In phone settings, enable usb debugging and disable fasboot
  5. Connect the phone to pc

Steps
  1. In the command window type adb start-server
  2. Next type adb reboot bootloader
  3. Select fastboot
  4. Type fastboot devices to make sure you are connected
  5. Type fastboot oem get_identifier_token
  6. Right click and select mark, click and drag from the top arrows to the bottom arrows and make sure not to highlight any empty spaces as this will confuse the website, right click and it will be saved to clipboard
  7. Now go to HTC Dev and if you don't already have an account, sign up for it
  8. Go to unlock bootloader and select other supported models and accept the agreements
  9. Skip the steps until you get the to token submit window and paste the token you copied earlier and submit.
  10. Go to your email and download the unlock_bin code
  11. Put the code in the ADB Tools folder
  12. Type fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin
  13. When the phone prompt comes up to unlock bootloader hit yes, now you are unlocked, re-enable usb debugging and disable fastboot
  14. Type adb reboot bootloader
  15. Type fastboot devices to make sure phone connected
  16. Type fastboot flash recovery openrecovery-twrp-2.2.2.0-jewel.img
  17. Type erase cache
Reboot phone and you will have unlock and recovery, all thats missing is to restart phone in bootloader and select recovery to flash a rom. Wipe Dalvik, cache, Factory reset, system and then install the rom. If it doesn't boot, extract the boot.img from the rom and put it in the adb folder and in fastboot type fastboot flash boot boot.img and reboot
DON'T PANIC: A relevant and useful guide to all things root
To anyone who has ever claimed something as idiot proof, clearly you have not met my father in law
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to om4 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
skejmal
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Oct 2012
Thanks for responding so quickly! I will try this.
 
steveiott06
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by skejmal View Post
Thanks for responding so quickly! I will try this.
Does this work for an LTE EVO running 2.13.651.1 710RD as well? That is what my phone is showing. Thanks.
 
eXplicit815
Old
#6  
eXplicit815's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,205
Posts: 2,484
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Apopka, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveiott06 View Post
Does this work for an LTE EVO running 2.13.651.1 710RD as well? That is what my phone is showing. Thanks.
Should work for all versions because it's the HTC method for unlocking your phone to root.
 
steveiott06
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXplicit815 View Post
Should work for all versions because it's the HTC method for unlocking your phone to root.
Hmm. Thanks for the help. However I was not aware that rooting the phone and doing this process would completely reset the phone back to stock. Now I have to set everything up again. Is this normal?
 
eXplicit815
Old
#8  
eXplicit815's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,205
Posts: 2,484
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Apopka, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveiott06 View Post
Hmm. Thanks for the help. However I was not aware that rooting the phone and doing this process would completely reset the phone back to stock. Now I have to set everything up again. Is this normal?
Yes. It even tells you when you accept the terms on the phone.
 
skejmal
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by skejmal View Post
Thanks for responding so quickly! I will try this.
One last stupid question...Are the steps you describe to re-root applicable to a Mac? or Windows-based computer?
 
eXplicit815
Old
#10  
eXplicit815's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,205
Posts: 2,484
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Apopka, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by skejmal View Post
One last stupid question...Are the steps you describe to re-root applicable to a Mac? or Windows-based computer?
Windows, although there are methods for OS X.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes