FORUMS

Dr.Ketan Brings The S6 Theme Store To The Note 4

Dr.Ketan has submitted a video to the forums showing a functional port of the Galaxy S6 … more

Do You Have Insurance on Your Smartphone?

While affordable smartphones are becoming more available, the majority of high-end flagships … more

Apple Music Will Increase iTunes Match to 100,000 Songs

The battle for music streaming subscription dominance is starting to really heat … more

Xposed Framework Updated to v65

Xposed Framework is an extremely popular modification platform for Android, so much so that we included … more

[SGH-T889] CF-Auto-Root

9,732 posts
Thanks Meter: 61,235
 
By Chainfire, Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt? on 28th October 2012, 08:45 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
29th October 2012, 02:38 AM |#11  
Tiffany84's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter: 3,176
 
Donate to Me
More
Man, that was fast. I was so excited to get that to you but never in a million years would have guessed you would have gotten it done that quick. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Lol. U truly are a legend
 
 
29th October 2012, 07:03 AM |#12  
nightfox11's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Venice
Thanks Meter: 159
 
More
chain will i keep the stock kernel?
29th October 2012, 07:31 AM |#13  
Tiffany84's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter: 3,176
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightfox11

chain will i keep the stock kernel?

From the OP:
Not included - adbd Insecure
As this CF-Root does not include a custom kernel, adb shell does not have root access by default (you can still get it by typing su inside the shell), nor is adb remount supported, nor will adb push and adb pull work on system files. adbd Insecure can be used to remedy this situation. (No idea what this is about ? Don't worry about it !)

So yes, you will keep the stock kernel.
The Following User Says Thank You to Tiffany84 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th October 2012, 08:19 AM |#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 192
 
More
The toolkit thread seemed to imply you couldn't root and and then unroot without hiding the flash triangle, but that's what your other tool now does right? I'm still in the TMobile making up my mind process and I don't want a potential barrier to returning the phone (love the phone, still unsure about service).
31st October 2012, 07:03 PM |#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 312
 
More
No matter what I do, my phone continues to say it is 'modified'.

Originally I rooted w/the toolkit, installed a custom rom.

Today I ran CF-Auto-Root to restore the stock recovery, then ran triangle away. After rebooting, my phone still says modified.

Is there anything I can do to change this? Need to return the phone.

Jason
31st October 2012, 07:07 PM |#16  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 61,235
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonJoel

No matter what I do, my phone continues to say it is 'modified'.

Originally I rooted w/the toolkit, installed a custom rom.

Today I ran CF-Auto-Root to restore the stock recovery, then ran triangle away. After rebooting, my phone still says modified.

Is there anything I can do to change this? Need to return the phone.

You really need to flash a full stock firmware again ... not sure if that is yet available.
31st October 2012, 07:12 PM |#17  
Member
Flag CA
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonJoel

No matter what I do, my phone continues to say it is 'modified'.

Originally I rooted w/the toolkit, installed a custom rom.

Today I ran CF-Auto-Root to restore the stock recovery, then ran triangle away. After rebooting, my phone still says modified.

Is there anything I can do to change this? Need to return the phone.

Jason

This thread lists the exact steps you need to revert - if all images are available - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1494114
1st November 2012, 02:20 AM |#18  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I don't see the model support number
1st November 2012, 03:10 AM |#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 312
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainfire

You really need to flash a full stock firmware again ... not sure if that is yet available.

Yeah, I think you are right. I think I'll just try to restore one of the near-stock ROMs and see if they'll be nice and take it back. If not, I'll just have to eBay it.

Love the phone, returning it because T-Mobile service is really bad where I am. So am going back to AT&T or Verizon.

Jason
1st November 2012, 10:17 AM |#20  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 61,235
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaoz102

I don't see the model support number

Really? It's literally next to the download link. It's impossible to miss.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes