Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[SGH-T889] CF-Auto-Root

OP Chainfire

1st November 2012, 04:47 PM   |  #21  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
I have a noob question: If I plan to be installing different roms in the future, should I be using this? The description does say that it's for people who want as close to stock as possible, which is fine for me, at least for now. But I do plan on installing roms after using stock a bit.
2nd November 2012, 07:12 AM   |  #22  
turilo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hamilton,Ont
Thanks Meter: 793
 
2,492 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkxklutz

I have a noob question: If I plan to be installing different roms in the future, should I be using this? The description does say that it's for people who want as close to stock as possible, which is fine for me, at least for now. But I do plan on installing roms after using stock a bit.

+1

---------- Post added at 05:12 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:04 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainfire

2012.10.28 --- CF-Auto-Root

SuperSU: v0.96

Download:

SGH-T889: CF-Auto-Root-t0ltetmo-sght889.zip

what are the odds of this working with rogers/att note 2 sgh-l317m name t0ltecan?

EDIT: sorry just noticed its using stock tmob recovery so that be a no go correct?
Last edited by turilo; 2nd November 2012 at 07:11 AM.
2nd November 2012, 12:39 PM   |  #23  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 53,951
 
9,374 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkxklutz

I have a noob question: If I plan to be installing different roms in the future, should I be using this? The description does say that it's for people who want as close to stock as possible, which is fine for me, at least for now. But I do plan on installing roms after using stock a bit.

If you want to install a custom ROM you can use Mobile ODIN to do that, or flash CWM/TWRP, etc, when the need arises. One reason I keep away from custom kernels and recoveries is because they force the flashcounter to 1 at every boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by turilo

working with rogers/att note 2 sgh-l317m name t0ltecan?

Hmm, I don't know, maybe you should consult the first line of the first post.
2nd November 2012, 03:05 PM   |  #24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 528
 
1,081 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Look like Mobile Odin not support yet. Everytime I open App keep said ( device not support , need generate a dump file ) after check still no go.
2nd November 2012, 03:31 PM   |  #25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
293 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
so now that we have stock firmware image. Do i follow the same steps in the OP to reset the flash counter before i odin the stock firmware back to my phone?
2nd November 2012, 04:03 PM   |  #26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 528
 
1,081 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sic_lic1o1

so now that we have stock firmware image. Do i follow the same steps in the OP to reset the flash counter before i odin the stock firmware back to my phone?

Flash firmware via Odin. No need reset counter first
2nd November 2012, 04:12 PM   |  #27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
293 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by simplelife

Flash firmware via Odin. No need reset counter first

will it reset the flash counter back to 0 if i don't reset the flash counter? i need to return the phone back to tmobile.
2nd November 2012, 04:37 PM   |  #28  
turilo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hamilton,Ont
Thanks Meter: 793
 
2,492 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainfire

If you want to install a custom ROM you can use Mobile ODIN to do that, or flash CWM/TWRP, etc, when the need arises. One reason I keep away from custom kernels and recoveries is because they force the flashcounter to 1 at every boot.



Hmm, I don't know, maybe you should consult the first line of the first post.

Yea ill wait for your Devine brilliance to release one for us sgh-l317m owners eventually if anything is needed from my device id gladly try and help :thumbup: I support all your software

Sent from my SGH-I317M using Tapatalk 2
2nd November 2012, 05:45 PM   |  #29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 528
 
1,081 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sic_lic1o1

will it reset the flash counter back to 0 if i don't reset the flash counter? i need to return the phone back to tmobile.

yes,i believed so.
2nd November 2012, 05:55 PM   |  #30  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
293 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by simplelife

yes,i believed so.

no luck so far. Tried different methods to root and reset the flash counter. Flashed the stock firmware but counter reset still show 1 in download mode.
Mr. Chainfire, is there a way to reset the flash counter back to 0?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes