FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[SGH-T889] CF-Auto-Root

9,735 posts
Thanks Meter: 61,748
 
By Chainfire, Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt? on 28th October 2012, 08:45 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
1st November 2012, 03:47 PM |#21  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
I have a noob question: If I plan to be installing different roms in the future, should I be using this? The description does say that it's for people who want as close to stock as possible, which is fine for me, at least for now. But I do plan on installing roms after using stock a bit.
 
 
2nd November 2012, 06:12 AM |#22  
turilo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hamilton,Ont
Thanks Meter: 1,211
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkxklutz

I have a noob question: If I plan to be installing different roms in the future, should I be using this? The description does say that it's for people who want as close to stock as possible, which is fine for me, at least for now. But I do plan on installing roms after using stock a bit.

+1

---------- Post added at 05:12 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:04 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainfire

2012.10.28 --- CF-Auto-Root

SuperSU: v0.96

Download:

SGH-T889: CF-Auto-Root-t0ltetmo-sght889.zip

what are the odds of this working with rogers/att note 2 sgh-l317m name t0ltecan?

EDIT: sorry just noticed its using stock tmob recovery so that be a no go correct?
Last edited by turilo; 2nd November 2012 at 06:11 AM.
2nd November 2012, 11:39 AM |#23  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 61,748
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkxklutz

I have a noob question: If I plan to be installing different roms in the future, should I be using this? The description does say that it's for people who want as close to stock as possible, which is fine for me, at least for now. But I do plan on installing roms after using stock a bit.

If you want to install a custom ROM you can use Mobile ODIN to do that, or flash CWM/TWRP, etc, when the need arises. One reason I keep away from custom kernels and recoveries is because they force the flashcounter to 1 at every boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by turilo

working with rogers/att note 2 sgh-l317m name t0ltecan?

Hmm, I don't know, maybe you should consult the first line of the first post.
2nd November 2012, 02:05 PM |#24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 528
 
More
Look like Mobile Odin not support yet. Everytime I open App keep said ( device not support , need generate a dump file ) after check still no go.
2nd November 2012, 02:31 PM |#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
so now that we have stock firmware image. Do i follow the same steps in the OP to reset the flash counter before i odin the stock firmware back to my phone?
2nd November 2012, 03:03 PM |#26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 528
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sic_lic1o1

so now that we have stock firmware image. Do i follow the same steps in the OP to reset the flash counter before i odin the stock firmware back to my phone?

Flash firmware via Odin. No need reset counter first
2nd November 2012, 03:12 PM |#27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simplelife

Flash firmware via Odin. No need reset counter first

will it reset the flash counter back to 0 if i don't reset the flash counter? i need to return the phone back to tmobile.
2nd November 2012, 03:37 PM |#28  
turilo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hamilton,Ont
Thanks Meter: 1,211
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainfire

If you want to install a custom ROM you can use Mobile ODIN to do that, or flash CWM/TWRP, etc, when the need arises. One reason I keep away from custom kernels and recoveries is because they force the flashcounter to 1 at every boot.



Hmm, I don't know, maybe you should consult the first line of the first post.

Yea ill wait for your Devine brilliance to release one for us sgh-l317m owners eventually if anything is needed from my device id gladly try and help :thumbup: I support all your software

Sent from my SGH-I317M using Tapatalk 2
2nd November 2012, 04:45 PM |#29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 528
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sic_lic1o1

will it reset the flash counter back to 0 if i don't reset the flash counter? i need to return the phone back to tmobile.

yes,i believed so.
2nd November 2012, 04:55 PM |#30  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simplelife

yes,i believed so.

no luck so far. Tried different methods to root and reset the flash counter. Flashed the stock firmware but counter reset still show 1 in download mode.
Mr. Chainfire, is there a way to reset the flash counter back to 0?
2nd November 2012, 05:02 PM |#31  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 528
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sic_lic1o1

no luck so far. Tried different methods to root and reset the flash counter. Flashed the stock firmware but counter reset still show 1 in download mode.
Mr. Chainfire, is there a way to reset the flash counter back to 0?

can you give more detail what did you do?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes