FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

[HACK] Flash on Any Website in IE10 Metro Browser [WIN 8 & WIN RT]

881 posts
Thanks Meter: 240
 
By Marvin_S, Retired Recognized Developer on 29th October 2012, 12:15 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
6th November 2012, 04:03 AM |#21  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by severinca

I am following the steps yet I can't find the place in c drive as described on my surface.

i'm having the same problem. when I do the search using the charms feature it finds the file, but I am trying to find the locations so that I can delete and replace it with the file off the digiex site. any help on how exactly you all were able to find that file location? consider me a NOOB to this registry edit thing.
 
 
6th November 2012, 06:12 AM |#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilivo

i'm having the same problem. when I do the search using the charms feature it finds the file, but I am trying to find the locations so that I can delete and replace it with the file off the digiex site. any help on how exactly you all were able to find that file location? consider me a NOOB to this registry edit thing.

No need to mess with the registry. Just make sure hidden items is checked in windows explorer (under view), then navigate to: C:\Users\[USER_NAME]\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\IECompatData\iecompatdata.xml
6th November 2012, 06:18 AM |#23  
Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
100% MS-blessed and documented way
For the XML file edit method please use this path - the environment variable makes it universal:
Code:
%HOMEPATH%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\IECompatData\iecompatdata.xml
to open the doc for editing cut and paste the following to the command-line or to the Winkey+R run box:
Code:
notepad "%HOMEPATH%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\IECompatData\iecompatdata.xml"
If you are content testing one site at a time, there is a 100% documented way of doing this:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr.../jj193557.aspx


Quote:

To test your Flash content in Internet Explorer 10, add the following registry key:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Flash\DebugDomain
where DebugDomain is a string value specifying the domain name as its data. (For example, movies.contoso.com). For example:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Flash\DebugDomain = movies.contoso.com


Note on the DebugDomain string value:
•Direct URLs to a page or resource are not supported (for example, contoso.com/xyz). Any value containing ‘/’ is not supported, including: http:// (or https://).
•Do not use “www.” prefix, which is stripped (for example, www.movies.yahoo.com loads as http://movies.yahoo.com).
•Only a single domain is supported.


If you find this helpful vote up and get this added to the first post.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to danchar4 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th November 2012, 11:52 AM |#24  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
hi , i try to do these step in first page,but dont work's here,can someone try to open this site?
http://www.motogp.com/it/videos/late...ip+Island+2012

thank's
6th November 2012, 12:02 PM |#25  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
This doesn't work.
I have a Samsung Series 7 Slate PC running Windows 8 Pro. I have tried to add the following link: cinehoyts dot cl

That site has flash ads and images along the right hand side that only appear when running the desktop app. Can someone please try out that site to verify if it works?

In addition to that, I completely removed the XML file from the directory. However, after removing the file and deleting the browser history inside of the metro browser, youtube still works.
Last edited by juanjo767; 6th November 2012 at 12:09 PM.
6th November 2012, 04:35 PM |#26  
morpheuszg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Duesseldorf
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
It seems that this file reverts itself back to default after a reboot. My entries are completely gone. Now I will try to set this file to "read only", maybe this will help.

EDIT: Please never mind, issue has been resolved
Last edited by morpheuszg; 6th November 2012 at 06:06 PM.
6th November 2012, 05:40 PM |#27  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 240
 
Donate to Me
More
Guys please dont ask for a specific site whether it works or not. The method has been described pretty thoroughly and works universally. If it dows not work on a specific site there are 2 possible scenarios:
1) the flash file is embedded in an iframe
2) you did something wrong.

Solutions
1) also include the domain of the embedded website (i.e. youtube, vimeo, putlocker, sockshare, gorillavid, etc.)
2) read my steps again and be sure to execute every single one of them in respective order.
6th November 2012, 05:41 PM |#28  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 240
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by morpheuszg

It seems that this file reverts itself back to default after a reboot. My entries are completely gone. Now I will try to set this file to "read only", maybe this will help.

are you sure that you unchecked the checkmark to prevent redownloading the list from the microsoft servers? (e.g. the compatibility settings option, see first post)
6th November 2012, 05:44 PM |#29  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 240
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by juanjo767

I have a Samsung Series 7 Slate PC running Windows 8 Pro. I have tried to add the following link: cinehoyts dot cl

That site has flash ads and images along the right hand side that only appear when running the desktop app. Can someone please try out that site to verify if it works?

In addition to that, I completely removed the XML file from the directory. However, after removing the file and deleting the browser history inside of the metro browser, youtube still works.

it seems like you did not delete the browsing history... Deleting the xml file is not a good idea as you will lose flash support afaik.
6th November 2012, 06:04 PM |#30  
morpheuszg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Duesseldorf
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin_S

are you sure that you unchecked the checkmark to prevent redownloading the list from the microsoft servers? (e.g. the compatibility settings option, see first post)

Well, I have indeed missed that one, thanks.
6th November 2012, 06:32 PM |#31  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 240
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by morpheuszg

Well, I have indeed missed that one, thanks.

No problem! I have restructured the first post to make it more clear. The method has been spread around online without the notion that each consecutieve step will have to be executed in respective order, otherwise the method will not work as intended.

I have also added a trouble shooting/faq in the second post. If there is anything I have not covered, please let me know and ill add it!

Ciao!

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread