Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

** Remove The Locked & Hidden APNS & Tethering T-Mobile APN's! - New Updated XML **

OP WarlockW

29th October 2012, 11:27 PM   |  #1  
WarlockW's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 639
 
1,239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Here is How You Can Remove The Locked & Hidden APNS & Tethering T-Mobile APN's ..

THIS IS FOR T_MOBILE USERS ONLY!
THIS IS FOR T_MOBILE USERS ONLY!

THIS WILL DELETE ALL APNS!
THIS WILL DELETE ALL APNS!


This Does NOT UN_LOCK The APN'S! -
However Does Delete The Hidden APNS - Like The Tethering APN.
Then Adds The New "Locked" APN I Edited!


OK ? GOT IT? ( God I Hope So! )
Always a good Idea to make a CWM OR TWRP FULL BACKUP FIRST!


YOU MUST INSTALL APN BACKUP & RESTORE AS A SYSTEM APP !
YOU MUST HAVE ROOT !
YOU MUST HAVE A INSECURE BOOT.IMG WITH ADB SUPPORT !
YOU MUST HAVE TITANIUM BACKUP PRO ! OR ANDROID COMMANDER !
YOU MUST HAVE MY EDITED T-MOBILE-APN.XML !!
NEW XML: type="default,supl,admin,mms,hipri,dun"


See My Kernel Thread for Insecure Kernels : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1958124

----------------------------------

IF THINGS GO HORRIBLY WRONG ..

1. DON'T PANIC !
2. RESTORE YOUR APNS USING: APN BACKUP & RESTORE !
3. RESTORE USING YOUR CWM OR TWRP FULL BACKUP !


-----------------------------------

Here is How You Can Remove The Locked & Hidden APNS & Tethering T-Mobile APN's ..

1. First Make a Dir Called: APN - On your Desktop
2. Download Needed-Files.zip To The APN Dir!
3. Extract Files In to the APN Dir.
4. Pick Installation 1 OR 2

Installation 1.
Convert APN Backup to a System app using Titanium Backup on a rooted phone.


Instructions:

- Goto Market And Install APN BACKUP & Restore - Run it Once. - ( Ignore warring on open! )
- Close APN BACKUP & Restore
- Open Titanium Backup
- Go to backup/restore tab
- Find APN Backup & Restore on the list
- Long press on the app when you find it
- Select Convert to system app

Now ..

- Open APN Backup & Restore
- Click menu and disable ICS check
- Close program and re-open it. - ( No More Warring! )
- Choose: Backup APN's! - ( This Will make a backup! )
- Close APN Backup & Restore
- Plug in USB Cable
- Goto your Phone Strorage Card and find the DIR: ApnBackupRestore
- Copy the T-Mobile-APN.xml you Downloaded to the dir: ApnBackupRestore
- Now Open APN Backup & Restore
- And pick Delete APN's - ( Not Delete Backup Files! LOL )
- Now Pick Restore APS's
- A List Comes Up .. Pick T-Mobile-APN.xml !!!
- Let it restore .. Close APN Backup.
- Reboot! You Should Be Good To GO!


OR ..


Installation 2.
You can install APN Backup as a System app using Android Commander on a rooted phone.


Instructions:

- Get Android Commander: http://androidcommander.com/?file_id=15
- Once AC is Installed ..
- Connect Phone With USB Cable
- Open AC And make sure you have root access
- ( You will see in the Bottom left corner ( ROOT ) )
- ( You will see in the Upper RIGHT Corner TWO TABS - Android Files and Application Manager !!! )
- If You DO NOT SEE THIS .. You Will Have To Install a New Kernel!
- Stop Here and Install a Insecure Kernel!

- If You Do See It .. Continue On ..
- Click Tab That Says: Application Manager
- Now Click Button Called: ( Install )
- A Window Will Open .. Find The APN Dir You made On Your Desktop! ( Not The File ) you Downloaded
- Click / Highlight The APN Dir. - Click OK
- A Window Will Open .. DOUBLE CLICK : APN Backup & Restore_v1.91
- Click The Button: Install
- A Window Will Open .. Click: ( Install as System App )
- Now Click: OK
- APN Backup Will Install
- It May Ask you to update your App List .. Its OK You Can!
- Done! Close Android Commander.

Now ..

- Open APN Backup & Restore
- Click menu and disable ICS check
- Close program and re-open it. - ( No More Warring! )
- Choose: Backup APN's! - ( This Will make a backup! )
- Close APN Backup & Restore
- Plug in USB Cable
- Goto your Phone Strorage Card and find the DIR: ApnBackupRestore
- Copy the T-Mobile-APN.xml you Downloaded to the dir: ApnBackupRestore
- Now Open APN Backup & Restore
- And pick Delete APN's - ( Not Delete Backup Files! LOL )
- Now Pick Restore APS's
- A List Comes Up .. Pick T-Mobile-APN.xml !!!
- Let it restore .. Close APN Backup.
- Reboot! You Should Be Good To GO!

Check To See If it worked ..

- Open APN Backup & Restore
- Choose: Backup APN's! - ( This Will make a backup! )
- It Should Say After Backup 1 of 1 ! ( This Means It Worked ! )

--------------------------------------

Congrads! You Should Be-able to Tether Using an app like: WIFI Tether From App Store!
Worked For me ! Click The Darn Thanks Button For God Sakes If It Works For You!


--------------------------------------

Other Interesting Info ...

Quote:

shnn2011 ..
Many people have reported to me that their tethering no longer works even after killing the tethering manager.
Many have asked me to look into this, here are my findings..
It seems that T-Mobile has implemented a new hidden APN in their ROMs. When you activate tethering, your connected devices seem to be routed through a different APN than your phone uses which is where the block is, if you have not paid the tax.The answer:A. For users:Create a new APN name called "Tethering" and copy the information from your T-Mobile APN to it. There is no need to activate this APN. Immediately after doing so you should regain your full connection. Tested on a SGH-T989 (T-Mobile SGS 2) and reported to work.*B. Mostly for ROM authors:Edit the appropriate configuration files and change all APNs (usually "epc.pcweb.com") to "epc.tmobile.com" or any other working APN such as MVNO APNs ("simple" . . .)All test reports submitted to me report this is working and that my theory was accurate.

Quote:

Install: Google Chrome
Install Chrome Extension: Ultimate User Agent Switcher, URL sniffer
Look For Red Circle - By Settings.
Click Red Circle and Check: Activate Now!
Pick User Agent You want .. May Have to try a few.

Or Add One of these .. Into Ultimate User Agent Switcher

Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 4.0.2; en-us) Galaxy Nexus Build ICL53F AppleWebKit/534.30 (KHTML, Gecko Version 4.0) Mobile Safari
Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.3; en-us) AppleWebKit/999+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Safari/999.9
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64) AppleWebKit/534.24 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/11.0.696.34 Safari/534.24

Quote:

Originally Posted by datafoo

Source file:
system/csc/customer.xml

Modify the following:
<Editable>yes</Editable> (from no)

<APN>epc.tmobile.com</APN> (from pcweb.tmobile.com)

<Profile>
<NetworkName>T-Mobile</NetworkName>
<Editable>yes</Editable>
<EnableStatus>enable</EnableStatus>
<ProfileName>T-Mobile Tethering</ProfileName>
<Auth>none</Auth>
<Bearer>ps</Bearer>
<Protocol>http</Protocol>
<Proxy>
<EnableFlag>off</EnableFlag>
</Proxy>
<PSparam>
<APN>epc.tmobile.com</APN>
</PSparam>
</Profile>

Modify your customer.xml and feature.xml

delete this line from feature.xml (this hides the APNs from view)
<CscFeature_Setting_HideApnList>pcweb.tmobile.co m</CscFeature_Setting_HideApnList>

change customer.xml as above.

My testing says at first boot these are hard coded to the system. I'm not able to get settings to stick post boot. Change these before flashing your rom and it should be permanent.

This changes routing overall, its permanent and even though you get an error in settings works fine if you toggle from the taskbar.

Quote:

I am an unlimited 4G subscriber and I got tethering to work on v36.

I used the APN settings referenced here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=1875
And saved the new APN. When you save the APN, the other necessary info is populated in the newly-created APN. Then, I went back into my new APN and added ",dun" to the end of the APN Type section. I then saved the APN again, selected it, and rebooted. Once the phone booted back up, I started tethering via the toggle and it worked. I'm currently watching Netflix on the Xbox and typing this on my laptop using tethering

.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2012-10-29-22-12-37.jpg
Views:	8223
Size:	18.5 KB
ID:	1442102  
Attached Files
File Type: zip Needed-Files.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.44 MB, 6670 views)
Last edited by WarlockW; 1st November 2012 at 12:07 AM.
The Following 62 Users Say Thank You to WarlockW For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th October 2012, 12:37 AM   |  #2  
saldebot's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 717
 
1,064 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Does this work for JB also ? just asking cuz this will be one of the first thing I am sure people will ask. Thank you for posting this, I don't tether but the threads are always flooded with people asking this. Thanx
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to saldebot For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th October 2012, 12:46 AM   |  #3  
WarlockW's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 639
 
1,239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by saldebot

Does this work for JB also ? just asking cuz this will be one of the first thing I am sure people will ask. Thank you for posting this, I don't tether but the threads are always flooded with people asking this. Thanx

Hmmmm No Idea LOL
I am Using .. UVALJ4 Should Work On: UVALH2 - UVALJ4

I do not see why It wouldn't ..
If Someone wants to test it for me ..
Same Setup as Instructed .. Lets Hope It Does!

I also Can Make New APN's For Other Carriers If they Need it.
Last edited by WarlockW; 30th October 2012 at 12:56 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to WarlockW For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th October 2012, 02:00 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 578
 
1,596 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
interesting. I had pretty much given up on using Wifi tether on stock

I switched to CM10 a while ago.. but I may just restore my backup to test this.
30th October 2012, 03:30 AM   |  #5  
tw39515's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 138
 
517 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
tested this on frosty ics v3 , gave me native tethering!!!!!! posted from hotspot!!!! oh yea wifi and usb working.
Last edited by tw39515; 30th October 2012 at 03:33 AM.
30th October 2012, 03:59 AM   |  #6  
nightfox11's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Venice
Thanks Meter: 158
 
398 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I'm going to try this on my T mobile note 2 wish me luck!
30th October 2012, 04:31 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Still getting the upsell. Is this supposed to remove the upsell page?
I was able to tether on ICS with wifi tether or svtp before; I only had to change the UA string with the browser or use a VPN on the computer to route the data.
This really didn't do anything different for me.
30th October 2012, 05:01 AM   |  #8  
WarlockW's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 639
 
1,239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Hmmm .. works for me .. No UA Change.

May have to change UA string with the browser.
If you been banned already

IDK .. That Sucks ..

Last edited by WarlockW; 30th October 2012 at 05:29 AM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to WarlockW For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th October 2012, 09:00 AM   |  #9  
nightfox11's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Venice
Thanks Meter: 158
 
398 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
confirmed !! it works on my note 2 on t mobile thank u !!!!!
The Following User Says Thank You to nightfox11 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th October 2012, 04:24 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 105
 
648 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightfox11

confirmed !! it works on my note 2 on t mobile thank u !!!!!

I tried this on Frosty JB. My tablet sees my phone's conenction but can't connect to it. Very strange

---------- Post added at 02:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:16 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightykc

I tried this on Frosty JB. My tablet sees my phone's conenction but can't connect to it. Very strange

Ok I was able to connect using an open network instead of secured, but I got the stupid upsell page too. Damn T-Mobile...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes