Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[SGH-T999] CF-Auto-Root

OP Chainfire

14th December 2012, 07:40 AM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Flag Everett WA
Thanks Meter: 60
 
332 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Thumbs up Thank You Chainfire
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrim

This worked perfectly, thank you so much. Since this was a free app and I bought the SuperSU Pro version to say thanks

Ditto on the Thank You,
I got the older version of Root and bought the Odin Pro for a thank you to Chainfire!
As we all KNOW, Chainfire Rocks! Props to him man, Major Props!
Aloha from Hawaii
14th December 2012, 10:41 PM   |  #12  
Idyar's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 390
 
564 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
More
Just used on the Stock Canadian JB update and as everything else chainfire does worked perfectly. Absolutely amazing work, I have tried to buy the pro version of all your software is that better then directly donating?

You rock, saved me a massive headache rooting 3 guys at work phones!
20th December 2012, 09:01 PM   |  #13  
R2142's Avatar
Member
Oak Harbor, WA
Thanks Meter: 7
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Chainfire Always comes through with the best gear. Everytime I need something from Chainfire, I always buy it. My way of saying thanks.

R2142
29th December 2012, 05:51 AM   |  #14  
Araltd's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 76
 
544 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Lightbulb
Rooted my S3 in about 27 seconds from start to finish. Wow, pretty simple.

Now what I'm understanding is you guys are suggesting NOT to install a CWM or TWRP recovery? and just flash the roms from Odin?

---------- Post added at 10:51 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:07 PM ----------

Sorry quick question: I know you don't support custom recovery modes like CMW and TWRP, and I notice CF AUTO ROOT flashes stock recovery... so as a noob, am I to understand that correctly, if I were to install TWRP (for example) and decide its not for me or simply want to go back to stock recovery, I could simple re-run CF AUTO ROOT? and it would re-write the stock recovery mode?
3rd January 2013, 05:39 AM   |  #15  
LoopDoGG79's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Modesto, Cali
Thanks Meter: 1,345
 
6,304 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Should Auto Reboot be checked in Odin? Its checked by default and it is not mentioned to uncheck it unless one runs into problems.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
3rd January 2013, 10:50 AM   |  #16  
unk2009's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York(Hudson Valley)
Thanks Meter: 207
 
728 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainfire

- Follow these instructions to the letter. Do not touch any buttons or checkboxes that are not listed below to touch!
- Unzip the attached Odin3-vX.X.zip file
- Download and unzip the CF-Auto-Root-....zip file (see posts below this one)
- If you end up with a recovery.img and cache.img file, you've extracted twice. You need to end up with a .tar.md5 file - don't extract that one
- (USB) Disconnect your phone from your computer
- Start Odin3-vX.X.exe
- Click the PDA button, and select CF-Auto-Root-....tar.md5
- Put your phone in download mode (turn off phone, then hold VolDown+Home+Power to boot - if it asks you to press a button to continue, press the listed button, or run adb reboot download command)
- (USB) Connect the phone to your computer
- Make sure Repartition is NOT checked
- Click the Start button
- Wait for Android to boot
- Done (if it took you more than 30 seconds, you need practise!)

- NOTE: Sometimes the device does *not* boot into recovery mode and root your device. Just do the entire procedure again if this happens. If it still will not install root and such, make sure that in Odin "Auto Reboot" is not checked. Then after flashing, pull the battery, and boot with VolUp+Home+Power button to boot into recovery manually. This will start the install process.

New to Samsung? Unfamiliar with Odin? Think all the above is a hassle? Get used to it. It's very simple, and us Samsung folk use Odin (or Mobile ODIN ) for everything! It's so very very convenient once you get used to it. Notice the 30 second comment above? For experienced users, the entire process indeed takes only 30 seconds!

You may now optionally want to install and run Triangle Away to reset the flash counter.

Thank you Chainfire

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
4th January 2013, 03:38 AM   |  #17  
ticojpunk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New City, NY
Thanks Meter: 238
 
544 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoopDoGG79

Should Auto Reboot be checked in Odin? Its checked by default and it is not mentioned to uncheck it unless one runs into problems.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium

Did you end up leaving it or unchecking it?
4th January 2013, 05:46 AM   |  #18  
LoopDoGG79's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Modesto, Cali
Thanks Meter: 1,345
 
6,304 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ticojpunk

Did you end up leaving it or unchecking it?

I left it. Strange though, I used the provided odin and those options were greyed out, and auto reboot was checked. It was really straight forward. It was so well made, I was compelled to help out chainfire and bought triangle away.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
4th January 2013, 07:07 PM   |  #19  
ticojpunk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New City, NY
Thanks Meter: 238
 
544 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Just used this method to root a brand new T999. Fresh out of the box I did the OTA update to Jellybean, checked it out for a few hours as-is, then just rooted it now. I have Titanium Backup installed and I'm already freezing bloatware. Thanks so much for this method! Worked fantastic. Chainfire rules, but you all know that already.
6th January 2013, 04:28 AM   |  #20  
scream4cheese's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 854
 
2,993 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Does this work on the latest 4.1.1 jb os?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes