5,815,061 Members 37,908 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] WIndows 8 licensing: can I install on more than one PC?

Tip us?

bobbyelliott
Old
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Default [Q] WIndows 8 licensing: can I install on more than one PC?

I have been using Windows 8 for several months (preview versions) and recently downloaded the official RTM. I paid £24.99 for this, which I think is good value for money. I also think Windows 8 is an excellent OS. The best one yet from Microsoft.

My question is: how many PCs can I install WIndows 8 on using this single license? Is it only one? Do I have to pay £24.99 for each PC/laptop that I want to run it on?

The Windows 8 install files are on my PC (stored in a folder), can I copy these files to a memory stick and install Windows 8 on other devices that I own? I own several (desktop PC and three laptops).

Thanks in advance of your responses.

sohamssd
Old
Thanks Meter 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbyelliott View Post
I have been using Windows 8 for several months (preview versions) and recently downloaded the official RTM. I paid £24.99 for this, which I think is good value for money. I also think Windows 8 is an excellent OS. The best one yet from Microsoft.

My question is: how many PCs can I install WIndows 8 on using this single license? Is it only one? Do I have to pay £24.99 for each PC/laptop that I want to run it on?

The Windows 8 install files are on my PC (stored in a folder), can I copy these files to a memory stick and install Windows 8 on other devices that I own? I own several (desktop PC and three laptops).

Thanks in advance of your responses.
You can use only one key for a pc. But you can use the same DVD for installation to other PC, just make sure that you use a different product key.

Sent from my HTC One V using xda app-developers app

LG Nexus 4
"You only live once" is not an excuse to throw life away.