Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Possibly bricked my note 2/ imei unknown

OP williamsonoma

2nd November 2012, 11:47 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Greetings all.
I rooted my sgn2 using the toolkit and installed TWRP.
Then proceeded to install Omega rom.
In TWRP, I wiped cache dalvik syetem, factory reset.

I now have my IMEI as unknown and I do not have a efs backup. Is there a way to restore my imei/efs partition? I have searched all of xda without a resolution. I seriously wished I backed up my efs partition.

Please let me know if there is anything I could do.
Thank you,
William
Last edited by williamsonoma; 3rd November 2012 at 12:12 AM.
3rd November 2012, 12:24 AM   |  #2  
Xstop's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Turn around...
Thanks Meter: 188
 
479 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
I think you'll have to take in for service for a fix. Warranty?
But yes, for all the new flashers out their, remember to backup your efs before modding your phone.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using Tapatalk 2
3rd November 2012, 12:32 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 528
 
1,081 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by williamsonoma

Greetings all.
I rooted my sgn2 using the toolkit and installed TWRP.
Then proceeded to install Omega rom.
In TWRP, I wiped cache dalvik syetem, factory reset.

I now have my IMEI as unknown and I do not have a efs backup. Is there a way to restore my imei/efs partition? I have searched all of xda without a resolution. I seriously wished I backed up my efs partition.

Please let me know if there is anything I could do.
Thank you,
William

Now to late to talk about efs. Try flash stock firmware of your religion to get IMEI back
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to simplelife For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd November 2012, 08:44 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by simplelife

Now to late to talk about efs. Try flash stock firmware of your religion to get IMEI back


Resolved!

Downloaded stock bloated tmomo rom
http://androtransfer.com/?developer=...older=SGH-T889

download tmomo t889 modem
http://androtransfer.com/?developer=...older=SGH-T889

copy both files onto ext sdcard
boot into CWM
full wipe
flash the tmomo stock rom
DO NOT REBOOT.
flash modem file.
reboot. good to go.


PS: TWRP caused this issue and I removed and flash with CWM.

Thank you for all that helped.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to williamsonoma For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd November 2012, 12:09 PM   |  #5  
Jamal Ahmed's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rawalpindi
Thanks Meter: 976
 
931 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simplelife

Try flash stock firmware of your religion to get IMEI back

Not sure if typo but..... LOL!

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda app-developers app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jamal Ahmed For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th November 2012, 07:10 AM   |  #6  
naimmkassim's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Selangor
Thanks Meter: 95
 
1,221 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simplelife

Now to late to talk about efs. Try flash stock firmware of your religion to get IMEI back

Im sure its mean to put ur "country" and everyone understand it..maybe its just not his or her mother language..its ok i think..

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda app-developers app
8th November 2012, 07:30 AM   |  #7  
Arhtard's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Salt Lake City
Thanks Meter: 73
 
239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by williamsonoma

Resolved!

Downloaded stock bloated tmomo rom
http://androtransfer.com/?developer=...older=SGH-T889

download tmomo t889 modem
http://androtransfer.com/?developer=...older=SGH-T889

copy both files onto ext sdcard
boot into CWM
full wipe
flash the tmomo stock rom
DO NOT REBOOT.
flash modem file.
reboot. good to go.


PS: TWRP caused this issue and I removed and flash with CWM.

Thank you for all that helped.

good job dude. glad u got it fix'd. thx for sharing your method of repair.
13th November 2012, 09:14 PM   |  #8  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,266
 
4,744 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arhtard

good job dude. glad u got it fix'd. thx for sharing your method of repair.

Did you flash a rom that was meant for another phone? It may have included a modem and overwrote your existing modem partition.
The Following User Says Thank You to bigbiff For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th November 2012, 09:16 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbiff

Did you flash a rom that was meant for another phone? It may have included a modem and overwrote your existing modem partition.

That could be it.
I installed a rom from the forum below.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1795

My phone is from tmobile. I was not aware they had a seperate section for "t-mobile samsung galaxy note II"
13th November 2012, 09:19 PM   |  #10  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,266
 
4,744 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by williamsonoma

That could be it.
I installed a rom from the forum below.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1795

My phone is from tmobile. I was not aware they had a seperate section for "t-mobile samsung galaxy note II"

That was your problem. Thats the international phone which only has support for 3g.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes