Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[REF] Nexus 10 Stock OTA URLs

OP oldblue910

28th November 2012, 06:37 AM   |  #21  
oldblue910's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Archivist-in-Chief
Flag Durham, NC
Thanks Meter: 2,463
 
3,511 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archon810

Mods need to sticky these [REF] threads.

My Nexus 4 one is stickied, but I've had no luck getting anyone to sticky my N7 and N10 threads. :-/
28th November 2012, 08:37 PM   |  #22  
O_G's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Life Can't Beat Me
Flag Glosta
Thanks Meter: 5,054
 
5,046 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldblue910

My Nexus 4 one is stickied, but I've had no luck getting anyone to sticky my N7 and N10 threads. :-/

I cant be everywhere at once, its sticky

Cheers for the thread, should be helpful
The Following User Says Thank You to O_G For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th November 2012, 08:47 PM   |  #23  
Junior Member
Flag Cary
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldblue910

If all you did was root, meaning you are still running the stock ROM, you will still get the OTA.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk 2

For what it's worth, I'm unlocked/rooted and it came up with the OTA update. It rebooted and then came up with the open android with the red yield and said "error" below it. I told it to reboot and it continued the process of optimizing upgrade, but I'm still at 4.2 / J0P40C.

I'll have to do it manually later, I guess.

Edit: Well, December is there in the people app...
Last edited by DGMayor; 28th November 2012 at 08:59 PM.
28th November 2012, 09:13 PM   |  #24  
oldblue910's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Archivist-in-Chief
Flag Durham, NC
Thanks Meter: 2,463
 
3,511 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by original_ganjaman

I cant be everywhere at once, its sticky

Cheers for the thread, should be helpful

Thanks dude!
29th November 2012, 12:02 AM   |  #25  
lKBZl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Barcelona
Thanks Meter: 121
 
683 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
OTA manually
Why don't you guys just update manually. The process is very simple....

While you are on wifi, turn airplane mode on. Go to Settings - apps - all and look for google service framework (something like that, im spanish), and press delete data (it is possible that you have to do it twice untill it is fully deleted). Now you just have to put airplane mode off and wait untill the ota appears.
29th November 2012, 12:26 AM   |  #26  
oldblue910's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Archivist-in-Chief
Flag Durham, NC
Thanks Meter: 2,463
 
3,511 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lKBZl

Why don't you guys just update manually. The process is very simple....

While you are on wifi, turn airplane mode on. Go to Settings - apps - all and look for google service framework (something like that, im spanish), and press delete data (it is possible that you have to do it twice untill it is fully deleted). Now you just have to put airplane mode off and wait untill the ota appears.

Clearing the data on Google Services Framework has negative side effects. Namely the fact that it breaks push notifications. If you use Facebook, Twitter, Foursquare, GetGlue, IMDB, any anti theft remote wipe app like Android Lost, etc., you will no longer receive any notifications from those alps until you clear their data and set each of those asps up again individually from scratch.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to oldblue910 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th November 2012, 10:13 PM   |  #27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
How do you know what OTA's to install and which to wait on?

For example, The last OTA for my DroidX locked the bootloader so it could not be changed.
30th November 2012, 03:30 AM   |  #28  
oldblue910's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Archivist-in-Chief
Flag Durham, NC
Thanks Meter: 2,463
 
3,511 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by corollagtssrx

How do you know what OTA's to install and which to wait on?

For example, The last OTA for my DroidX locked the bootloader so it could not be changed.

If there is a newer OTA available than the version currently running on your device, then there you go.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk 2
30th November 2012, 10:45 PM   |  #29  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Just thoughtI would post up a bit of imformation. Tired to update my rooted device and it came up with an error. It also errored when I tried it via adb sideload (but this told me why).
My Fix was as follows:
I had installed the ASOP browser and renamed the BrowserProviderProxy.apk and the BrowserProviderProxy.odex. When I renamed these back to the original name, the update worked. I used adb sideload, but I would guess that the update via OTA would also work.
The Following User Says Thank You to dcnice For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th November 2012, 11:08 PM   |  #30  
oldblue910's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Archivist-in-Chief
Flag Durham, NC
Thanks Meter: 2,463
 
3,511 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcnice

Just thoughtI would post up a bit of imformation. Tired to update my rooted device and it came up with an error. It also errored when I tried it via adb sideload (but this told me why).
My Fix was as follows:
I had installed the ASOP browser and renamed the BrowserProviderProxy.apk and the BrowserProviderProxy.odex. When I renamed these back to the original name, the update worked. I used adb sideload, but I would guess that the update via OTA would also work.

Yep, that'll do it every time. OTAs will normally fail if any file on the /system partition has been modified. When OTAs are installing, they go through and check the hash of every single file before patching it to the newer version. If one of those hashes is off, which can only happen if you have the wrong version of a file, the whole OTA will fail.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes