Post Reply

Hacking the Boxee Box (Violates GPL)

OP jebise101

23rd January 2013, 06:08 AM   |  #11  
demoncamber's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 194
 
934 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Coming from a fellow boxee user, it would be awesome to get this opened up. I'm tired of the audio drop outs. If it were hacked that issue could be eliminated and being able to really stretch boxee's legs to show the real power, would be awesome.
23rd January 2013, 01:56 PM   |  #12  
DreamFX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 433
 
1,267 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Re: Hacking the Boxee Box (Violates GPL)
Quote:
Originally Posted by demoncamber

Coming from a fellow boxee user, it would be awesome to get this opened up. I'm tired of the audio drop outs. If it were hacked that issue could be eliminated and being able to really stretch boxee's legs to show the real power, would be awesome.

I never once have had audio drop outs. But have heard that a lot. Strange.
23rd January 2013, 07:14 PM   |  #13  
demoncamber's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 194
 
934 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Re: Hacking the Boxee Box (Violates GPL)
Use hdmi with lossless codes enabled and play back some dtsma or truehd content.

For me, it happens with .mkv's all the time.
Last edited by demoncamber; 25th January 2013 at 12:59 AM.
30th January 2013, 11:54 AM   |  #14  
mortenaa's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Bangkok
Thanks Meter: 2
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
You can already install a custom firmware to it, Boxee+

https://www.facebook.com/boxeeplus

http://boxeeplus.com

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mortenaa For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th February 2013, 10:50 PM   |  #15  
demoncamber's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 194
 
934 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Re: Hacking the Boxee Box (Violates GPL)
Dude!!! Never heard of this!!! Thanks I'm going to check it out right now!!!

Sent from my MyTouch 4G
16th February 2013, 02:22 PM   |  #16  
Member
Flag Glasgow, UK
Thanks Meter: 0
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mortenaa

You can already install a custom firmware to it, Boxee+

https://www.facebook.com/boxeeplus

http://boxeeplus.com

Thanks - checking this out now. Would still love to have an open system with a variety of choices. My Boxee box has basically been a dust collector since I got it. It sounded great and had fantastic potential, but like so many of these devices, support was not as it should have been and now its been dropped

EDIT: Ok, had a look at the Boxee+ Hacks. It's good for what it is however it's not really what I was looking for. It's not really a custom firmware, it's more of a boot-time patch that adds a bit of functionality.
Last edited by burnes; 16th February 2013 at 03:01 PM.
17th February 2013, 09:25 AM   |  #17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Prompt Android
the main problem with the boxee and with boxee+ installed, itīs still slow, realy slow, if we could install Plex on it, the box could take care of the plkayback nothin else, and it would most probobly be faster?
Android or, plex straight into it would be lovley! the hardware is decent ant if i dont remember completly wrong there is stuff out there that uses the sama cpu running android, am i wrong?
xbmc is fine, but there is one problem with xbmc, watched content, if i start watching a movie in my livingroom i want to be able to continue in the kitchen and also know what i have seen and not seen.
24th February 2013, 04:06 AM   |  #18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
121 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Unfortunately boxee going to remain just as it is.

Its approaching its end of life as it would have if it had gotten continued support.
Boxee plus adds much needs features but other some minor tweaks it does nothing to fix the the core issues in the firmware.

Would have been great if it was open but for once boxee was probably being honest (go figure) that they were forced to not breach thier contracts with the likes of netflicks.
The added money from sales of box's still out there don't hurt either.
28th February 2013, 02:04 AM   |  #19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by linusthaman

xbmc is fine, but there is one problem with xbmc, watched content, if i start watching a movie in my livingroom i want to be able to continue in the kitchen and also know what i have seen and not seen.

You can do it with XBMC, you have to setup a MySQL server to host data between clients. It looks like a pain though. I do agree with you though, having a full Plex client on my Boxee Box would be awesome.
30th March 2013, 07:46 AM   |  #20  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 118
 
604 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
i dont know how useful any of this info will be but, boxee uses Intel Atom CE4110 processor. maybe one day, some version of android could be put on it?
i dont know much about it, but didnt intel release an intel atom x86 version of android? http://software.intel.com/en-us/arti...ns-recommended


or, what about google tv? the boxee apparently uses many of the same system components as the logtiech review. logitech revue uses/used google tv. and seems as though there was an update for google tv for the revue recently http://forums.logitech.com/t5/Revue-...ut/td-p/906482
so maybe somehow, that could get showehorned into boxee. i know, a lot harder than i make it seem, but just putting the indo out there :P




here are the system specs from ifixit:

http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/Boxee.../4109/2#s19326

(also mentioned on an earlier page)

Nordic Semiconductor NRF24LU1P (same as logitech revue)
Mini PCI-E wireless card: Broadcom BCM4319XKUBG

some other hardware info http://www.boxeeboxwiki.org/hardware

here is a link stating it has similar hardware as logitech review http://gtvhacker.com/index.php/Boxee and mentions some stuff about rooting.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes