FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

uk nst vs us nst

2 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By rnuk, Junior Member on 4th November 2012, 02:42 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
diff 1.1 us nst from 2011 vs 1.2 uk nst from 2day

rootfs
pastebin u4M1xRkJ

rom
pastebin uWSAcZ6Y

factory
pastebin XWnXjUeM

data
pastebin PgvewxzB

cache
pastebin P4Wqh1DV

boot
pastebin E3NeJP96

uk cache/recovery/log
pastebin uPLHxivA

Shows uk nst is just old us nst wi software update & new battery (lico vs mcnair)

uk nst manufacture date & mainboard sn is older than us nst from nov 2011

think cache/recovery/log shows b&n updating my uk nst from a 1.1 us nst

= b&n made too many nsts for us market, now they selling them here

= to update us nst to use uk store, think just need to replace factory/factory.zip on an old us nst wi factory/factory.zip from a uk nst & do factory restore
The Following User Says Thank You to rnuk For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
4th November 2012, 09:23 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 171
 
More
Quote:

to update us nst to use uk store, think just need to replace factory/factory.zip on an old us nst wi factory/factory.zip from a uk nst & do factory restore

I'm happy to test this out if anyone can point me towards a uk factory.zip
4th November 2012, 11:45 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
can't post links, so http ge.tt forwardslash 4C0LRwQ forwardslash v forwardslash 0
The Following User Says Thank You to rnuk For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th November 2012, 11:52 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 171
 
More
I can confirm that flashing the uk factory.zip onto a us nook works just fine.
Last edited by jeff_kz; 28th November 2012 at 10:42 PM.
6th November 2012, 01:31 PM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Anyone tried "downgrading"?
Hmmm, is the implication from this that it might be possible to "downgrade" to the US version of the software in order to root the device and gain the benefits of full access to android?
I don't know about the other UK owners, but I have no intention of ever buying a book from the Barnes and Noble web-site/store. I like the spelling of my books to be correct after all!

I might give this a go tonight and see where I get to.

John
6th November 2012, 02:48 PM |#6  
ladykayaker's Avatar
Senior Member
Annapolis
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnjtaylor

I don't know about the other UK owners, but I have no intention of ever buying a book from the Barnes and Noble web-site/store. I like the spelling of my books to be correct after all!

Ha ha - as an Englishman in New York (well, actually Annapolis) I can relate!
I never know what spelling to teach my kids!
6th November 2012, 06:29 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Well that's pretty straightforward the language is called "English" after all!
<grins, ducks and runs>

John
6th November 2012, 09:10 PM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnjtaylor

Hmmm, is the implication from this that it might be possible to "downgrade" to the US version of the software in order to root the device and gain the benefits of full access to android?
I don't know about the other UK owners, but I have no intention of ever buying a book from the Barnes and Noble web-site/store. I like the spelling of my books to be correct after all!

I might give this a go tonight and see where I get to.

John

Curses, foiled again! The US nook glowlight has no downloadable firmware..... grrrr
10th November 2012, 04:31 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Flag South Wales
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff_kz

I can confirm that flashing the uk factory.zip onto a us nook works just fine, however, I skipped the OOBE so I can't confirm that the registration process works.

I apologise if this is a stupid question, but can you (or anyone else) possibly point me in the direction of how to use this file?

I've done some research (including a search for 'nook simple touch factory.zip'), found out lots of stuff and downloaded lots of files, but I can't find any information on how to use this factory.zip file.

I did find that this is a standard folder/component of the Nook base installation, but how to use it with a stock firmware to effectively turn my US Nook into a 'UK Nook', I have no idea.

I would be really grateful for any help/information
14th November 2012, 04:14 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 171
 
More
To change the system software, replace the old factory.zip on partiton 3 with the factory.zip from the desired platform and then repeatedly interrupt the boot sequence to force a system restore. You will have to re-root after the system restore.

Code:
adb shell mount -t ext2 /dev/block/mmcblk0p3 /tmp
adb push factory.zip /tmp/factory.zip
adb shell umount /tmp
adb reboot
As soon as the "Read Forever" screen is visible,
  1. Press and hold the power button until the screen briefly blanks white and then redraws the "Read Forever" screen
  2. Briefly release the power button and then go to step 1
Repeat the above two steps six times, finally allowing the system to boot without holding down the power button.

If you've done all the steps correctly, you'll see the system restore screen which will replace your system software with software in factory.zip
Last edited by jeff_kz; 14th November 2012 at 09:05 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes