Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,817 Members 53,757 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

CWM for RAZR i

Tip us?
 
turl1
Old
(Last edited by turl1; 18th November 2012 at 10:20 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 997
Posts: 504
Join Date: May 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Exclamation CWM for RAZR i

Well, after figuring out the image format for boot and recovery, I built a CWM image for the RAZR i. I had to fix and hack around quite a bit of code to have it building (arm is hardcoded on several places ), and it's completely untested as I don't own the device, so try at your own risk

Download: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/553461/recovery-razri.img

If it works I'll talk with koush and see how we can get all this broken code fixed to support x86 devices


After a session of remote debugging with @mattlgroff's phone, here's the first usable razr i recovery image!

Download https://dl.dropbox.com/u/553461/recovery-razri-try4.img

There's still a couple of bugs to kill on it (like keys being a little.. slow to generate events) but it's usable and mattlgroff was able to nandroid his phone with it.


After more debugging with @mattlgroff's phone today, touch works now, and I have implemented a workaround for the screen refresh issue.

Download: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/553461/reco...-tryAtouch.img

You can use both touch and buttons on it. Power button selects the highlighted option, camera button goes back, vol+/- highlight the next/previous option. The recovery should be "4.2-ready".

I appreciate all the donations I have received lately. As you probably noticed already, I have recently been working on the RAZR i but I don't own the phone. If I receive enough donations to be able to afford it, I plan to purchase one to port CM to and do my own testing
The Following 59 Users Say Thank You to turl1 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ReeSilva
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 89
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by turl1 View Post
Well, after figuring out the image format for boot and recovery, I built a CWM image for the RAZR i. I had to fix and hack around quite a bit of code to have it building (arm is hardcoded on several places ), and it's completely untested as I don't own the device, so try at your own risk

Download: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/553461/recovery-razri.img

If it works I'll talk with koush and see how we can get all this broken code fixed to support x86 devices
Just to know, if I test it and doesn't works what can occurs to my device? I'll have a way to back to stock recovery?
 
mattlgroff
Old
#3  
mattlgroff's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2365
Posts: 2,183
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReeSilva View Post
Just to know, if I test it and doesn't works what can occurs to my device? I'll have a way to back to stock recovery?
Fast boot stock recovery back...

And I tested, boots to a black screen.

Sent from my XT890 using Tapatalk 2

Please do not Personal Message me for help or troubleshooting. They will be ignored. Use the forums!
Owner of Batakang. Recognized Developer at XDA
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mattlgroff For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ReeSilva
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 89
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattlgroff View Post
Fast boot stock recovery back...

And I tested, boots to a black screen.

Sent from my XT890 using Tapatalk 2
So I won't test, but, thanks for the tip
 
turl1
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 997
Posts: 504
Join Date: May 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Can you use ADB while the screen is black?
 
mattlgroff
Old
(Last edited by mattlgroff; 5th November 2012 at 05:22 AM.)
#6  
mattlgroff's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2365
Posts: 2,183
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by turl1 View Post
Can you use ADB while the screen is black?
I will try that now. Will edit in results

EDIT: No dice
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	adbTest.jpg
Views:	3242
Size:	30.7 KB
ID:	1457958  
 
turl1
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 997
Posts: 504
Join Date: May 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattlgroff View Post
I will try that now. Will edit in results

EDIT: No dice
Can you try on another OS just to be sure? Windows and its silly need to install drivers for all the things can cause an issue or two
 
mattlgroff
Old
(Last edited by mattlgroff; 5th November 2012 at 03:16 PM.)
#8  
mattlgroff's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2365
Posts: 2,183
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by turl1 View Post
Can you try on another OS just to be sure? Windows and its silly need to install drivers for all the things can cause an issue or two
Yeah silly Winblows.

Code:
matt@matt-desktop:~$ adb devices
List of devices attached 
TA23700S5B	device

matt@matt-desktop:~$ adb wait-for-device reboot recovery
matt@matt-desktop:~$ adb wait-for-device devices
^C
matt@matt-desktop:~$ adb devices
List of devices attached 
TA23700S5B	recovery

matt@matt-desktop:~$ adb shell
~ # ls
boot                 etc                  sd-ext
cache                init                 sdcard
data                 init.rc              sys
datadata             proc                 system
default.prop         res                  tmp
dev                  root                 ueventd.goldfish.rc
emmc                 sbin                 ueventd.rc

~ # cat default.prop
#
# ADDITIONAL_DEFAULT_PROPERTIES
#
ro.secure=1
ro.allow.mock.location=0
ro.debuggable=1
persist.sys.usb.config=adb
# begin build properties
# autogenerated by buildinfo.sh
ro.build.id=JZO54K
ro.build.display.id=cm_smi-userdebug 4.1.2 JZO54K eng.root.20121105.023150 test-keys
ro.build.version.incremental=eng.root.20121105.023150
ro.build.version.sdk=16
ro.build.version.codename=REL
ro.build.version.release=4.1.2
ro.build.date=Mon Nov  5 02:32:23 UTC 2012
ro.build.date.utc=0
ro.build.type=userdebug
ro.build.user=root
ro.build.host=laptop
ro.build.tags=test-keys
ro.product.model=cm_smi
ro.product.brand=generic_x86
ro.product.name=cm_smi
ro.product.device=smi
ro.product.board=smi
ro.product.cpu.abi=x86
ro.product.manufacturer=Motorola
ro.wifi.channels=
ro.board.platform=
# ro.build.product is obsolete; use ro.product.device
ro.build.product=smi
# Do not try to parse ro.build.description or .fingerprint
ro.build.description=cm_smi-userdebug 4.1.2 JZO54K eng.root.20121105.023150 test-keys
ro.build.fingerprint=generic_x86/cm_smi/smi:4.1.2/JZO54K/eng.root.20121105.023150:userdebug/test-keys
ro.build.characteristics=default
ro.cm.device=smi
# end build properties

#
# ADDITIONAL_BUILD_PROPERTIES
#
ro.rommanager.developerid=cyanogenmod
keyguard.no_require_sim=true
ro.url.legal=http://www.google.com/intl/%s/mobile/android/basic/phone-legal.html
ro.url.legal.android_privacy=http://www.google.com/intl/%s/mobile/android/basic/privacy.html
ro.com.google.clientidbase=android-google
ro.com.android.wifi-watchlist=GoogleGuest
ro.setupwizard.enterprise_mode=1
ro.com.android.dateformat=MM-dd-yyyy
ro.com.android.dataroaming=false
ro.cm.version=10-20121105-UNOFFICIAL-smi
ro.modversion=10-20121105-UNOFFICIAL-smi
ro.config.ringtone=CyanTone.ogg
ro.config.notification_sound=CyanMessage.ogg
ro.config.alarm_alert=CyanAlarm.ogg
ro.carrier=unknown
dalvik.vm.lockprof.threshold=500
net.bt.name=Android
dalvik.vm.stack-trace-file=/data/anr/traces.txt
~ #
Code:
matt@matt-desktop:~$ adb reboot recovery
matt@matt-desktop:~$ adb logcat
- waiting for device -
^C
matt@matt-desktop:~$ adb logcat
/sbin/sh: exec: line 1: logcat: not found
matt@matt-desktop:~$ adb shell
~ # logcat
/sbin/sh: logcat: not found
~ # cd system
/system # ls
bin
/system # cd bin
/system/bin # ls
/system/bin #
^^^
Looks like there isn't a way for me to log errors.. at least from what I see.
 
turl1
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 997
Posts: 504
Join Date: May 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Recovery logs errors on /tmp, it should be /tmp/recovery.log
 
mattlgroff
Old
#10  
mattlgroff's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2365
Posts: 2,183
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by turl1 View Post
Recovery logs errors on /tmp, it should be /tmp/recovery.log
Here you are

http://pastebin.com/XuwkAjQH

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes