Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[HOWTO] [ROOT] No Tripping Flash Counter - Stock Injected [TMO/MCT/GLW/VTR]

OP mrRobinson

6th November 2012, 06:01 PM   |  #11  
deeznutz1977's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag cHARMcity,MD
Thanks Meter: 3,162
 
4,123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrRobinson

Added recovery section to OP. Would be curious to see if installing a custom recovery that way after rooting with this method trips the counter or still prevents it from being reset. Anyone willing to try and report?

I will, since i had to replace my phone. The micro usb port wouldnt charge or connect to pc. Edit: Still says modified
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-11-06_12.55.24[1].jpg
Views:	1609
Size:	22.0 KB
ID:	1461934  
Last edited by deeznutz1977; 6th November 2012 at 06:56 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to deeznutz1977 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th November 2012, 06:53 PM   |  #12  
mrRobinson's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 8,529
 
2,376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by deeznutz1977

I will, since i had to replace my phone. The micro usb port wouldnt charge or connect to pc. Edit: Still says modified

I dont mind that. In download mode is the counter tripped? Modified status will happen with busy box even. And if you flash pure stock it'll go away. I'm more concerned with the download mode counter.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mrRobinson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th November 2012, 06:58 PM   |  #13  
deeznutz1977's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag cHARMcity,MD
Thanks Meter: 3,162
 
4,123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrRobinson

I dont mind that. In download mode is the counter tripped? Modified status will happen with busy box even. And if you flash pure stock it'll go away. I'm more concerned with the download mode counter.

yup 1
The Following User Says Thank You to deeznutz1977 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th November 2012, 07:13 PM   |  #14  
mrRobinson's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 8,529
 
2,376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by deeznutz1977

yup 1

And can you reset it with the app or will it stay at 1 now that it sees a non stock recovery?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mrRobinson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th November 2012, 09:06 PM   |  #15  
MOONSSPOON's Avatar
Senior Member
Seattle, Washington
Thanks Meter: 0
 
247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Any ideas on how to flash this using heimdall or adb on OS X?
6th November 2012, 09:49 PM   |  #16  
deeznutz1977's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag cHARMcity,MD
Thanks Meter: 3,162
 
4,123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrRobinson

And can you reset it with the app or will it stay at 1 now that it sees a non stock recovery?

zero
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20121106_154743[1].jpg
Views:	1444
Size:	207.1 KB
ID:	1462262  
6th November 2012, 10:35 PM   |  #17  
mrRobinson's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 8,529
 
2,376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by deeznutz1977

zero

so when you put the recovery on there it went to 1. then you reset it to 0 with the app and it is staying at zero across reboots?
didn't someone mention they the counter wouldn't go to zero for them when they rooted the other method?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mrRobinson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th November 2012, 10:42 PM   |  #18  
Senior Member
Flag Boynton Beach
Thanks Meter: 450
 
1,705 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Only if they have any recovery other than stock.
7th November 2012, 08:06 AM   |  #19  
Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 18
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOONSSPOON

Any ideas on how to flash this using heimdall or adb on OS X?

Though I haven't tested it, I'm not sure why Odin through virtualization wouldn't work.

Odin works differently than adb, but I'm not sure about heimdall.
7th November 2012, 01:12 PM   |  #20  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
741 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I flashed this last night. It worked perfectly. THANK YOU!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes