Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[GUIDE] RemoteApps Desktop Apps

OP mandy3d

7th November 2012, 03:46 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Ok! I keep hoping I'll see some neat way to get my desktop apps on my Surface on here! However, I found a pretty cool solution myself!

First I set up remote desktop with my windows 7 PC and my surface. That was cool. It felt clunky and slow. However, I looked up how to do RemoteApps. I thought it looked complicated but worth it. While stumbling around I found a utility that basically sets it up for you!

1. First setup remote desktop access and free the port for remote desktop. I will not describe it here.

2. I used this utility! Kim Knight's remoteapp tool. Google it. XDA won't let me post a link cause I've never posted before. I just wanted to share my findings.

3. I now can use Utorrent, Photoshop and even my silly Pidgin! Eventually I'm going to use Maya! It works great with hardly any lag! The only lag I get is when I'm saving to my tablet vs the remote computer. I haven't been able to get a browser to work yet but I have invested that much time into it. I'm sure other people will figure it out. Whats cool is Utorrent will save to my tablet. Yah download speeds are slower but expected!
Last edited by mandy3d; 7th November 2012 at 03:51 AM. Reason: Trying to follow post rules
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mandy3d For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th November 2012, 04:26 AM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 4
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
Donate to Me
More
Nice find
The Following User Says Thank You to mattalter For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th November 2012, 10:44 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
This is indeed a great find! I've played with RemoteApps before on the server editions of Windows, but it's quite tricky to get it to work with one server and not a huge enterprise! Being able to use it in this way is just great. Plus we can probably work out an XML file that will populate the apps into the RemoteApp control panel / metro RDP client automatically.

However, I'm having a problem with this on Win 8 (as a host). It seems to all setup ok, but upon connecting (from Win8 or Surface RT) after credentials, cert etc are accepted the RDP client just vanishes. I see Kim Knight's page says it works with Win 8 CP - has anyone tested it with Win 8 RTM? If MS have broken this with Win8 I think I'll have to setup a Win7 box/VM just for this purpose!
7th November 2012, 10:59 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
I had issues getting it working on Windows 7 pro at work, so i swapped up to Enterprise and it worked great. I haven't tested it at home yet off my system. I haven't used this but for my home fileserver, but you can take it a step further and patch RDP to work for multiple concurrent connections.

http://www.redmondpie.com/remote-des...ows-rdp-patch/
8th November 2012, 12:53 AM   |  #5  
DangerMUK's Avatar
Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 10
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
RemoteApp Tool requires:

Microsoft .Net Framework 3.5


Remote Desktop 7 enabled on host


Remote Desktop 7 client on client


Windows 7 Enterprise or Ultimate (or Vista Pro or XPproSP3 - untested)
8th November 2012, 08:12 AM   |  #6  
yokuyuki's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 136
 
602 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eirikr88

I had issues getting it working on Windows 7 pro at work, so i swapped up to Enterprise and it worked great. I haven't tested it at home yet off my system. I haven't used this but for my home fileserver, but you can take it a step further and patch RDP to work for multiple concurrent connections.

http://www.redmondpie.com/remote-des...ows-rdp-patch/

With concurrent connections, can you remote app and use desktop still with same login?

Edit: Tried it myself and it works. So now I can remote app in while I'm still logged in my desktop and it won't boot me off, allowing me to use them simultaneously with the same login.
Last edited by yokuyuki; 8th November 2012 at 08:35 AM. Reason: Tested myself
The Following User Says Thank You to yokuyuki For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th November 2012, 02:04 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
I can confirm this works with Windows 8 Enterprise, but not Pro. There is, of course, no Ultimate. This is all a bit of a shame as I can't use RemoteApp on my primary home PC, which also runs Media Centre (which can't be added into W8 Enterprise).
8th November 2012, 07:25 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by yokuyuki

With concurrent connections, can you remote app and use desktop still with same login?

Edit: Tried it myself and it works. So now I can remote app in while I'm still logged in my desktop and it won't boot me off, allowing me to use them simultaneously with the same login.


Mine keeps booting me off... Asks me to sign out the other user before logging in. Any tips on how you were able to achieve that?

Mandy
8th November 2012, 09:11 PM   |  #9  
yokuyuki's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 136
 
602 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mandy3d

Mine keeps booting me off... Asks me to sign out the other user before logging in. Any tips on how you were able to achieve that?

Mandy

Did you install the concurrent RDP patch?

I installed it on Windows 7 Ultimate and I can use remote apps on my Surface and use desktop at the same time.
9th November 2012, 05:47 PM   |  #10  
Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 4
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
Donate to Me
More
Guilde posted for remote apps on Windows 8 ENT
I have a post up on how to get this working on Window 8.

http://mattalter.wordpress.com/2012/...nd-windows-rt/

Thanks
Matt

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
desktop apps, remote desktop, remoteapps, surface
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes