Post Reply

XDA Forum login issues.

9th November 2012, 02:48 AM   |  #11  
bitpushr's Avatar
XDA:Administrator
Thanks Meter: 1,199
 
1,010 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
Are you all saying the login issue is caused by popover ads not allowing you to see the login box? Or something else?
9th November 2012, 03:38 AM   |  #12  
the_scotsman's Avatar
Assistant Forum Admin / Moderator Committee / Haggis Muncher
Flag NSW, Australia
Thanks Meter: 9,348
 
10
23,357 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
Donate to Me
More
it's nothing to do with ads.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bitpushr

Are you all saying the login issue is caused by popover ads not allowing you to see the login box? Or something else?

Nope, he's having the same problem I posted in your thread earlier. hasn't happened to me again since then though.
The Following User Says Thank You to the_scotsman For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th November 2012, 03:44 AM   |  #13  
bitpushr's Avatar
XDA:Administrator
Thanks Meter: 1,199
 
1,010 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
I just pushed a new fix which I believe will correct this. To take effect you might need to wipe your browser cache/cookies.

If anyone is still having problems logging in, or staying logged in, please clear your cache and cookies and re-login (check "Remember me") and then if it happens again, let me know what page you clicked on that logged you out (for example - showthread.php or forumdisplay.php).
The Following User Says Thank You to bitpushr For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th November 2012, 04:13 AM   |  #14  
jaykresge's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 408
 
684 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Updated first post again to clarify.

EDIT: Thanks for the fix. I'll give it a try on multiple devices and report back.
10th November 2012, 08:02 PM   |  #15  
jaykresge's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 408
 
684 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Even though we're all certain that advertisements weren't causing the issue, I just wanted to add further confirmation. I started whitelisting XDA on my adblocker again yesterday and have no login issues.
10th November 2012, 08:20 PM   |  #16  
HipKat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Peoria-hell, IL via Buffalo, NY
Thanks Meter: 1,836
 
5,095 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaykresge

EDIT: Not an advertising issue, as pointed out throughout this thread. Potential solution (works for me) is to change the forum theme. Go to the lower left of the forums and use the drop-down box. Change to the last option XDA 2013 beta 1024. This has fixed the issue for me, as well as for Formicae (post #4) who reported this fix.


Yep, that worked, thx!
10th November 2012, 09:42 PM   |  #17  
iBotPeaches's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag KCK
Thanks Meter: 2,100
 
702 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Switching to 1024 theme also worked for me.

I would literally get logged out for switching tabs and coming back to XDA. Really put a damper on releasing my ROMs this week because every-time I would edit the post and submit, it would say please log back in.

EDIT: Wiping caches seem to work too. Back on normal theme.
10th November 2012, 09:54 PM   |  #18  
theslam08's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East Coast
Thanks Meter: 175
 
895 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaykresge

EDIT: Not an advertising issue, as pointed out throughout this thread. Potential solution (works for me) is to change the forum theme. Go to the lower left of the forums and use the drop-down box. Change to the last option XDA 2013 beta 1024. This has fixed the issue for me, as well as for Formicae (post #4) who reported this fix. [/strike]

Just wanted to pop in and say thanks for making this thread. I too thought it was just the update to chrome or something (on dev builds - so who knows when something doesnt work what the real problem is) - but that it was not the site. But seeing others having this problem is a relief because now I dont have to re-login every time now as that fix fixed it for me (choosing the 1024 theme, they must have changed something so thanks admins!).
10th November 2012, 10:35 PM   |  #19  
jaykresge's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 408
 
684 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
It's doing it again today. I'm going to clear my internet cache/history/cookies everything and see if that fixes it. If not, I'll go back to the 1024 theme.
10th November 2012, 10:49 PM   |  #20  
jacklebott's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Land of the Idiots
Thanks Meter: 490
 
1,642 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
No matter what I do, the 2010 theme doesn't keep me logged in :/
Guess I'll try to get used to the 2013 theme... (that extra space on the right of the browser annoys the heck out of me though)
EDIT: It's "forumdisplay.php" that seems to think I'm logged out, until I either refresh the page or open another link ("showthread.php" doesn't do it to me)
EDIT2: The 2013 theme doesn't work any better, it still thinks I'm logged out after 15 minutes of inactivity, then logs me back in after refreshing
Last edited by jacklebott; 11th November 2012 at 12:58 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes