FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

[Q] Is dual-booting possible on the Note 2 - N7100?

104 posts
Thanks Meter: 10
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
18th December 2012, 12:58 AM |#21  
fishingfon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Thanks Meter: 253
 
More
Ps, does anyone know of a script to extract the ramfs (or initramfs) that works on the n2,
I have tried a few, but in the output directory when the script has finished, the is always just 2 folders called /dev and /root, and they are both empty.
Does anyone know of a working script to extract the ramfs?.

Thanks
Corey

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fishingfon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
7th January 2013, 12:22 PM |#22  
Would be awesome! Are there already new informations about this?

BTW: Is ist also possible (like on the Asus TF201 tablet) to maybe boot Ubuntu too? Or would it be too much effort to program drivers etc?
7th January 2013, 11:22 PM |#23  
fishingfon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Thanks Meter: 253
 
More
Hi,
I have Ubuntu dual booted on my nexus 7 tablet, and that's even too small to use it on, you can't hit any buttons correctly or anything, when the Ubuntu touch is out for n2 it should be great tho

I finished compiling the dual boot kernel for n2,
First ROM boots fine, with no bugs or anything, but the second ROM doesn't boot, and it freezes at the choose ROM screen on boot when I try and select it.

I really need someone with a rooted s3 to do some things for me, but I can't seem to find anyone

Cheers
Corey

Sent from my GT-N7100

If I helped you, please hit Thanks..
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to fishingfon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th January 2013, 02:54 PM |#24  
Member
Flag lausanne
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
can we have some news about dual boot??

it will be so nice to have dual boot on note2
14th January 2013, 08:19 PM |#25  
yiannisthegreek's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 223
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishingfon

Hi,
I have Ubuntu dual booted on my nexus 7 tablet, and that's even too small to use it on, you can't hit any buttons correctly or anything, when the Ubuntu touch is out for n2 it should be great tho

I finished compiling the dual boot kernel for n2,
First ROM boots fine, with no bugs or anything, but the second ROM doesn't boot, and it freezes at the choose ROM screen on boot when I try and select it.

I really need someone with a rooted s3 to do some things for me, but I can't seem to find anyone

Cheers
Corey

Sent from my GT-N7100

If I helped you, please hit Thanks..

I have a rooted SIII that I am running Siyah Dualboot Kernel on and I would be willing to assist you if I can. Im not the most technical guy in the world but if you explain what you need done then I should be able to help you. Feel free to PM me if ya want or we can continue the dialogue here in the thread if you wish...
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to yiannisthegreek For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th January 2013, 09:45 PM |#26  
Alienator9191's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 118
 
More
Anyone has some news about this i would really like it 1 for priv 1 for work xD
1st February 2013, 02:54 AM |#27  
jasonchen's Avatar
Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Hi fishingfon, any good news about booting the 2nd rom on GN2 ?
1st February 2013, 04:55 AM |#28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Re: [Q] Is dual-booting possible on the Note 2 - N7100?
Question: what's the advantage of having dual boot? Or, to be more precise, why would I use two ROMs?

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 2
1st February 2013, 01:51 PM |#29  
fishingfon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Thanks Meter: 253
 
More
Re: [Q] Is dual-booting possible on the Note 2 - N7100?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alienator9191

Anyone has some news about this i would really like it 1 for priv 1 for work xD







Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonchen

Hi fishingfon, any good news about booting the 2nd rom on GN2 ?

Hi,
I am still getting the problem of the second rom freezing.

I have found a few things i need to change in the code, and will try and do that soon. And see if it works then

I have been very busy studying for a microsoft exam the last couple of weeks, and getting ready to move back to england next month, so i havent been able to do much of the kernel.

I will try and get some done next week.





Quote:
Originally Posted by iampoch

Question: what's the advantage of having dual boot? Or, to be more precise, why would I use two ROMs?

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 2

You say "Why" I say "Why not?"
It means u can have two roms installed, and you don't have to keep restoring cwm backups to change ROMs.
So I could have omega and stock installed at the sane time (or eventually cm and stock )

Cheers
Corey

Sent from my GT-N7100

If I helped you, please hit Thanks..
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to fishingfon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st February 2013, 05:26 PM |#30  
malandante's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Granada
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iampoch

Question: what's the advantage of having dual boot? Or, to be more precise, why would I use two ROMs?

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 2

To test bleeding edge features, like cyanogenmod 10.1. Even for pure geek pleasure
10th February 2013, 09:50 PM |#31  
sHaHiN786's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 124
 
More
Any news on the Kernel OP? I'll most definitely re-root my phone again once this is released, as I want a stock Jellybean experience as well as have the option to return to my standard S-Pen user experience, sucks that Samsung's S-Pen is heavily reliant of the Touchwiz framework.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sHaHiN786 For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes