Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[WIP] Modified libstagefright for Qualcomm OMX IL for MSM7x27 SoCs running JB

OP Rashed97

9th November 2012, 01:45 AM   |  #1  
Rashed97's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 10,201
 
1,526 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
First of all, here is Ganster41's original post and HERE is a link:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ganster41

Hi, low-end devices users! I have good news for you

As you know, Qualcomm has ended support for their SoCs, based on ARMv6 core, and doesn't release OpenMax IL libraries for Android 4.0+. Someone was crying on Qualcomm's forum, someone try to understand, how to extend GB proprietaries to support new Google OMX extensions, but nobody try to modify libstagefright, and disable using new unimplemended functions...

I spent about a few weeks, learning stagefright architecture, and differents between GB and ICS OMX layers...and now I ready to show it to you

I have only ZTE Blade, and can make ROM only for it. You can download it here. In addition to worked hardware-accelerated video playback, and camcorder, it builded with Linaro GCC 4.7.1, and has a little UI speedup(if it not a placebo ). ROM based on KonstaT device tree, thanks him for it.
Oh, my Dropbox temporary blocked to public links. I upload ROM to letitbit too.

Modified framework's sources can be found on my github. Besides it, you need to add one global define to your device's BoardConfig.mk - COMMON_GLOBAL_CFLAGS += -DQCOM_LEGACY_OMX

UPD: I make same changes in CM10 sources tree, but it doesn't working, and I can't try to fix it, because haven't enough disk space to build CM10 ROM. I think, Google changes OMX API again, and it needs more fixes to get it working. You can download sources from here. For now I not interestid in CM10, because now it laggy and has some not good issues.

UPD2: Please, if you want my help with integration problem, attach logcat at the time, when you try to use vide playback/camcorder. I can't help without any information.

UPD3: If you trying to make port for your device, this post can be helpful. Thanks to cougarcougar for it.

UPD4: We still get errors, if trying to play videos from some apps(e.g. Android browser) in not-fullscreen mode. gralloc or mmap returns error, when try to map buffers from NativeWindow. If anybody have ideas how to fix it, please write it here, or to my PM...

Important addition!
Devices based on MSM7x27 chips has two different versions of OMX libs.
"Oldt"(for froyo?) has an unknown padding between color components parts of returning buffer. I have fixed that for most videos, but some strange resolutions are still gets broken colors with green line on top.
"New" version are present in Samsung/LG devices, who has official Gingerbread ROMs. It returns correct buffer in dfferent color format(YV12, instead of NV21), but it laggy on VGA+ videos. Now don't know why. May be it convert resulting buffer to YV12 on CPU... I will try to understand it later.
I think you can use "old" libs from ZTE Blade on any device, because "new" libs work on ZTE Blade too.

PS: If you want to thanks/support my work - you know where you can find button for it.

Now for this thread:
This is a project for porting this over to JB. Currently it builds. That's just about it. We need to make this work.
Current contributors are:
  • Rashed97
  • Bytecode
  • bieltv.3
  • erikcas

And the repos currently resides at: https://github.com/androidarmv6/android_frameworks_av and https://github.com/androidarmv6/andr...meworks_native

Anyone else wanting to work on this, just shoot me a PM and I'll add you to the list and the repo!
Last edited by Rashed97; 17th November 2012 at 05:04 AM.
The Following 50 Users Say Thank You to Rashed97 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th November 2012, 01:49 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Recife
Thanks Meter: 400
 
2,240 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Good Luck with this project! Hope you get it working on JB.

Sent from my GT-S5570 using xda app-developers app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gabrielking9 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th November 2012, 02:32 AM   |  #3  
OliverG96's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Canary Islands
Thanks Meter: 2,038
 
1,314 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
I'm interesting on get it working, but not sure if really I can help, I'll continue testing some fixes in my local, and if a discover something interesting I'll give you the info.


Enviado desde mi Wildfire S A510e usando Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to OliverG96 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th November 2012, 02:48 AM   |  #4  
hcgonzalezpr's Avatar
Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 78
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Im gonna give it a try, and see what happends.

Edit 1: Mine did boot how can I verify that its working?

Edit 2: Its complaining about a missing libwvm.so
Last edited by hcgonzalezpr; 9th November 2012 at 03:52 AM.
9th November 2012, 10:50 AM   |  #5  
erikcas's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Castricum
Thanks Meter: 5,089
 
2,122 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Rashed, sent you PM. Done some things on this.
like I said in PM, it is some port from CM9 and result of a little out-of-the-box thinking
HQ stream comes in but lags (..we're much too late, skipping..." in logcat)
see https://github.com/erikcas/android_frameworks_av/
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to erikcas For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th November 2012, 01:15 PM   |  #6  
Rashed97's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 10,201
 
1,526 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by erikcas

Rashed, sent you PM. Done some things on this.
like I said in PM, it is some port from CM9 and result of a little out-of-the-box thinking
HQ stream comes in but lags (..we're much too late, skipping..." in logcat)
see https://github.com/erikcas/android_frameworks_av/

Are the errors something like this?
"The main process is doing to much work on its main thread. Skipping xx frames!"

If they are I get those too...



Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Rashed97 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th November 2012, 01:19 PM   |  #7  
erikcas's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Castricum
Thanks Meter: 5,089
 
2,122 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rashed97

Are the errors something like this?
"The main process is doing to much work on its main thread. Skipping xx frames!"

If they are I get those too...



Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

Exactly those

Verstuurd van mijn GT-S5660 met Tapatalk
9th November 2012, 03:08 PM   |  #8  
hcgonzalezpr's Avatar
Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 78
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by erikcas

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rashed97

Are the errors something like this?
"The main process is doing to much work on its main thread. Skipping xx frames!"

If they are I get those too...



Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

Exactly those

Verstuurd van mijn GT-S5660 met Tapatalk

I get those everywhere including messeges app with or without the omx hack, to me those errors can be ignore, that's android saying the thing it just doing it taking a lot of cpu power to the point the screen frame started to skip.
The Following User Says Thank You to hcgonzalezpr For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th November 2012, 03:29 PM   |  #9  
erikcas's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Castricum
Thanks Meter: 5,089
 
2,122 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hcweb

I get those everywhere including messeges app with or without the omx hack, to me those errors can be ignore, that's android saying the thing it just doing it taking a lot of cpu power to the point the screen frame started to skip.

I got those on ICS too when lagging. When solved they dissapeared so in my opinion they cannot be ignored.

Also. Skipping frames equals lag implicitly imo

Verstuurd van mijn GT-S5660 met Tapatalk
9th November 2012, 09:16 PM   |  #10  
hcgonzalezpr's Avatar
Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 78
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by erikcas

I got those on ICS too when lagging. When solved they dissapeared so in my opinion they cannot be ignored.

Also. Skipping frames equals lag implicitly imo

Verstuurd van mijn GT-S5660 met Tapatalk

I know its a more detailed way of saying the app just hanged and its laggin, its helpfull to identify if its running full at perfromance, but imo it does not give right now a reason why it does not work at all. Later this night im gonna post a more detail log about the errors.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes