Post Reply

[REF] Your One-Stop Shop for the Note II (Kernels, Roms, Guides, Modems, Etc.)

OP Bajanman

13th November 2012, 12:05 AM   |  #11  
mjwhirly's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag CT
Thanks Meter: 504
 
443 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetboy02125

Do we have CWM for this baby yet?

★♡★ Galaxy Note II ★♡★

Yeah cmw is available for our phones, I will put it in the OP later tonight....unfortunately I have school at nights so im not able to do it now

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to mjwhirly For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th November 2012, 06:07 AM   |  #12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Excellent reference. I was just thinking about the need for this today. Glad you beat me to it.

I know sammobile and samsung-updates are monitoring for Rogers updates, but I'm not sure if any of the Bell or Telus customers have posted them their info. Not that they would have anything different in their updates except bloatware.

I'm wondering if there should be an APN list page, with the APNs of our various carriers for flashing another carrier's rom? Any roms release should be cross compatible with AT&T, Rogers (Including subsidiary networks Fido, Virgin, 7-11 Speakout, Petro-Canada Mobility), and Bell & Telus (ICE Wireless, etc.).

I've seen elsewhere that they refer to 'Canadian Note II' users collectively, but it should be noted that Wind, Sasktel (I believe, although they also have LTE?), MTS, Mobilicity, and probably a few other carriers would be using T-Mobile Roms and radios as they run on an AWS HSPA+ system as opposed to LTE. This might be a caveat that could be added to save any possible bricks. (This could otherwise be solved by using model numbers instead of networks... i317/m)

Cheers
Last edited by Kiwinadians; 13th November 2012 at 06:17 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Kiwinadians For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th November 2012, 01:57 PM   |  #13  
garyd9's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Pittsburgh, PA
Thanks Meter: 1,989
 
1,968 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
Post reported

(to ask that it's stickied)
13th November 2012, 05:43 PM   |  #14  
nacos's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Here & Now
Thanks Meter: 145
 
324 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
This version of CWM causes serious memory leaks!!!
Quote:

Section 4: Recoveries

CWM Recovery (Direct Link)....thanks to the CWM team!

There is definitely something wrong with this version of CWM Recovery - it seems to be causing serious memory leaks!!!!
Before making the first backup, I would start with about 500MB of RAM right after reboot and assuming that nothing else would be loaded it would stay around that value indefinitely. As soon as I have saved the first backup on the external SD, using this version of CWM, although NOTHING has changed, I would start with around 780-800MB of RAM loaded right after a reboot.

Steps to confirm the issue:
1. If I move the micro SD card into my other phone, SG3, the symptoms are the same.
2. When the SD is removed, either from SG3 or Note II, the RAM loaded after a reboot comes back to 500-530MB. After experimenting with the card between SG3 and Note II and confirming the bug,
3. I have flashed the TWRP 2.3.1.2 on Note II using GooManager, I have made another backup with TWRP, then I have deleted the CWM backup folder and ALL CAME BACK TO NORMAL - go figure!!.
Last edited by nacos; 13th November 2012 at 05:49 PM.
13th November 2012, 05:54 PM   |  #15  
garyd9's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Pittsburgh, PA
Thanks Meter: 1,989
 
1,968 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by nacos

There is definitely something wrong with this version of CWM Recovery - it seems to be causing serious memory leaks!!!!

I think this might be slightly off topic for this thread (so won't be surprised if my message and the one I'm replying to get moved/deleted), but...

That's simply not possible. CWM Recovery (and TWRP) aren't applications that run within android. Think of a dual-boot windows machine... one operating system is completely independent of the other. That's how recovery works on modern android devices. "recovery" is actually a different OS boot. Even the kernel is different in recovery. Recovery is a completely separate boot partition. In fact, when you boot normally, the recovery partition is completely ignored - it's just an unused device in the devfs.
The Following User Says Thank You to garyd9 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th November 2012, 06:13 PM   |  #16  
nacos's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Here & Now
Thanks Meter: 145
 
324 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by garyd9

That's simply not possible. CWM Recovery (and TWRP) aren't applications that run within android. Think of a dual-boot windows machine... one operating system is completely independent of the other. That's how recovery works on modern android devices. "recovery" is actually a different OS boot. Even the kernel is different in recovery. Recovery is a completely separate boot partition. In fact, when you boot normally, the recovery partition is completely ignored - it's just an unused device in the devfs.

While I agree with you, everything that I have previously described DID HAPPEN. Was everything just a coincidence? How come that the logic just functioned and the issue was addressed and solved? Personally I suspect that the culprit is not in the backup process itself (that's where I completely agree with you) but in the backup folder, namely the "blobs" folder - to which Android DOES have access under normal operation.
Last edited by nacos; 13th November 2012 at 06:15 PM.
13th November 2012, 06:44 PM   |  #17  
garyd9's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Pittsburgh, PA
Thanks Meter: 1,989
 
1,968 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by nacos

While I agree with you, everything that I have previously described DID HAPPEN. Was everything just a coincidence? How come that the logic just functioned and the issue was addressed and solved? Personally I suspect that the culprit is not in the backup process itself (that's where I completely agree with you) but in the backup folder, namely the "blobs" folder - to which Android DOES have access under normal operation.

I'll give you my first suspicion:

First, understand that android reported free memory is a pretty meaningless thing. Both the kernel and android will take memory to cache things (file contents, write caches, app caches, etc) and won't free it until something else needs it. Windows does the same thing (with the filesystem - not with running apps.) (that's why "killing apps" in android is silly.)

Add in the media scanner which, on boot, scans the entire filesystem for media files. Sometimes, the CWM Recovery doesn't flag a folder to NOT be scanned by media scanner (.nomedia file) and/or media scanner scans it anyway.. which will use memory for the directory lists. That memory is only cache memory, and not actively used - but it doesn't show as "free" either (as it hasn't yet really been freed.)

(I didn't pay enough attention to your post to realize you had already done a backup with CWM when you saw this happen... sorry about that.)
The Following User Says Thank You to garyd9 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th November 2012, 07:04 PM   |  #18  
sabesh's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Thanks Meter: 44
 
663 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwhirly

APN

AT&T LTE (SGH-I317)
Name: ATT Phone
APN: Phone
MMSC: HTTP://mmsc.mobile.att.net
MMS proxy: proxy.mobile.att.net
MMS port: 80
MCC: 310
MNC: 410
APN type: default,mms,supl
APN protocol: IPv4
Enable/disable APN: APN enabled
Bearer: Unspecified

For Rogers Wireless (Canada). Note: Rogers LTE is the one selected:

Name: Rogers LTE
APN: ltemobile.apn
Proxy: Not set
Port: Not set
User Name: not set
Password: Not Set
Server: Not Set
MMSC: http://mms.gprs.rogers.com
MMS Proxy: 10.128.1.69
MMS Port: 80
MCC: 302
MNC: 720
Authentication Type: None
APN Type: internet + mms
APN Protocol: IPv4
Enable/disable APN: APN enabled
Bearer: Unspecified



Name: LTE Tethering
APN: ltemobile.apn
Proxy: Not set
Port: Not set
User Name: not set
Password: Not Set
Server: Not Set
MMSC: Not Set
MMS Proxy: Not Set
MMS Port: Not Set
MCC: 302
MNC: 720
Authentication Type: None
APN Type: dun
APN Protocol: IPv4
Enable/disable APN: APN enabled
Bearer: Unspecified
The Following User Says Thank You to sabesh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th November 2012, 03:26 PM   |  #19  
Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 8
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
Telus SGH-I317M (Canada)

Name: Telus SP
APN: sp.telus.com
Proxy: Not set
Port: Not set
User Name: Not set
Password: Not set
Server: Not set
MMSC: http://aliasredirect.net/proxy/mmsc
MMS Proxy: 74.49.0.18
MMS Port: 80
MCC: 302
MNC: 220
Authentication Type: None
APN Type: internet + mms
APN Protocol: IPv4
Enable/disable APN: APN enabled
Bearer: Unspecified

Name: Telus ISP
APN: isp.telus.com
Proxy: Not set
Port: Not set
User Name: Not set
Password: Not set
Server: Not set
MMSC: Not set
MMS Proxy: Not set
MMS Port: Not set
MCC: 302
MNC: 220
Authentication Type: None
APN Type: dun
APN Protocol: IPv4
Enable/disable APN: APN enabled
Bearer: Unspecified

Thanks for putting the OP together!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to normaaaan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th November 2012, 04:59 AM   |  #20  
Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Is there a stock stock rom avaialble? One that is not rooted. I was wondering if there is a stock image in case I needed to ever return my phone or send it in for warranty service. It seems that everywhere I look, the only stock firmware to be found are pre-rooted.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy Note II Android Development by ThreadRank